creative Therapy


Catalyst Eighty-Seven
November 8, 2009, 7:25 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number eighty-seven:

 

If money weren’t an issue what would you do with your time? (career or otherwise.)

 

We’re thrilled to have Christine Middlecamp as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a short bio for Christine: Christine lives in South Saint Paul, Minnesota with her young son Ethan. She’s been scrapbooking for over three years and has played multiple roles in the srapbook industry both as a designer and teacher. Christine designs for Crate Paper & Sassafras. In the Past, she’s designed for Prima Marketing, October Afternoon, and Studio Calico. She’s also guest designed for various online venues.

 

Christine’s art never ceases to amaze me. She pays attention to the smallest details and the more you look into her layouts, the more you discover. She has a unique way of using common embellishments and her art is always layered and full of texture. A pure delight to see.

 

If you haven’t seen Christine’s art, make sure to visit her blog where she regularly has tutorials.

 

 

 

 

Here is Christine’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

 

Christine Says:

Stay home. I’d raise Ethan in the house that my husband and I built eight years ago before his passing away from cancer in January of 2008. I still love the house. In the eight years we’ve been here, I never pictured myself living anywhere else. So after my husband passed away and clearly knowing that my financial picture was about to change, I had to prepare myself for the reality that the house was going to have to go away at some point in the near future. After postponing the sale of our home these last few months, I finally made the decision to place it on the market next year. Our home sweet home will soon be looking for a new owner. It’s time to let go…

 

Technique Highlight:

The combination of transparency and pattern paper doesn’t always happen in the traditional sense, at least not on this layout. Consider alternate ways for combining these two materials. Both have dramatically different surface qualities and technique driven abilities. Take advantage of these contrasting differences when using them together on a layout/project.

 

I ran into this glittering technique upon reading Martha Stewart’s latest book, “Encyclopedia of Crafts”. Apply a strip of double‐sided sticky tape to paper and add glitter. It’s a simple technique and looks amazing after application.

 

Flowers are available in abundance for adding to a project/layout, though leaves are a little harder to find. Turn to pattern papers for creating leaves when needed. I hand‐cut the leaves used on my layout from digital pattern paper. I folded them slightly inward and adhered them beneath the flower’s edge using a smidge of wet adhesive.

 

Even the smallest details can make a difference. Don’t forget to add smaller sized items to your layout/project. Variety is a good thing.

 

 

Thank you so much Christine; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Larissa:

Larissa Says:

I found out later in my life that I wanted to be a full time artist, maybe a theater set designer. So, if I didn´t have a great job, that pays very well, I would probably try this career.

 

Journaling Reads:

I dream of being just myself, A person without any obligation, A woman free to be just who she is

 

 


Dedra:

Dedra Says:

I really would to travel to Paris, London, all over Europe in general. This photo to me makes me think of places like that. The filagree around the windows. These windows in real life are massive. I would also love to own a studio/scrapbook boutique. The funny thing is I already have the name, Jon and I have already constructed the floor plan and what the studio would consist of….It’s always fun to dream, right? So, for me – owning the studio and traveling with Jon and the girls as often as possible.

 

Journaling Reads:

If time and money were not an object and I could do anything…. I would travel with my family overseas and I would also love to own a studio…

 

 


Karen:

Karen says:

If I had all the extra time in the world and my kids and husband were sleeping, I would spend most of it reading. The joy I get from getting lost in a novel is unparalleled. And Dickens is one of my favorites.

 

 


Anita:

 

Anita Says:

I looked at this weeks catalyst and was racking my brain trying to figure out what I wanted to do. I keep thinking, what is it I really want? Is there a career path I would have taken had I had the money to do it? It dawned on me that no amount of money, not changes to my life were desired. I love being a mom! Its the most rewarding job I could ask for. And you definitely couldn’t put a price on it. I am where I am and where I want to be! I am living “my dream job”!

 

 


Rachel:

 

Journaling Reads:

Egypt, Italy, France, Greece, England, Ireland, Germany, South Africa, the Congo, Brazil, Jamaica, Canada, the Bahamas, Peru, Argentina, Poland, Japan, China, Thailand, India, Australia, New Zealand… and so much more. If money were of no issue I would spend my time traveling the world…one adventure after another.

 

Technique Highlight:

I used embroidery floss leading from my photos to the different areas on the map that I would like to visit to add interest and a visual to all of the places that I hope to someday go.

 

 


Opal:

 

Opal Says:

If money were not an issue, I would transform my house into a retreat center for fiber arts. Women could come for week long sessions with as much or as little time at the sewing machine as they needed or wanted. There would be lots of time for sharing ideas, experimenting with new methods and materials, visits to fabric stores, and inspirational guest artists. There would be time to walk on the beach and collect beach stones and sea glass, watch the nesting eagles, or just sit outside on the deck and watch the day slip by. Hired gardeners would transform my yard into a paradise of color and smells. Meals would be prepared with the freshest local bounty of the Pacific Northwest. Those invited would be women who would not have the opportunity nor the means to be away from their homes for a week.

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

If money weren’t an issue, i would like to be an artist all time and create all day!

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “If money weren’t an issue what would you do with your time? (career or otherwise.)” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 


10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great anad wonderful ideas here! TFS!

Comment by Linda Cain

great catalyst….lots of fun to dream…

here’s my take on it: http://promptlyinspired.blogspot.com/2009/11/dream-big.html

Comment by ellie

Beautiful! Love the design. Very elegant.

Comment by Rebecca Latham

Here is my answer:

http://heartandsoulgardening.blogspot.com/

Thank you so much for this very creative catalyst

Comment by carmen

In response to this catalyst …my answer is on
http://mescrap.blogspot.com/2009/11/if-money-werent-issue-what-would-you-do.html

Thank you.

Comment by Lay Hoon

these are soooo lovely and inspiring!

Comment by amy tangerine

Rachel! That LO was SUPER cool! GREAT idea!!!!
LOVE it!! I am in awe of the idea!

Comment by Penny Smith

Here’s my take on this week’s prompt:

http://techniquespeak.blogspot.com/2009/11/little-something.html

Comment by Amanda Berens

Loved this one, thanks for the inpsiration.
Here’s my take:

http://semplydone.blogspot.com/2009/11/creative-therapy-catalyst-87.html

Comment by Stefanie

I would re-do my bathroom and put in a claw foot tub. I only have a shower in there right now. Thanks for letting me play!

http://carlarausin.blogspot.com/2009/11/creative-therapy.html

Comment by Carla




Leave a comment