creative Therapy


Catalyst Fifty-Eight
April 19, 2009, 5:05 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number fifty-eight:

 

What’s your favorite word? Why?

 

We’re so thrilled to have Linda Albrecht as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Linda’s art is so soulful, so absolutely stunning, and unique that I was extremely honored when she agreed to guest for us. Her art and scrapbooking touches my soul and makes me happy.

 

Linda designs for some of the best known scrapbooking manufacturers: BasicGrey, Creative Cafe, Melissa Frances, and Shimmerz Paints. She also runs a beautiful kit club: The Scrappy Gourmet.

 

If you’ve never seen her amazing art make sure to visit her beautiful blog.

 

 

 

 

Here is Linda’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Linda Says:

To be honest, I have a few favorite words, but I decided to go with “Nest” for my choice for this project. I’ve been in love with that word for a few years now. I find that it makes me think of home and comfort and good things. Luckily, I have always had a wonderful nest to be in, whether it was my childhood home or the one that I have created with my own little family.

 

I find great pleasure in feathering my nest. It is one of my favorite pleasures and creative outlets. Not only does it bring me joy and delight, but it also gives my family and friends that visit a sense of calm and serenity when they are here. But most importantly, I like to remember that it takes more than brick, mortar and pretty things to build a nest. It also takes love and kindness, teaching and learning, caring and constant diligence to make the nest a place of growth and happiness. We work hard to build spiritual and moral needs so that each of our family members come and go with a sense of confidence and goodness so they can be honorable stewards of society and the world.

 

 

Technique Highlight:

 

I don’t use or read many technique books, so mine are self taught and possibly not the way that they should be given, but that’s part of my individual creative process, right?😉 Besides, there is no wrong or right in art.

 

Basically, I did a collage effect for the background by cutting small scraps of paper into shapes, mostly squares and rectangles but I also punched a few circles and cut out butterflies by hand. I applied them to the background with Mod Podge and also added a top coat of the Mod Podge to the entire top surface once all of the paper was in place. This gives you some additional time for removing any painting that doesn’t come out “just right” so that you can remove the paint by rubbing it off with a damp cloth.

 

One of my favorite things to use with paint is Crackle medium. I always have a bottle on hand because I like the distressed look. I apply it after the Mod Podge is dry and before I add paint to the piece. I use it randomly on my background, as I don’t want the whole piece crackled, but just a few areas. I also used it on the letters and the frame for that old rustic look. The heavier you apply the paint to the crackle medium, the larger the cracks and clumping will be.

 

Most all of the images and sentiments on my piece mean something to me, whether it is the “A” for our last name and the number “6” for our family members or the heart which represents love… and circles which represent eternity.

 

 

Thank you so much Linda; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Wendela:

Wendela Says:

My favorite word is BLESSINGS, or BLESS, or BLESSED….And why? I’m really BLESSED with my husband and my 4 lovely kids, BLESSED with my home, my friends…and I’m BLESSED to know that The Lord is my Savior. BLESS his Holy Name.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

I was going to pick Family or Love. Honestly, those words are what make me coziest and warmest inside but I wanted to pick something different from last week so I decided to go with Euphoria. I hadn’t heard of that word until college (Just to be fair, English is my second language.) and as soon as I heard it, I felt happy. To me, it is one of those words that suits its meaning so well. So I love that word.

 

Why is this in a binder?

 

 


Amy:

 

Amy Says:

“Pastiche” is a favorite word for me, a word closely aligned with another favorite word, “Palimpsest.” From “pastiche,” I take the concept of layering, of bringing together different and varied elements and seeking the harmony and balance within and between them. This piece is created from clippings from my sewing table. A project I’ve been working on requires the cutting off of small striated triangles from each completed larger block, so I had a pile of these small “half-squares” in front of me. As I worked, the piece took on a structure and “readable” form that I didn’t expect. And yet in the creation of what became almost a village composed of scraps, I found the embodiment of the word. Medium: Fabric collage.

 

 


Lia:

Lia Says::

My current favorite word is ‘PATIENCE’. It’s a word that I need to constantly remind myself of nowadays, but it is so apt in my present days. It reminds me to be calm and to accept all that life brings, no matter how hard. It gives me confidence and hope that things will get better. I just have to be patient and ride it out.

 

 


Opal:

 

Journaling Reads:

I hold in my heart the ‘sweet’ around me: the sweet voices of my grandchildren; the sweet morning song of a bird; the sweet buzz of my cell phone; Kitty Boy’s sweet purrs; sweet songs on my iPod; the voices of my sweet daughters; the sweet melodies of Mozart; the sweet words of a poem, a friend’s letter, a song, a story the sweet quiet of my house; the sweet taste of a soy latte, and coffee ice cream. Sweet is the perfect word: noun; adjective, and verb if ‘sweetened’….

 

 


Lori:

 

Lori Says:

I’m a classic California valley girl! Whenever I leave the state, I’m accused of having an accent, which cracks me up. I do not have an accent. I just use a lot of valley girl slang. For some reason, I cannot get the word “dude” out of my vocabulary. I say it all the time. I’m sure it sound hilarious coming from someone my age, but since I no longer work full time, I don’t try to weed out the slang, anymore. I know I say “dude” all time. I have reminders of it when my two-year old says it to me perfectly. “Brody, pick up your toys, please.” “No way, dude!” Nice!

