creative Therapy


Catalyst One Hundred and Six
March 24, 2010, 5:00 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number one hundred and six:

 

Where did you grow up?

 

We’re thrilled to have Rhian Cooksey Quinton as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a quickie self-bio for Rhian:

 

I am an English Literature graduate currently living in a tiny Welsh village with a boy and a Scottie dog. I like to encorporate all kinds of skills in my work, embroidery, collage, crochet, illustration, with quite a strong focus of words and sounds. I create because it is necessary for me to get my thoughts out and keep my hands busy. A lot of my journals and art are a type of investigation into life; the point of it, the pain of it, and how I as a female can fit into it.

 

If you’ve never seen Rhian’s art, make sure to visit her blog.

 

 

 

 

Here is Rhian’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail. You can also see the full book in her flickr account.

 

 

 

Rhian Says:

The easiest way for me to put together just a few of the memories that come with my home was to create this mini art journal. It is all made out of found items/scraps of paper/london epehmera. This journal was particularly therapeutic for me as my parents actually moved out of our home last January. I have been putting off creating about this subject because I still feel such a connection and deep loss over never walking the floors I grew up in again, this prompt was a perfect kick in the butt.

 

Technique Highlights:

I experimented with crocheting into cardboard on the cover of this journal. It is exactly the same as typical crochet, only you have to make sure to punch the holes in your material first. I did a standard shell stictch, (half double crochet in one hole, 7 double crochet in next, repeat until finished, for you crocheters!) Alongside that I made my cover a little more interactive by making my quick door sketch into a flap. I glued my image to the front, then cut around three sides of the image to create the openable ‘door’. I pasted a subtitle for the journal on the other side of the cover, but pictures, photos, fabric would work just as well.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. You’ll notice we have two new team members this week, please welcome Karola and Shelley.

 

Karola:

 

Karola Says:

I grew up in a city where I live now. But not always been so …When I was 20 years I took from their parents and started life on their own account, then I went in the far corner of the country. Later many times was moving, I lived in different cities, and I collected life experience.

 

In the meantime I went back for 2 years to my hometown, but still I could not stay in my life journey, and I left again, this time to the capital of Poland, where I met my beloved, with whom we assumed the family, gave birth to our daughter.

 

Over the years, I saw in different places my special place on earth, but that was false, wrong. Only in July 2009 we conducted a spontaneous decision which change our life. We moved to my hometown to live here quietly, slowly, and happier than in the Warsaw.

 

And it turned out that this was one of the best decisions in my life. Now I am among family, places and people that I know well, I feel safe and I’m happy. I think that my life journey has ended. A town where I grew up and where I hope my daughter will grow up it’s: Gorzow Wielkopolski (GW) in western Poland, near the border with Germany.

 

 


Shelley:

 

Shelley Says:

I grew up in the state of Iowa. And in Iowa there is a LOT of corn. I have never lived on a farm (I was a town girl) but I spent many of my Summers amidst the corn detassling and working for local farmers. My experience growing up in Iowa was a wonderful one. My folks were both teachers in the schools I attended and everyone knew everyone! I use to think it was so uncool to live in such a rural place but now after traveling to many places I really appreciate the work ethic and the way of living that I experienced here in Iowa. I am now raising my children in a much larger Iowa town but I am proud to call it my home and the place that made me who I am. I hope my children will look back fondly on their life here in Iowa too!

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

I’ve had the luxury of having an idyllic childhood experience. As a child, I spent my summers on this island called Burgaz. It’s in the middle of the Marmara Sea in Turkey. It’s tiny and can be walked in two hours. It has no cars, only horse carriages and some of the best memories I’ve ever had were created there. A truly wonderful place to grow up.

 

 


Lia:

 

Lia Says:

This is not the most perfect picture, but looking at this I still remember to this day which part of my apartment building this was taken. This is the place where I grew up and still live today. The trees and seats aren’t there anymore, and the floors and walls have a fresh coat of paint but each time I come back home, I sit for a minute or two in the car and face this building … and think to myself, ‘I’m home’.

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

I grew up in a family Love, in a big family Love.

 

In French:

J’ai grandi dans une famille remplie d’amour, dans une grande famille remplie d’amour …

 

 


Wendela:

 

Wendela Says:

I made ATC’s this time. Used a map of the place where I lived when I was young.

 

 


Rachel:

Journaling Reads:

This is the town I was born, raised and still reside in. Good ol’ Prescott, Arizona. The place that I wanted to leave so badly all through my childhood and teen years, the place I felt offered so little.

 

It’s only been in my adult years that I grew to appreciate, love, and respect the charm, the safety, the beauty and the quaint unique traits that make Prescott special and a great place to raise our daughter. The rest of the journaling can be found here in wikipedia.

 

Technique Highlight:

I used postcards and a map from a tourist section in a local store to create the pages for my book. Each postcard is backed using a street map of my town. I cut out 2 of the map pieces to include the streets I have lived on throughout my life and used gemstones to make them.

 

 


Dina:

Dina Says:

I really feel like I grew up in the world…not just in one specific place. We moved to England when I was 12, and being there opened up the world to my mind. I started understanding my place in the world, being grateful for what I had, and appreciating people and cultures that are different than me. It truly was life-changing!

 

 


Opal:

Opal Says:

I grew up in a house that was one of hundreds just like it in a post war housing tract 15 miles east of downtown Los Angeles. There had been orange groves where the streets lined with ‘same but different’ houses stood. Some of these trees were left, and one was in our backyard. It was the perfect tree for climbing. The smell of orange blossoms and the taste of those sweet oranges picked off the tree came to me in a rush as I thought about this prompt. Within a few years, this newly created housing development would be surrounded by busy freeways and would acquire a zip code.

 

My piece reflects the grid and perspective of those streets. The orange is central and is composed of hundreds of tiny orange bits of fabric. The little rubber gaskets were found in one of my dad’s tool boxes. It is a simple piece for a simpler time.

 

 


Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “Where did you grow up?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love these layouts > well done!

Comment by Angie Delarie




Leave a Reply

