creative Therapy


Catalyst Twenty-Five
August 31, 2008, 12:25 pm
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name mid-week. And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number twenty-five:

 

What’s something you fear? (You can interpret this literally like something you’re afraid of or emotionally like something you’re worried might happen or not happen.)

 

We’re very excited to have Nic Howard as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Nic Howard is one of my very favorite scrapbook artists. Her pages manage to have the three core elements that I think make the most amazing pages: beautiful photographs, a great story, and well balanced artistic elements. To me, her work is timeless and fun and inspiring and touching all at once.

 

Nic’s achievements are really too numerous to list. She has an amazing book called That’s Life, Finding Scrapbook inspiration in the Everyday. She is on the design teams for For Keeps Magazine, Aussie Scrap Source, Tarisota Kit club, Prima Group, Scenic Route Paper Co., and Queen & Company. She also contributes to Memory Makers Magazine and is a Prima-endorsed educator. Wait, that’s not it. She also is a teacher with Big Picture Scrapbooking.

 

Journaling is almost always the focus of Nic’s layouts and two of her three project now downloads at Big Picture Scrapbooking focus on everyday journaling. Confessions and Conversations. If you haven’t seen her art before, you must check out her blog. We are so so thrilled to have her here.

 

 

 

Nic’s art with this catalyst is below and you can click it to see a bigger version and some more detail.

 

 

 

Nic Says:

I’m usually one to write stories on my pages so it might come as a surprise that this page doesn’t have extensive journaling. It took me a while to sit down and really come to grips with what is one of my worst fears at the moment. In the end it comes down to one of the things that weighs on my mind the most, spending enough time with my family.

 

The process of creating came to me differently when I came to do this layout. Usually I enjoy layering and choosing papers, cutting and creating for hours. This time it seemed wrong to do so! I ended up pulling out some favourite colours with some favourite pics of my children. I did play around with the placement of the embellishments for a while, but it was a quicker process than usual. Perhaps because the thought of the fear I was conveying was weighing on my mind!

 

Thanks for letting me share one of my inner fears – of course it is ironic that the layout that I created wasn’t as layered and involved as mine normally are, it did leave me plenty of time to cuddle those gorgeous kids of mine!

 

Technique Highlight:

Look closely and you will see several Hambly transparencies layered in the background. The products you use don’t have to jump out and grab you. It’s easier to see the transparencies in real life, but they make a nice gentle layer of difference without overwhelming the layout.

 

The curled paper on the layout? They were scraps. I trimmed the edge of the layout to fit in my page protector and they curled off my scissors. Who can waste the possibility for such a gorgeous embellishment. Also with the outline of the heart on the left side. I peeled the heart from it’s backing and then realised the backing itself was pretty darn cute! I stuck that on also! Waste nothing!

 

 

Thank you so much Nic; we’re so honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions. Also, as you’ll notice, we have a new artist who’s joined our team, Debee Campos. I will write a more detailed announcement about her and a few more details about our team later this week but I wanted to welcome Debee quickly here. I have no doubt that you’ll find her art as awe inspiring as I do.

Debee:

Journaling Reads::

could you just hold my hand

maybe just until this is over????????????

 

YOU FEAR

i fear this is forever…the medicine the weakness the possibility this will never END…

I hate when people stare and ask what’s wrong?

I’m afraid I have no clear answer. I fear the question.

I fear my lack of faith.

 

 


Anita:

Anita Says::

Man do I have days when I feel like I am failing as a mom. I just worry that I am not doing the right things with the kids. Do I show them enough love and attention? Do they know how much I love them and care about them? Do they know I want the world for them? I want them to know that I am doing everything within my power to make sure they are safe. I pray for them all the time. But still, am I doing everything I can? I want them to grow up knowing that I was there for them every step of the way!

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

I’m completely afraid by spiders, ants and insects of all kinds, it’s a real phobia and i can’t stay in control when I see one.

 

Technique Highlight:

Background made with paint, gesso and distress vintage. The tasks are made with liquid distress and a heat gun to flow drops of distress.

 

 


Karen:

 

Journaling Reads:

When I first thought about this topic, I was going to take the easy route. I was going to write about the dark. I’m afraid of the dark. Not too much. Not enough to have to leave the lights on. But enough to feel uneasy. Enough to rush through the dark to get to the light.

