creative Therapy


Catalyst Three
March 30, 2008, 6:12 pm
Filed under: catalyst

 

Like last week, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name mid-week. And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! It’s time for catalyst number three:

 

The best part of your day, today.

 

We’re incredibly honored to have Linda Woods as this week’s Guest Designer.

 

Linda and her sister, Karen, are co-authors of two of my favorite books of all time: Visual Chronicles and Journal Revolution. Linda’s work and her messages about art and journaling are very inspiring to me. Their art aligns perfectly with the ideas behind creativeTherapy and I cannot encourage you enough to read their books.

 

If you want to know more about Linda, Karen, and their art, you can visit their website: Journal Revolution * the daily adventures of two sisters.

linda woods

Linda’s work with this catalyst is below and you can click it to see the larger version.

 

linda

 

Linda says:

This is my “fauxto strip” (a project from Journal Revolution) inspired by the Best Part of Today prompt. My best moment was making wishes and this year it was different because I just really wanted chips instead of cake and because it was my birthday, chips won! Tortilla chip wishes do come true, too! I let the photos tell the story instead of using words.

 

Thank you very much Linda, we’re truly honored.

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. It’s interesting to see how many of us chose family as our topic. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

 

Kris:

kris

 

Kris Says:

Thinking about this week’s challenge, the first thoughts that came to mind were Family & Home. But I thought, how cheesy is that? Doesn’t everyone think of that as the ‘Best Part of Today’? But I decided that I don’t care if I’m cliche’. I am blessed to be able to be home with my girls everyday, homeschooling and interacting with them, and doing art whenever I have a moment. Being with my family is the best part of my ‘today.’

 


Anita:

anita 

Anita Says:

I had to think on this one and it turned out to be so obvious.  My kids are always my best part of the day.  With this particular picture we had gone to the zoo and the best part of THAT day was the fact that I was able to get all 5 of them in a photo.  Now THAT’S an accomplishment.  I love being a mother of 5 children!

 


 

Karen:

karen

Journaling Reads:

Since the beginning of this year, I’ve been taking daily photos of David. It guarantees that we spend some quality time together every day.

 

In the last month, we’ve also started taking walks when I come home and it’s our time together. Now when I walk through the door, David says, “Go for walk, Mommy?” I grab my camera and we run out the door. We hold hands, we talk, we look at the flowers, we laugh, and I cherish each and every moment.

 

What started as a fun little project has become the best part of my day. 

 


Leena:

 

leena

 

Leena Says:

My Birthdays have often passed quietly for the past few years but this year has been exceptional. My family and my best friends have made this year extra special for me, probably because I have reached 35 years of age! They probably thought that I need a bit of cheering up because everyone has been calling me an “old” girl! LOL! And they have truly made this part of the day, the best day of my life.

 


Fran:

 

fran 

 
Journaling Says:
The best part of Saturday was attending a sketchcrawl – an international drawing event. I attended with my best friend, Angie and the best part of the day was sitting in the Phoenix Botanical Gardens and sketching with her. It was calm and peaceful. Drawing helps me to find my center. I really do enjoy it. 
 

Lori:
 
lori 
 
Journaling Reads:

I was having a pretty bad day and was attempting to wallow alone, when my 4-year-old walked in. “Mommy, look what I made!” Sigh. I was not in the mood for show and tell, but what’s a Mom to do? So, I answered, “Wow, Dylan. That’s fantastic.” It was pretty cool, after all, to see a glitter glue drawing on a paper towel! But, I’m still in a rotten mood! “Do you know what it is?” Ugh! Not fifty questions! Not now! “A fish?” “No silly, it’s a Rhinoceros bone!” “Ah, of course it is!” Grrr! He made me smile; slightly. I’m supposed to be in a bad mood! ” Yes, and see the red?” “Um hum.” “That’s the blood in the bone”. Ok, he got me! What could I do, but laugh and leave my bad mood behind? My day is filled with these little moments of pure innocence and imagination. I could have snapped at my son and asked him to leave me alone, but even when I’m in a bad mood, I know better. The best part of today is being old enough to embrace the fact that the best things in life are small and freely given and that family really is everything. 

 

Lori’s note:

I decided to scrap “Rhinoceros Bone” because it is the perfect example of my life, today. I want to flip through my Book of Me and see this page and be reminded that I can laugh when I’m in a bad mood and that I am loved. Though I decided to do this for me, it’s turned out to be a huge deal for Dylan. I’ve made him feel so special. He can’t wait to see HIS page up on the internet! Again, the best things are small and freely given. 

 


Karan:

 

karan 

Journaling Reads:

Our little Kayleigh brings magic into our lives every day. One day while we were gardening, she was looking for fairies.  She had been digging in the dirt and decided to go in and change.  Shecame out wearing an ankle length tulle dress.  When I told her she couldn’t garden in it, she said “ But Mommy, I have to wear a pretty dress or the fairies won’t come.  Laughing, I figured she’d already torn it in several places, and what would it hurt to let her wear it in the garden.  She kept getting in my way, so I had her lay on her tummy on a skateboard and watch the flowers for fairies. 

