creative Therapy


Catalyst Four
April 6, 2008, 3:47 pm
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name mid-week. And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! It’s time for catalyst number four:

 

Something you remember from your childhood.

 

We’re incredibly honored to have Dedra Long as this week’s Guest Designer.

 

I first had the privilege of seeing Dedra’s work on the A Million Memories Design Team, and immediately got hooked on her art. She has a very unique and amazingly inspiring style. If you haven’t seen Dedra’s work before, make sure you take a look at her blog. Her art is always stunning. You can also see more of Dedra at paperclipping: an interview, one of Dedra’s amazing mini books, and a tour of her beautiful scraproom.

 

 

Dedra’s art with this catalyst is below and you can click it to see the larger version.

 

 

Journaling says:

throughout my life I have had one dream in particular….I remember as a pre.teen asking my Mom what this dream meant….I told her that I was five years old and my Dad and I were in a field of sunflowers….He was swinging me in the air and it was during sunset….In my dream we always picked as many sunflowers as we could hold….Dad and I walked back to the house and gave them to my Mom….After I told her about the dream she said that Dad and I did those very things before he and my Mom divorced….My memories of he and I….Journaled 4.5.08….

 

Thank you so much Dedra, we’re truly honored.

 


 

Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

 

Christine:

 

Journaling Says:

How can one photo be so significant to me? Maybe it’s because it’s one of the very few photos I have of myself at this age. It’s quite rare for me to have any pictures of the time when I was three or four years old. Perhaps it’s because I happen to be in costume and sitting on a pony…

 

I don’t remember dressing up like this too often in my childhood. However, I believe that I treasure it so much because my mother valued capturing this moment in my life. I remember her agreeing to have this picture taken during a time when our family didn’t have much money. In fact, when my father saw it, he was quite angry that my mom had spent money on it.

 

But I remember her saying then that it was worth it, and today I am so thankful for her foresight! If it wasn’t for her, I never would be reminded of the excitement that I felt putting on the chaps and cowboy hat, how giddy I felt as I sat upon the pony, and how elated I was knowing that my mom gave me a chance, for this moment, to pretend that I was a little cowgirl.

 

Thanks, Mom, for capturing that moment and preserving those memories in this photo! I will never forget it!

 


Becky:

 

Journaling Says:

I’m still this girl. The girl with the brown eyes and long brown hair, although I don’t sport pigtails too too often anymore. I still love the outdoors. I am still an easy forgiver. I still have an attitude at times. I still don’t like to be told what to do. I am still happy and I still wear my heart on my sleeve.

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

My whole life I was this sad, little girl. I always worried that something was wrong with me or that I would always be unhappy. I wish I could tell that little girl now that Life is going to work out for her and that she should give up constantly thinking that something is wrong.

 


Kris:

 

Kris Says:

I have many memories from childhood, but the one I most tell my kids about is rain. When I was little, I remember my mom letting us go play outside in the rain. We used to march up and down on the sidewalk with our pots and pans, playing in the rain band. I always loved to be out in the rain with my umbrella because the smell was so fresh and sweet. It was the one time you were allowed to splash in the rain and mud puddles without getting in trouble!

 

Whenever it was too wet or not safe to be out we would spend the day inside, drinking hot chocolate and playing board games. I always smile with I hear people say they hate rain. For me, it holds some of my favorite memories. (My father used to take so many pictures of us kids. This is one he took of me.)

 


Angela:

 

Hidden Journaling Says:

My Dolls. When i was little, my favorite thing to play with were my dolls! I would spend hours dressing them, nurturing them and talking to them! Nothing made me happier~

My mom and I (oma Nate) kid around about the fact that very often i had to pack all of my dolls! Never leaving any out! That maybe, it was an indicator that I would be the mom to 6 wonderful kids!