 

But that’s too easy.

 

There are so many other things I’m afraid of. I am afraid of being alone. I grew up with friends who weren’t really my friends and who tried to get out of inviting me to events as often as they could. Thus, I’ve always felt unwanted. I’ve also always been a bit different from the rest of my family so I grew up with a sense of not belonging. Coupling the two makes me someone who’s really scared of being alone. Someone who always thinks that the people around her will flee at the first opportunity. I worry about this constantly. Even with Jake, who’s been with me for fourteen years. I still think that, given the opportunity, he would leave.

 

So I thought I would make my art about being alone. But then I realized that there’s something I fear even more than that. Something so close to my core that it makes me scared just thinking about it.

 

I am afraid of having a life unlived. A life of unrealized potential.

 

A life of never having had the guts. Never having tried.

 

Of all the things I could think of, this scares me the most. I want to live life fully. I want to be able to look back and feel no remorse. Feel no guilt. I don’t want to wish I could do it over again. I don’t want to regret anything.

 

I always want to do so much and accomplish so much. My todo lists are never below 30 items. But I want to make the time to reflect. To love. To share. To be spontaneous. I want to turn my life upside down occasionally just so I can relearn everything. So I can be sure I still feel the same way about my decisions. I don’t want to take anything for granted. Not a moment of my life wasted.

 

What scares me the most is being too scared to truly live.

 

 


Vivian:

 

Vivian Says:

naturally, just like everyone, i have my fears and some are very real. fear of the force of the ocean for example.
however i have decided a while ago not to feed any more power or energy to my fears and live in freedom instead.

 

 


KL:

 

KL Says:

when i started thinking about this weeks catalyst i knew what i would create because my children are my life. i didn’t realize before i had my children that my life would no longer be the same, that what i would hold most dear wouldn’t be things and who i am, it is would be my children and how i get to experience the world through their eyes. the everyday hugs and kisses are my wealth.

 

there are moments when my worry and fear over the possibility that i could lose them overwhelms me. and i know i would be lost. they are my sun and moon and my life complete.

 

Journaling Reads:

to lose them would mean to lose myself…

 

 


Christine:

 

Christine Says:

My fear is probably a common one for anyone who feels concerned about the significance of their lives. I created this project to contrast the fear on one side of the layout with the blossoming hope of a future without regrets on the other side of the page.

 

Journaling Reads:

On the left side: I fear…not enjoying fleeting moments and not fully living because I am worrying about other things – ending up with a poorly lived life.

 

On the right side: Time seems to pass so quickly these days, and I fear that one day I will look back and regret that I didn’t live each day as fully as I could have because I allowed fear to rule my heart. I worry that I’m not living my life right HERE and NOW.

 

Ten, twenty, or (Lord willing) thirty years from now, I don’t want to see a life half-lived because I’ve been worrying over trivial things. Even “big” things that seem intimidating and overwhelming hinder me from living the abundant life of joy that God desires for me to experience.

 

Therefore, I resolve to remind myself NOT to fear with the Word of God in the pocket of this page. I pray that at the end of my life, I have the peace to say that I lived it as best as I could while resting on the promises of God.

 

Technique Highlight:

The left side of the page reflects the darkness of my fear. The right side of the page, with its bright colors and blossoming flowers, reminds me that hope is what allows me to blossom apart from my fears.

 

I created a pocket on the right side of the page so that I could keep a few Bible verses that remind me of God’s faithfulness and love for me. The verses are written on a 1” x 5” tag with the flowers serving as a tab so that the tag can be pulled easily out of the pocket. These words of encouragement will provide me with the hope to overcome the fear and worry that I may experience throughout my days.

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says:

One of my greatest fears is that there will be a time when I don’t bounce back from an exacerbation of my chronic illness. There was a time quite a few years ago when I was not able to really do much of anything due to my illness. Now, however, I have learned to live within my energy levels. I am able to better predict and adapt to the ebbs and flows with my disease. This helps me to feel more at ease with it, but the fear that it will incapacitate me again is always there.