 

 


Lucy:

 

Lucy Says:

Words of Love – an altered chocolate box. When I first read this week’s catalyst, I thought, ‘Oh, this will be easy!’ But the more I tried to think of my favorite word, the harder it became – words have such power and carry so much emotion that choosing just one seemed impossible. I decided to go with words of Love – affirmation, caring, compassion, ect., so many words fit that catagory for me. I needed a box to hold them all and found this old heart shaped chocolate box – so another romantic meaning for love in itself. I painted it with several shades of green and glued some beautiful Websters printed velums on to part – pleated strips of paper and stamping.

 

My box will hold words of love and little loving mementos of my favorite things.

 

 


Katie:

 

Katie Says:

My Word is Cottage. Maybe it started with the 7 Dwarfs’ little cottage, with the magical birds and the little cozy chairs….but Cottage has always been one of my favorite words. It just rolls off my tongue and sounds so soft.

 

Technique Highlight:

I made this framed word by using a frame that I got at the thrift store. I painted it white and distressed it. I covered the cardboard picture inside with paper and chipboard to create my Cottage Word Sign.

 

I staple gunned ribbon to the back to make a hanger for the picture. It was fairly easy to make and will look darling in my guest room!

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

Nest: isn’t it the coziest the place in the world? When I think of this word, it reminds me of protection, love and union. On the other hand, I also adore the metaphor of leaving the nest and achieving freedom.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s your favorite word? Why?” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 


13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

awesome catalyst!

My favorite word is WOMAN.

I know so many awesome, strong, wonderful, talented, creative, woman who are all things to everyone: mom, teacher, sister, daughter, lover, friend, dinner maker, boo-boo kisser, astronaut, doctor, lawyer, and the list goes on. The possibilities are endless.

Thanks for looking

woman

See my page here..

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

Here is mine, it might seem silly, but mine is oy…

I am not sure where or when I picked up this word, but lately it has been used at work and home, in the exasperation and dismay…it is so handy when you just come to the point when someone does something so unbelievable that all you can think at the moment is OY! (there is hidden journaling detailing some of the instances)

Thanks
oy

Comment by Leea

I love everyone else’s pieces. They’re wonderful! I’m a first-timer here…a friend sent me the link and knew this would be totally inspiring! My word is DREAM I don’t think it needs any explanation. Can there be anything happier? I really enjoyed making this art canvas.

Here’s a link to my page. I also added some close up photos to the group as well.(Plus I added photos from another art canvas I made using words: “Where do you think you’re going?”
Dream
Thank you!

Comment by Alane

new girl here…but, i’m looking forward to the challenges and playing along!

My word is HOME. We have moved six times in the past three years. So, HOME is important to me…no matter where I live I try to make our place a home (our last move was about three weeks ago…out of state this time!). But, also HOME is important because I never want to forget my HOME, where I grew up…and where all my friends and my family are….I miss HOME.

Here is my “art”
home frame

Thanks for the challenge!
Hannah

Comment by Hannah

Gorgeous projects!! And such a great idea. I had so much fun making this canvas, with my word ‘peace’. The explanations for the word are in the post below too. Here’s my project:

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1480704&f=n

Thanks so much for all the inspiration!

Comment by Anna-Karin

One of my favorite words – hope.

http://neonfog.blogspot.com/2009/04/earth-day.html

Comment by Neonfog

[…] i cleaned up the side bars as you can see…and just finished a journal page for the Creative Therapy ’s prompt fifty eight! Am inspired but how Karen Grünberg does her prompts so i dug out my supposed art journal, tore […]

Pingback by Sketch or Prompts « dreamieland

Hello! Got wind of this site and decided to dig out my art journal to get started! My favourite word is ‘Typewriter’. I love how the word looks and i love alphabets and recording memories!

http://dreamieland.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/sketch-or-prompts/

hugs
Merdrey

Comment by dreamieland

Knew my word as soon as I read the catalyst, LOVE. Everyone’s work is really inspiring, I really enjoy looking at it each week. My LO is here:
http://mylifeinascrapbook.blogspot.com/2009/04/favourite-word.html

Comment by Lynn

Sick this week, so all I could do was SMILE. So I chose a word that would help me thru it.

http://jgwm.blogspot.com/2009/04/creative-therapy-58-favorite-word-smile.html

TFL

jgwm.blogspot.com

Comment by Gayle Martin

MY word for the week is SMILE. Rough week since I have not been feeling well. I documented the week on my blog and chose my new favorite word this week. SMILE
TFL
jgwm.blogspot.com

http://jgwm.blogspot.com/2009/04/creative-therapy-58-favorite-word-smile.html

Comment by Gayle Martin

One of my favorite questions from “Inside the Actor’s Studio”! DANCE is my favorite word because it brings so many happy memories and images to mind.

Comment by Alberta

Just wanted to drop in to thank all of you beautiful, talented artists and guest artists for your inspiring work. Each creative catalyst is better than the last. This one in particular is just stunning. Every single piece here just takes my breath away. I usually just read here, but wanted to say thank you today. My word is GRATITUDE and that is exactly how I feel when absorbing and enjoying the work here. Bravo, ladies… and thank you. (((( hugs ))))

Comment by Phinny




Leave a Reply