 

Today at almost 43, I am rediscovering my love for dolls~ 4-6-2008

 


Brenda:

Brenda Says:

My Papa-I loved him so–he always worked in a hardware store and I loved to go visit him there. It’s probably why I love hardware stores and tools so much today. He used to take me to the ice cream store and sit me up on the counter and and fill a little white bag with candy-yum. Our favorite flavor was chocolate shower…..He always hung out in his garage just fiddlin around–and listened to country music. Funny after growing up in Sacramento, CA and listening to country music I would be living in Nashville,TN!

I used one of his old watches and his picture standing in front of his garage as the center piece and put some hardware pieces inside of the watch. The dangle has a fishing lure piece, cause he LOVED to fish and a blue fabric bead-as blue was the color of his eyes. I called him Papa,so I made the metal tag, and there is an old key—-He was always cutting keys at the store…my wire wrapping is a bit rugged this time because I wanted the hardware/wire to really stand out..

 


Karan:

Karan Says:

When I was little, my grandma taught me a bunch of poems. Whenever we had a family get together, she would have me recite these two poems. They were taught to her by a Vaudeville actress in 1923 and she recited them as a kid herself. I remember they were the big crowd pleasers. Every time I recited them, there wouldn’t be a dry eye in the place. As a 5 year old, I didn’t understand the impact of the words of the poems. I knew they were sad. I knew the little boys both died in the poems, but as a kid, you just think it is a sad story. Now as a parent, I can’t even recite them anymore. I choke up every time. I would ask her “Why do they always cry when I say the poems Gramma?” She would smile and say, “One day when you are a mother, you will cry when you hear them too.” She was right as always. I do cry every time. They still ask me to recite them at family functions once in a while, but I can’t do it any more. Must be why grandma taught them to me, because she was always a sucker for a sad story, but she couldn’t tell them herself without crying.

 


Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “something you remember from your childhood.” Give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you. Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your work by Sunday night, April 13th, midnight PST to qualify for the RAK.

 

For our RAK for catalyst #4, Cupcake Scrapshop is very generously donating a November kit to one participant. This kit is full of 7gypsies, Jenni Bowlin, as well a beautiful stamp, crocheted leaves, and many other goodies.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 


33 Comments so far
Leave a comment

GORGEOUS WORK!!!

Comment by Kimmi

I’ve been lurking for a couple of weeks and will finally take a risk, join in. I’ll check back here and post a link when I’ve finished.

Comment by Melissa

Gorgeous layouts and projects!!! I hope to get to this one this time…I just got a bunch of pics from my mom….

Comment by JoEllyn Steele

Melissa, that totally made my day! I very much look forward to your art! Please do come back and share it with us.

JoEllyn, I look forward to seeing the photos and your art!

Comment by creativetherapy

Oh! at first, this catalyst overwhelmed me as I thought of a million things I could write about but I just walked outside to go to my shed and was hit with a fragrance so strong I almost couldn’t breathe and it took me straight back to my childhood and I now know what I’ll be working on this week! I’ll post when I get finished!

Comment by Angie Platten

Awesome artwork again, ladies! I missed last week, but hope to jump back in this week!

Comment by Staceymichu

What a great choice to use Dedra as your guest designer. She is the most talented scrapbooker I know and I feel lucky to have a friend who inspires me creatively as much as her! If only you could see her stuff in person. 2-D pictures just never show the detail and beauty of her amazing layouts and mini albums.

Comment by noell

I can’t wait to see your work Angie and Stacey!!

And Noell, I couldn’t agree more! She’s unbelievably inspiring to me and I wish I lived closeby so I could see those magnificent books in person 🙂

Comment by creativetherapy

This is a perfect catalyst for me these days…I’ve been reflecting and remembering and I’m eager to put something together.

Comment by Sherry

Awesome work ladies!! I love seeing the variety of your team’s styles!!

