creative Therapy


Catalyst Sixty-Two
May 17, 2009, 8:01 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number sixty-two:

 

What’s a personality trait you admire/seek in others? Why?

 

We’re so excited to have Richard Salley as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I found Richard Salley when I was looking for artists from varied mediums of art. When I saw his jewelry, I fell in love immediately and emailed him, confident that he’d never agree. So I was incredibly thrilled and honored when he agreed to guest for us. It’s such a delight having him here.

 

Richard regularly teaches at Art & Soul and other art retreats and he’s also contributed to several books. His jewelry is what first caught my eye but I also love his mixed media work and photography as well. Each of his pieces of art is so unique and so multi-layered that it’s impossible not to be fascinated with them.

 

If you’ve never seen his amazing art make sure to visit his blog.

 

 

 

 

Here is Richard’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Richard Says:

I admire people who are assertive…in a postive way. People who know what they want and go after it. People that are not timid about standing up for themselves and are not afraid of what others might think or say. Of course, like all traits, they can be carried to extremes and become rather unattractive, but when kept under control and used positively, assertiveness can be quite admirable. I have a tendency to be passive and compliant which is often viewed as weak and I am often taken advantage of. I am reluctant to put myself ‘out there’, especially when it comes to putting my artwork on display for others to see…self-promotion is not something that I like to do.

 

The title of the piece shown here is ‘Killer Instinct’…something that the assertive person often has in abundance. I do not mean to suggest that the assertive person is mean or necessarily aggressive, only that they are driven to get the job done…to close the deal. While these folks sometimes annoy me, I still find myself wishing I had just a bit more of this trait.

 

 

Technique Highlight:

 

With respect to technique, this piece of wearable art relies heavily on cold connections. There are rivets, micro fasteners and friction prongs that hold it all together. The banner that flies beneath the piece was acid etched after transferring the text from laser printed paper using acetone and touched up with Sharpie Marker. The barbed wire was fabricated by hand using 20 and 24 gauge annealed iron wire…and, yes, the barbs are a bit sharp. You will definitely not get many hugs when you wear this piece and you may not want to wear it with your best cashmere sweater.

 

 

Thank you so much Richard; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Kimmi:

Kimmi Says:

The most important trait that I seek out in others is honesty. I can’t stand people who lie, people that I can’t trust. I like it when people tell me the truth, even when it hurts. I’d rather they be honest in what they have to say, rather than put on a show. The truth always comes out in the end anyways and it saves a whole lot of trouble and pain if they would have just been honest to begin with.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

The trait I admire most in others is what I call “being comfortable in your skin.” I have a few friends who are just like that. They know who they are and they are comfortable with themselves. It’s not confidence as much as just a level of self-comfort. When I hang out with them, I always find myself wishing I were like that too. It’s something I am working on: loving myself the way I am.

 

Why is this in a binder?

 

 


Lia:

 

Lia Says:

I have always admired kindness in people, and Siew is one of the kindest, most compassionate persons I know! I was very lucky to have her as a boss in my first ‘real job’, and she totally threw the idea that ‘working for lady bosses can be hell’ out the window! She’s nurturing and taught me so much to be better in my job, she cares about my well-being and always asks after my family, she never ever involved me in the office politics and took it upon herself to bear the brunt from upper management, and never once forgot my birthday. We cried so much on her last day working at the company, and though I still see her often now, I will always miss working with her. She inspired me to be calm, to be confident of my capabilities, and to always be kind.

 

 


Lori:

Lori Says::

I admire confidence in people. It’s the rare person I meet who possesses a core confident self. Many times confident people are mistaken for arrogant, but that is not the case. Arrogant people have no confidence. They put others down to feel better about themselves. Confident people don’t do that. They have their own opinions, they listen and make up their own minds. They don’t apologize easily. They exude a clam inner sense of self and self ability. They are deeply loyal and very loving to those they allow in. It’s these traits that I admire most.

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

As I got hurt so many times by friends and other people, it´s very hard for me to trust a person. That way, I became a very reserved person, searching for an emotional security feeling to open my inner emotions. I’m seeking for confidence.

 

 


Lucy:

 

Lucy Says:

My mom has a very sweet personality and is very kindhearted so, to celebrate her and mother’s day I made this art quilt for her. Kindness is a trait that I admire in others and try to emulate myself.

 

Technique Highlight:

I layered batting and printed satin onto a base of wood patterned wall-paper and then stitched a hand cut heart from chenille onto gesso painted muslin. Added some stitching and trim and finished my sweet shabby chic quilt.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s a personality trait you admire/seek in others? Why?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 


9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s a great necklace and message! Thanks for sharing! Can’t wait to get started on this one!

Comment by Tammy

Fantastic necklace… he is talented!

I wish I had the talents of my brother: http://www.flickr.com/photos/18572605@N02/3537120767/in/pool-811138@N22

Comment by Lauren

This is an awesome catalyst and I love what Richard and the Design Team did! Here’s my take…

http://www.scrapinstyletv.com/portfolio/view_layout.php?layout_id=172419&gallery_type=main

Thanks for the inspiration!

Comment by Michelle LaPoint Rydell

I created two for this catalyst. You can see them here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tammymoore/

Comment by Tammy

I just found your blog (thanks to Michelle!) and I love it. I especially love the last sentence “this is not a competition” – I’m a bit tired of all the competition going on everywhere – I don’t create to win, I create for ME and yours is the first blog that confirms that! Thanks, you gave me confidence to go on!

Comment by Marit

I wish I were more like my hubs, here’s mine:

http://www.scrapinstyletv.com/portfolio/view_layout.php?layout_id=172844&gallery_type=main

Comment by Glenda Tkalac

I only found your blog the other day, but love it. Its so different and has encouraged me to come out of my comfort zone of scrapbooking.

Here’s my canvas. Thank you xx

Comment by Sarah C

Took part to create this LO about my Mum.

http://mylifeinascrapbook.blogspot.com/2009/05/i-admire-you-mum.html

Comment by Lynn

This one took me awhile, but I was finally able to choose a trait.

Here’s my layout:

Determined or Stubborn

Comment by Christine




Leave a Reply

