creative Therapy


Catalyst One Hundred and Twenty-Two
October 20, 2010, 10:00 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number one hundred and twenty-two:

 

Create a postcard. Who’s it going to?

 

We’re thrilled to have Danita Art as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a quickie self-bio for Danita:

 

I’m Danita Art and I love making things. I’m a self taught artist and I work mostly at night, when my daughter is sleeping and I can concentrate fully in what I do. I love green, blue and pink, elephants, the smell of wet dirt, rainy days and a good and juicy watermelon.

 

Make sure to check out Danita’s blog. and here amazing etsy shop.

 

 

 

Here is Danita’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and a lot more detail.

 

 

 

Danita Says:

Everybody is always telling me that I’m on the moon, specially my husband. He frequently says “Earth to Danita, Earth to Danita” because he says that I spend a lot of time daydreaming. I made him this postcard from the moon because I wish he could join me there to understand why I love being there. Reality is an ugly thing in the city I live and it’s a thing I prefer to ignore to keep me sane and I enjoy my mind trips a lot 😉

 

Technique Highlight:

I used Watercolor paper cold press for the postcard and tube watercolors. I draw the moon and the girl with pencil and then painted them with my watercolors first with a big brush and then the details with a smaller one. When the sky was still wet I sprinkle it with sea salt and removed it when it was dry to make the stars. When everything was finished I outlined it with a black marker. In the back I used a wash of 3 colors and a glitter pen for the text. Everything was edited a little bit using Photoshop, and it was ready to go!

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

Here´s my postcard. Not much to share. It´s going to “a certain someone”

 

 


Dina:

 

Dina Says:

My postcards are actually two large mail-art tags. I painted & stamped them, and I’m going to send them to a couple of friends who have sent me amazing mail art in the past. I highly recommend creating mail-art. It feels great to send it and great to receive it!

 

 


Karen:

Journaling Reads:

I took this photo a while ago and I loved it. I love so many things about it that I cannot even begin to explain. But I wanted to take this photo, make a card of it and send it myself to remind myself that each day is ephemeral and that I need to live it with full emotion and passion and suck everything out of each of my days. To make the very best of them.

 

 


Amy:

Amy Says:

This “postcard” captures my view on a recent trip to the Oregon coast. The lush lines of the quilt draped over the fence and against the backdrop of sand, sea, and sky was wonderful.

 

 


Carole:

 

Carole Says:

It is for my darling mum whom I love so very much. Both Mum and I love anything to do with Paris, so I thought it would be lovely to created a Post Card for Mum with all things Pretty and Paris. I will post this to my Mum for her Birthday.

 

 


Karola:

 

Karola Says:

I decided to make a postcard for my girlfriend, with whom I love to talk on a daily basis. We share joys, sorrows as well as the usual tips for everyday life. This friendship means a lot to me and I can not imagine that we were not able to continue! I made a postcard for her to know how is close for me.

 

 


Wendela:

 

Wendela Says:

I made this one for my sons teacher. Last week she gave birth to a sweet little daughter.

 

 


Opal:

 

Opal Says:

The very old, silvery weathered and perfectly curved Adirondack chair is my favorite place to sit and watch the views from my deck. These postcards show my four favorite views: morning light; summer sunset; winter snow flurries; and a starry night with the moon’s reflection on the water. What would I write on the backs? “Wish you were here!” (of course)….and send these whom? Someone who wouldn’t mind sitting in the other Adirondack chair and watching the views here in paradise. Each postcard is a tiny quilt measuring 4″x6″.

 

 


Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “Create a postcard. Who’s it going to?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow- the guest artist’s postcard struck a cord with me. I could print it out and just hand it to him, it’s that spot-on! Man, what a fantastic idea…

Comment by fancifuldevices

Here is my postcard from the edge ~ http://megula.blogspot.com/2010/10/postcard-from-edge-creative-therapy.html

Comment by Megan

Just posted a few on my blog. Mine’s going into an
altered book spread.
Rinda

Comment by rinda




Leave a comment