She looked so cute, sitting there so intently watching, that I grabbed my camera to snap a coupleof photos.  Just as I snapped thisphoto a little white gnat came and landed on the flowers.  She was so tickled that a “real” fairy had come to visit, and I was able to get this adorable picture of her with such joy on her face.  In those moments, I remembered what it was like to “truly believe” in something with all your heart and soul. 

She just KNEW that dress would attract a fairy, and she sat there believing and watching until one did.  I had forgotten about the magic of childhood.  The wonder that is found in such little things. She touched me that day with her special magic.  Her love of life, and belief that all things are possible, if you just wish hard and wear a tulle dress. 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “the best part of your day.” Give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you. Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your work by Sunday night, April 6th, midnight PST to qualify for the RAK.

 

For our RAK for catalyst #3, we decided it would only be fitting that we give away one of Linda and Karen’s books to the lucky winner. Visual Chronicles is the first of the two books and a fantastic way to start your journey into art journaling. 

 

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 


21 Comments so far
Leave a comment

WOW this just keeps getting better and better!!!

Comment by Anita

Yes Anita, Yous Couldn’t have said it better!This does keep getting better and Better. Amazing Work Girls! I am still working on last weeks, but I am following along, I hope to get this one at least posted! Love this Site.

Comment by Karla Smith

To all the wonderful team members and Linda—Thank You for sharing the bright spot in your day! Incredible art–incredible lives….
brenda bliss

Comment by brenda bliss

Ladies, I think I am going to run out of amazing things to say each week. But it’s true… each and every week gets better and better. This is why we scrap, to tell our stories !!! Amazing job this week ladies!

Comment by beckyh1

Those were all amazing!!! I will definitely be thinking on this one!!

Comment by JoEllyn Steele

I have decided to participate this week and I just finished my work. I really like this topic because it made me stop and really think about my day. Please stop over at my blog and take a look at my piece for this week! http://arttvisionz.blogspot.com

Comment by Angie Platten

[…] April , 2008 by Leena This week’s catalyst at Creative Therapy is about “What is the best part of your day, today”. The girls were all simply amazing with their work and each week is getting better and better! Have […]

Pingback by The best part of today «

YES!!! I love the Journal Revolutions girls!! I was lucky enough to be able to interview them for TallyScrapper this week!! I will be sure to post Linda’s Guest spot here in the interview!! This is a great prompt. I have both books, and they are SUCH and inspiration!!

Comment by Rachel Whetzel

I am so honored that you asked me to participate! All the art is WONDERFUL and inspiring! Thank you for having me here 🙂

Comment by linda woods

I really enjoy reading and looking at these amazing layouts. Keep up the great work!

Comment by Melanie S.

What a great topic and amazing variety of responses! I had fun with this one:

motherhenna.blogspot.com/2008/04/best-part-of-my-daycatalyst-3-thank-you.html

Miracles!
k-

Comment by Mother Henna

here’s my entry; http://www.scrapworld.web-log.nl/
reaaly loved making it!!

Comment by hilde janbroers

WOW ladies,your take on the catalyst are awesome!
Hilde, your layout is really beautiful, thanks so much for sharing with us!

Comment by Becky

Mother Henna, i left you a comment on your blog, but i also wanted to say here that your story brought tears to my eyes. thank you so much for sharing it!

Comment by creativetherapy

hilde, i also commented on your blog, but i also wanted to say here that I loved your amazing art and the textures and colors. I can feel the laughter jumping off the page! thank you!

Comment by creativetherapy

I love this teri! what a very wonderful mother in law you have!

Comment by creativetherapy

I find this site, somehow by accident while reading someone else’s blog — but as I don’t believe in “accidents” of this nature, I’m glad to have made this discovery.

I have only recently begun keeping an art journal but want to share the best part of my day, every day. Thank you for offering this catalyst!

http://wwwinspired.blogspot.com/2008/04/creativity-and-gratitude.html

Comment by Sherry

Sherry, your art is absolutely beautiful and I can’t thank you enough for sharing it with us. I am so glad you “accidentally” found us 🙂

Comment by creativetherapy

Teri- so wonderful what your MIL did for you- your drawing is beautiful!

Sherry- your collage is so inspiring to me !!

Thank you both so much for sharing with us !!!

Comment by Becky

Love Linda & Karen, love Visual Chronicles, love that you did this as a catalyst this week. It took me all week to decide what to do and I finally ended up doing a page for my “14000 things to be happy about” mini album. Here it is:

http://twopeasinabucket.kaboose.com/pg.asp?set=recent&gallery=1&cmd=display&layout_id=1325823

Comment by Kim Tupponce




Leave a comment