creative Therapy


Catalyst One Hundred and Twenty-Seven
January 19, 2011, 5:00 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number one hundred and twenty-seven:

 

What’s your word or focus for 2011?

 

We’re thrilled to have Katie Kendrick as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a quickie self-bio for Katie:

 

Katie lives along the Tahuya River in western Washington where she wanders the woods and rivers edges, listening to birds, lying in the hammock during the warm season, and marveling over rocks and sticks all year long. She teaches art/creativity workshops nationwide but is taking 2011 “off” to work on a book about her art due out in print in December 2011 She loves to work in a variety of mediums, to play and create alone and with others, and believes from the bottom of her heart that art continues to save her life each and every day..

 

Make sure to check out Katie’s blog and site.

 

 

 

Here is Katie’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and a lot more detail.

 

 

 

Katie Says:

The word I have chosen to focus on in 2011 (we mutually chose one another, the word and I) is OPEN. The word gets down to the core of all the work I do in regard to myself; in order to see, feel, perceive accurately I must suspend judgement, the idea that I “know”, and open to the information that the universe if trying to communicate with me. That information is reflected in countless sources: difficult relationships with people I love, my every changing emotional landscape, the weather outside, the volatile world environment, birth and death. My intention is to allow the flow, to open to it, to experience it fully, so that I may find strength, courage, clarity, and love through the unending grace of the universe. I am a work in progress and I find compassion for myself in this place as well. The image that I’ve painted here in my journal is one that I see in my mind’s eye every day, this is my imagining as I sit in meditation as I send roots down into the earth from the bottom of my spine, roots that stabilize me. Here is where I send my difficult emotions, down those roots and into the earth where they are transmuted into pure love. I ask for and receive strength through golden light that flows from my roots deep in the earth up my spine and and into my whole self, infusing my heart with love and forgiveness. I find this practice to be a source of infinite stability, constant through all situations and emotions, I have only to ask. I also open to guidance and pure love and light of Source radiating and pulsating love through time and space, streaming down through the top of my head, filling me with love and light. This beautiful energy coming down through my head mingles with the earth energy coming up through the bottom of my spine and the combination provides the perfect balance of clarity and strength, all that I need for the day. It is as simple as tuning in, asking for guidance, being OPEN to the flow…. (FLOW was the word I focused on in 2010 and it was a powerful teacher).

 

Technique Highlight:

This image is painted to cover a two page spread in my journal. The journal is handmade and there is red duct tape connecting the two pages which i gessoed over. I had a clear image in my mind of what OPEN symbolized to me so I did a quick sketch and then began painting in some color with acrylic paint. I also glued some collage images down that had symbolic meaning for me and painted over them, integrating them into the whole (the roots and the door over the heart were images I added). I used stamped a spiral design over the body interior to break up the color some and to add another symbolic element. I used graphite pencil to highlight/darken areas when I was done.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Amy:

 

Amy Says:

I am notoriously private about my “word” for each year. I take it to heart. I nurture it. I listen to it and learn from it and try and see what it has to teach me during the year. In the years I have kept a “word,” the process of selecting a word has taken time. But each year it has been the right word. I use the word throughout the year in my work, dropping it here and there without revealing it as “the” word. 2011 will be no different. When I worked on this piece, I was saying goodbye to my word for last year. This piece is not about that word, and I didn’t know until I finished that this piece seems to be the bearer of a word for this year. I have heard this owl whisper words to me, and I have been listening. I feel sure this owl is a harbinger of this year, and while it may be a few weeks before I lay claim to the word for this year, there is something symbolic and mysterious in this owl’s eyes. I believe she knows.

 

 


Anna:

 

Anna Says:

I strongly hope that 2011 will be a good, creative year as in the end of the 2010 some new perspectives opened for me and now I need to follow them. My main problem is to believe I can really do it, it is all possible and my dreams may come true one day. So, to sum up: I have to remember that I’m good enough, it is time to believe in myself and follow my dreams. Fingers crossed!

 

 


Carole:

 

Carole Says:

My Focus for 2011 is getting my son Chaise through the first Year at School “Prep”, very excited for him and his new adventure and excitment and I hope he has a wonderful year. As a mother I will participate anyway I can to make it a smooth transition from Kindy to Prep for him.

 

 


Dina:

 

Dina Says:

My word for 2011 is “Confidence.” I chose confidence not because this year I want to have more confidence in my abilities, more confidence in branching out and trying new things. It will be a fun year!

 

 


Fran:

 

Fran Says:

My focus for 2011 is to be present – to listen and be aware of what is happening around me – both internally and externally.

 

My goal is to listen to that small still voice in my head and to pay attention to all the synchronicity around me. I’ve been practicing this for the past two months and I’ve noticed that I’m more creative, more connected, and more true to who I am when I do this. It has been a great growth experience and I want to continue it.

 

This piece is a piece I created by listening to my small still voice. I had planned to go out and run errands, do some things that were “on the list” of things to do. None were urgent, but it was the day I had expected to do this, so I figured I should. Just as I was getting ready to go out, inspiration hit. I decided that I could create using my sewing machine and some scraps I had in my LARGE scrap basket. I just started piecing and created this composition. I created for the sake of creating and I loved it. I was like a child – just playing with my toys and really just letting serendipity come together. I hope that by continuing to listen and to be aware that I will continue to be inspired.

 

 


Julie:

 

Julie Says:

For my word for 2011 I chose the word “grow.” I’m hoping that 2011 will be a year in which I will be able to grow in myriad ways — professional and personal. I chose to represent “grow” with a plant — something organic that you can’t control. I think you plant the seeds of growth, but you never know where it’s going to go! I’m excited to see what will grow in my garden in 2011!