 

 


Leena:

Leena Says:

As the years passed by, seeing my Mum grow older really makes me afraid that one day, she’ll never be there for me again. Sometimes I wish I could stop the time, wishing she would live forever. She has always been my pillar of strength through the years I was growing up and I could never imagine living life without her. I wish she could live a hundred years more to see me and my son grow old with her. I’m just too afraid to accept the fact that one day, she will leave us. All I ever wish for her right now and in the years to come is that she’ll always be happy, strong and healthy so that she’ll live forever.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “what’s something you fear?” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your art by Sunday night, September 7th, midnight PST to qualify for this week’s RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

There’s a recent change in RAK rules: to qualify for our weekly RAK drawing, all you have to do is do art around ANY of our catalysts. It doesn’t have to be the one from this week. We believe in the healing power of art and we want you to pick whichever catalyst inspires you the most.

 

For our RAK for this week, we are thrilled to be giving away an inaugural kit from our sponsor Kenner Road. This sold-out kit’s full of goodies from Pink Paislee, Jenni Bowlin, Sassafras Lass, American Crafts, Scenic Route and some stunning vintage elements.

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

22 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I fear the future sometimes just because it seems like I have more questions than answers….

Comment by Amanda

[…] CreativeThreapy’s 25th Catalyst was published yesterday. It’s “What is something you fear?” […]

Pingback by CreativeTherapy - Catalyst 25 : artsyfran

This is awesome and the layouts and journaling are amazing! Really beautiful!

Comment by Michelle Quinn

stunning work, just like always!
xo

Comment by kerry lynn

beautiful…

Comment by vivian

Perfect timing! A few ATCs that demonstrate the fear I just conquered:
http://caseymaupin.blogspot.com/2008/09/finally-finished.html
Nice to be back on the wagon with catalysts! 😉

Comment by Casey

This is for catalyst #19 – I know, just a tad late, LOL, but I finally found the time to scrap it.

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1388723

I will be working on the current “fear” catalyst. I’m loving this site!! Thank you,

Francesca

Comment by Francesca D.

So very inspiring…!!! Here is my take on this: http://www.scrapinstyletv.com/portfolio/view_layout.php?layout_id=126060&user_id=90

Comment by AnnaB

I am really afraid that I’ll never get pregnant.

Comment by MarieP

Attached is a page I did for the #25 catalyst. What I fear most. For me, it’s losing my vision. Always has been, and always will be.

Fear

Thank you for giving me this opportunity to scrap this – like I said before, I’m loving this sight and the scrapping prompts.

Comment by Francesca D.

This is my first time participating. What wonderful examples you have shown! Here’s mine for catalyst #25:

http://artiphytheheart.typepad.com/artiphytheheart/2008/09/black-is-backfe.html

Comment by Barbara Hagerty

Thank you for catalyst #25. Scrapping this gave me an insight I hadn’t known before.

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?set=recent&gallery=1&cmd=display&layout_id=1390019

Comment by Melissa in Louisiana

[…] here’s what I did for Catalyst Twenty-Five, a layout of me and my mum, my first […]

Pingback by Creative Therapy Catalyst Twenty-Five «

here’s my layout about my fear
http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&gallery=1&layout_id=1390854

Comment by Chris

I used to be afraid of spiders, until I realized they’re artists like me.

Spider Wed jewels

Comment by Abby Lanes

Great challenge! Very timely as coincides with ongoing struggles with little one getting ready in the mornings before school. Here’s mine.

every morning

Thanks for the challenge and great opportunity to get some Kenner Road goodies!!

Comment by Vivian

This is a wonderful blog and very interesting challenges that does that … challenge me.

Here’s my “fear” http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&gallery=1&layout_id=1391045

Comment by debby

I am very excited to participate this week, thanks for the prompt!
http://slightlyaltered.blogspot.com/

Comment by Jeannie

My take on the prompt is on my blog.
http://slightlyaltered.blogspot.com/
Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

Comment by Jeannie

sorry for the double post (wasn’t sure I did it right, when I couldn’t “see” it.) eeheheh

Comment by Jeannie

eeeek…irrational fear…

http://motherhenna.blogspot.com/2008/09/creative-therapy-catalyst-25.html

miracles,
k-

Comment by Mother Henna

i’ve been following this blog for a while now and i’ve loved every catalyst, but when i saw this one, it spoke to me. i know i’m late for this one, but i wanted to share it anyway, and thank you all for the inspiration… and the therapy! 🙂

http://www.scrapinstyletv.com/portfolio/view_layout.php?layout_id=131097&user_id=1770

Comment by Angie B




Leave a Reply