Comment by PattiHutch

I really think this was an awesome challenge…because I really put my memories in this lo…
thanks girls
http://www.amillionmemories.com/forum/viewlayout.php?id=7427

Comment by hilde janbroers

I finally got to do one of your awesome challenges. http://www.amillionmemories.com/forum/viewlayout.php?id=7444

Comment by Amy

My pets were always a great comfort to me as a child. Here is my LO

Comment by silvia

Silvia, that’s absolutely adorable! Thank you so much for sharing that! I will show it to my husband to show him how much kids like having a pet and maybe we can finally get the dog I’ve wanted for so long. thank you!

Comment by creativetherapy

Wow, what a great challenge! I really need to create more about myself. The designers really did an awesome job here!

I can remember always wanting to be the “mom” whether it was with my baby dolls, my baby sisters or even playing “house”. Dreams…http://www.amillionmemories.com/forum/viewlayout.php?id=7464

Comment by Jen Martakis

trying to get my link to work…

Dreams

Comment by Jen Martakis

Dreams

Comment by Jen Martakis

Thank you once again for providing a timely catalyst. I’ve posted my creation on my art blog this week instead of my inspiration blog.

http://espritdart.blogspot.com/2008/04/creative-therapy-my-childhood.html

Comment by Sherry

Jen and Sherry, I posted on your blogs but I also wanted to thank you here for your amazing art and for sharing it!

Comment by creativetherapy

Awesome catalyst! Had a lot of fun with this…here’s mine:

http://www.amillionmemories.com/forum/viewlayout.php?id=7491

Comment by Nikki T.

OK, I just finished my entry for this week’s catalyst early this morning and posted it on my blog here:
http://arttvisionz.blogspot.com

Comment by Angie Platten

Here is mine. I never would have scrapped this memory without this challenge!

http://staceymichaud.blogspot.com/

Comment by Staceymichu

Well here we go! I don’t have many pictures of my childhood anymore…but I found this one and I actually remember that moment. Inside the library pocket contains the who, what, when, where details. Thanks! Amanda

Comment by Amanda N.

WOW ladies you are doing an amazing job with this catalyst !!!

Comment by Becky

Everyone’s projects are so beautiful…here is mine.

http://www.amillionmemories.com/forum/viewlayout.php?id=7611

Comment by Tagnia Clark

This was such a good challenge. I love what everyone has done.

I realy dug deep and shared my personal struggle with Dslexia.
http://lipstickandlaundry.blogspot.com/

Comment by Jennifer (Jennsue)

Tagnia I just love your First Day of School layout, it’s so perfect and totally has that 70’s feel!

Jen- Thank you for sharing so personal with us, that is really what Creative Therapy is all about !!

Comment by Becky

Finally got it finished. I am in the process of making a Childhood Memories album, so this challenge fit perfectly for me. Good fun doing this challenge and I look forward to joining again. Now, let’s see if I can provide a link to my blog…

http://runrgirl-runrgirl.blogspot.com/

I hope that works. If it doesn’t, I’ll try again.

Comment by Melissa

Gorgeous layouts!! I’ve been wanting to participate in this challenge since the start since I think it is such a wonderful idea, but things have been a bit too hectic. I am so glad I got to do this challenge, it’s a layout I’ve been wanting to do for a long time. Thanks for the inspiration!! Here’s my layout:

http://twopeasinabucket.kaboose.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1328993

Thanks so much for the challenge!

Anna-Karin

Comment by Anna-Karin

I’m a little late with mine 🙂

http://motherhenna.blogspot.com/2008/04/remembering-childhoodcreative-catalyst.html

miracles,
k-

Comment by Mother Henna

i’ve left comments in everyone’s blog/site but I wanted to recognize you all here as well. these pieces of art have moved me so much and thank you. thank you.

Comment by creativetherapy

[…] was recently the guest designer for a cool new challenge blog called, Creative Therapy. Since we’re all fans, I thought […]

Pingback by Paperclipping | Scrapbooking Video Tutorials With Design Ideas, Tips, and Other Resources




Leave a comment