 

 


Karen:

 

Karen Says:

“Let go of the past, be free to do anything you desire. Anything.” My word for 2011 is free. I plan to let go of all of what holds me down from my past and also let go of all the ideas I have in my head of what I can and cannot be in the future. My plan is to work on whatever I need to work on so I can clean the slate. Be free of any burden. Free to do anything. Truly.

 

 


Karola:

 

Karola Says:

My word for 2011 is: Courage.
Courage in everyday life, courage in making decisions, even those difficult, courage to overcome weaknesses, fears and worries; the courage to achieve dreams, the courage to take the risk, courage to live life to the fullest. The courage to always be yourself and do not change yourself, stick to their principles.

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

My focus for 2011 is “Enjoy Life”

 

 


Lia:

 

Lia Says:

In 2011, I want to have focus in my life. In 2010, I had a lot of ideas on how to achieve what I want but no set plan. This year, I want to have a plan. I need to be in control of my life and focus is what will help me achieve as much as I can. I realise now that age will catch up with me, and there’s no better time than now to start working on what I want.

 

 


Lori:

 

Lori Says:

2011 is the year I focus. Focus on me, focus on a new business venture, focus on my home and focus on my family. I used to be a project manager and love to schedule. I never do it for my life, however, because it seemed it would be too restrictive, but I’ve realized since I’ve stopped working that I need to plan. I have outlined one major year long goal for each category and am working backward to the smaller steps. I will ultimately have a daily to do list. I’m making it doable and easy so I can succeed. I have, also, signed up for Ali Edward’s “One Little Word” class. My page was done using her pre class template. Her class is a year long class and will serve as a great way to keep me focused on my plan. I look forward to focus in 2011.

 

 


Opal:

 

Opal Says:

I had two words that I have seriously considered and mulled over for several months now. I went back and forth, weighing the merits, potential, and application for me in the 365 days to yet unfold. With the deadline coming upon me faster than a blink, I decided to combine both words into one image since they had much overlap. I don’t reveal my word(s), but maybe they are obvious.

 

This piece is 8.5″ x 11″, and constructed as a quilt. The free form quilting is in orange thread with the ends and beginnings left exposed and hanging, as most of our days have a beginning and end and strings left hanging that tangle with the ones that came before and the ones yet to be.

 

 


Shelley:

 

Shelley Says:

My word for 2011 is “release”. It has been a difficult year at times for my children and myself. My word “release” comes from my journey to let go of all the negativity and hurt from the past. I know this is an on going process for me. I am not sure I will completely get there but this year I really want to focus on all the good in my life and “release” the feelings and emotions of the things that tend to bring me down. Just the sound of the word makes me exhale and helps to cleanse my heart.

 

 


Wendela:

 

Wendela Says:

Here is my favorite word for 2011 TRUST. Trust in Him at all times…

 

 


Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s your word or focus for 2011?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next month, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 


18 Comments so far
Leave a comment

In my new art journal for 2011, I made the first page about my word for the year “Awareness”.
You can find that page here on my blog

Comment by Marit

My word for 2011 is: Acceptance.

Comment by Wendy Swenne

Here is a piece of my art I created with my word, COURAGEOUS. I want to be more courageous this year, in all areas of my life and with my art process. see here, http://alifeunrehearsed2.blogspot.com/2010/12/courageous-me.html

Comment by bonnierose

Your blog site and contributing artists are most inspiring! I am thrilled to find you. Please add me to the email notification list.

Living to create, creating to live!

Comment by Patty C

Hmm, I see now that my link didn’t work. So here it is:

http://wendyscrappings.blogspot.com/2011/01/dt-work-on-agenda.html

Comment by Wendy Swenne

I’ve created a canvas with my word for 2011: http://marshavalk.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/simplify/

Comment by Marsha.

This is a wonderful idea. I think my word will be peace. Thank you for inspiring.

Comment by Bambi Pro

wonderful & inspiring art shown here – thx for sharing –

My desire this year is
to be a better grown-up at 53.

My word – ORDER.

(posted at the creative therapy flickr group)

Comment by Leslie Smith

My word for 2011 is “YES” – in capital letters. I chose yes because I want to say yes to new experiences, new art, new everything in 2011. My goal is to try to new techniques and step out of my comfort zone whenever possible.

Comment by Brenda Woodside

Amazing works ladies! So encouraging & inspiring. Thanks for sharing!!

Comment by heather i

This really is therapeutic, I’m so glad I’ve found this site.

My word is Free, posted here: http://www.myscrapbookhaven.blogspot.com/

Comment by Chiquita Elaine

This is therapeutic indeed, I’m so glad I’ve found this site.

My word is: Free, posted here:
http://www.myscrapbookhaven.blogspot.com/

Comment by Chiquita Elaine

Light is my word for 2011. Check out the radiant paintings of my guest artist on my blog. ou will be so glad you did!

Comment by Kathy

My word for 2011 is challenge – you can find a digi layout at the following link using my word.

http://dynamomomof2.blogspot.com/2011/01/creative-therapy-catalyst-127.html

Comment by Sandra

I am so excited to have found you through Julie’s blog. Your prompt was just the push I needed to make an art journal page that had been rattling around in my head. Thank you for that.

http://madebynicole.blogspot.com/2011/01/art-journal-page-one-little-word-really.html

Comment by Nicole Maki

It’s theurapetic indeed. I’m so glad I’ve found this site.

My word is: Free, posted here:
http://myscrapbookhaven.blogspot.com/2011/01/whats-your-word.html

Comment by Chiquita Elaine

My word is thrive, you can see my take on this catalyst @ http://karensfields.blogspot.com/2011/01/catalyst-127-thrive.html

Comment by Karen

[…] One Word for the Year […]

Pingback by Art Therapy and Creative Healing Projects 7 « Kate1975's Blog




Leave a comment