creative Therapy


Catalyst Ninety
November 29, 2009, 10:01 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number ninety:

 

What’s something that embarrasses you?

 

We’re overjoyed to have Katie Sokoler as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I can’t even remember where I saw a link to Katie’s blog but I was instantly in love. Her whimsical style, her impeccable photography, all the color, her ideas, everything about Katie makes me happy.

 

And she has the most amazing ideas. I must do this amazing idea to my table at home, too. You will see from her photo for this week that Katie is incredible and I am really delighted to have her here.

 

If you haven’t seen Katie’s photography, make sure to visit her blog but only when you have a lot of free time because you will get lost in it instantly. I guarantee it.

 

 

 

 

Here is Katie’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

 

Katie Says:

There are very few things that I find embarrassing but one of them is being caught in a windy storm and having my umbrella flip inside out. One moment I feel in complete control and then suddenly a strong gust of wind will get caught in my umbrella and pick my feet up off the ground. I look so silly being blown around and I have to struggle to get down! I think the next time this happens I will no longer struggle. Instead, I will close my eyes and fly away with the wind.

 

Technique Highlight:

I love to shoot with my 85mm 1.2 lens. It completely blurs the background and makes the colors all juicy and magical.

 

 

Thank you so much Katie; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Karen:

Karen Says:

I have a hard time accepting compliments. When someone says something nice, I am immediately embarrassed and start saying that it wasn’t that hard, or it’s not that great, or it looks better than it is. Anything. I’ll say anything to take the focus away from me and from the gratitude someone is showing me. One time, a friend to me to stop doing that and just to say thank you. I’m working on it.

 

Technique Highlight:

I wanted to create a bouquet of flowers (like someone presenting flowers to me.) with wire and beads. I learned this technique from the amazing Rebecca Sower. She inspires me endlessly.

 

 


Opal:

Opal Says:

As the years pass, I have found that there are few things that embarrass me. Maybe it has been a coming to terms within my skin…an acceptance of who I am and a bit of not caring what others may think. But there is one thing that makes me weep with embarrassment, and that is my memory. Forgetting where I put my glasses, or my cell phone, or the name of a neighbor, or my phone number….oh my goodness…where does it go? It is there one minute, and gone the next…only to come fluttering back in its own time.

 

My piece reflects the flight of such a memory…from the whole, to the fragmented parts…each held together with delicate threads of gold…more and more ‘tack downs’ to hold it in place as the memory dissipates….the key in the lower right hand corner is the key to remembering…or, the lost key. (If only I could remember what is was for.)

 

 


Lia:

Lia Says:

I hate talking about money – how much I earn, how I save, and especially how I spend. It’s an embarrassing and sensitive topic for me, one which I believe is too personal for casual talk. Which is why I do not approach the topic with others, not even a passing comment like “shopping again?” … and which I in turn do not accept from others.

 

 


Wendela:

Wendela Says:

Oohh when I’ve not much time for my kids….when I have to work a
lot, 3 days a week or more, or busy with other things…and my kids are alone or with a babysitter…My heart is crying a little…

 

This tag is on my week planner, and reminds me to make time for my kids when I’m busy with my work… happy time with my kids…I love them so much!!

 

 


Anita:

 

Anita Says:

I have such a hard time taking a compliment. I always have. I’m working on it though. It’s an ongoing thing. It just has always felt so awkward to me.

 

 


Rachel:

 

Journaling Reads:

I’m like an oval peg trying to fit into a round hole. I either fit with empty spaces, or I just can’t quite get through. And I am not even cliché enough to be a square trying to fit into that circle. My whole life I have felt like I didn’t quite fit in anywhere. Drifting back & forth between extremes… never quite feeling like I belonged in any group to be found, I’ve learned that I am just not quite a member of anything, at least 100%. I don’t want to want to belong, I don’t want to care. It’s embarrassing. But I do care. More than I care to admit.

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

I feel embarrassed when people sing “Happy Birthday” to me, so I decided to make myself a fool´s hat. First, I drew and painted with watercolor the fool´s face and torso. Next, I cut the cone shape and glue it and finished by adding my festive embellishments.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s something that embarrasses you?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

So interesting as always to see how people interpret the catalyst!

Comment by Seth




Leave a Reply

