creative Therapy


Catalyst Twenty-three
August 17, 2008, 9:05 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name mid-week. And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number twenty-three:

 

What’s something you collect or hoard?

 

We’re very excited to have Kris Hurst as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I found Kris’s blog while I was jumping around from one art blog to another and the moment I saw it, I couldn’t resist the urge to ask if she would guest design for us. I am blown away by what Kris can do with a few pieces of ephemera. Beautiful cakes, journals, and even magnificent tiaras. Her creations are absolutely stunning and so inspiring. It is no wonder that she’s been published in many magazines including the first “A Somerset Wedding” magazine, Legacy Magazine, Rubber Stamper Magazine, and 3 Stamplers Samplers Magazines.

 

If you haven’t seen her art before, you must check out her blog and if you get lucky, you may even find a few of her creations on her etsy shop. We are so excited to have her here.

 

 

 

Kris’s art with this catalyst is below and you can click it to see a bigger version.

 

 

 

Kris Says:

What do I collect? As a child, my summers were spent at my great grandmother’s house. She had a clock in every room of her house. Every hour and half hour chimes filled the air. It was magical. My sister and I were in charge of dusting her antiques. No surprise that I adore antique furniture.

 

When we were bored, Effie Dora would bring out her shoebox full of paper treasures and tell us stories. She collected calling cards and postcards. I’m not sure what happened to those wonderful bits of ephemera but they left me with a passion for old papers. My collection is about those memories and I hope that my art reflects this.

 

Thank you so much Kris; we’re truly honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

Vivian:

Vivian Says::

i don’t really collect many objects, no great selection of china or silverware. no stamp collection, pins or jewelry..however…. when i look around in my work area and under my tables i seem to own quite a few strange sort of objects, old key plates, bicycle wheels, funny looking spirals, bunches of wire, copper pipes… and i have always had this strange fascination with objects that were unknown to me, simply because of their shapes, colour or texture…

 

 


Becky:

 

Becky Says:

I thought about what I collect or hoard, and I could have done the typical pattern papers or stamps or other scrapbook items that I hoard, but I wanted to take a different angle. So I chose to do a layout about our collection of summer memories. I absolutely love the look of all these beautiful family memories in a collection like this!

 

 


Fran:

 

Fran Says:

For as long as I can remember, I have been fascinated by the history of things, especially vintage train cases and old photographs. I can’t resist them! I have 6 or 8 train cases, one is my MIL’s, two others are from my grandmothers, and others I have collected at thrift stores and antique shops along the way. I have a lot of photographs from my family, but I also can’t resist a really cool photo in a thrift store. So, I have a whole train case filled with photographs of those people whose relatives let them “go”.

 

My other train cases hold other vintage ephemera – book pages in different languages, old newspaper, vintage sewing patterns, and collage sheets from these vintage pieces.

 

Technique Highlight:

Drawing on cold press paper in Pigma Micron, watercolor using Sakura Koi watercolors.

 

 


Karen:

 

Karen Says:

I spent a lot of time thinking about this week’s catalyst. While I am definitely a pack rat, I don’t hoard one particular thing. I looked around my house and my table and nothing jumped out at me. Until I saw my camera. Yes, of course. I hoard photos. I take tons and tons of photos every single day and I don’t get rid of nearly enough of them. But, I guess in the grand scheme of things, photos and the memories they preserve are not the worst things to hoard.

 

Technique Highlight:

i printed my photo right onto the Kraft paper and used a piece of ribbon to make it look like a frame so that my layout would look like a photo itself to reinforce my story.

 

 


Kris:

 

Kris Says:

I think there is no question what I collect. Ask any of my art friends and they’ll tell you immediately. ‘Kris has way too much ribbon, lace and fiber.’ Now personally, I don’t think its too much but they should know. 1 1/2 thirty-five gallon trash bags full of ribbon & lace. Yeah. It had taken over so much space I quit trying to organize it and just shoved in it the bags. Whenever I wanted to use some, I pulled rolls & handfuls out until I found what I needed. When organizing my studio a couple months ago, I decided to host a Ribbon Bee. I invited all my friends over for food, fun and work. We wrapped, taped, & pinned over 850+ types of ribbons, laces, fibers and embroidery floss. I’m eternally grateful to my friends for getting me out of the ‘bag’. It took us several get-togethers to finish it all. Yes, I tend to hoard my ribbon & vintage laces. And yes, I can’t resist buying more. It’s a sickness I tell you. But I’d rather be sick, than ribbonless.

 

 


Brenda:

 

Brenda Says:

This was a catalyst that I was really looking forward to…………….until I started writing notes to form my art from-hmmmmm…what should I do–take pictures and make a collage? Take a picture of myself laying in the huge pile of “collectibles” in my garage…? pictures of my studio, closet, jewelry cabinet? ummmm NO!!! my attic? bigger NO! Then I thought that maybe I should make a necklace representing my treasures–well………no. So I decided to just send my notes–black and white–maybe it doesn’t look quite so bad this way–not like such a sickness– I love things-any things– I still have my 3rd grade teacher’s sweater that she wore while teaching me…come on folks…I’m 50! …and I have a coke can and straw that Donna Summer drank out of when we were appearing on a TV show together….yep-I got her to sign the cd–but went trash can diving to retrieve her can– So can you see why this is enough–yep…Just Enough!

 

 


Amélie:

Amélie Says:

I’ve been collecting them since January 2007. ATC’s, I have 240! I love the idea of exchange between artists, the small format (2.5/3.5 inches) and all possible techniques. I have one of each theme that I love.

 

In French:

Voilà ce que je collecte depuis janvier 2007. Ce sont des ATC’s, j’en ai 240 ! J’aime beaucoup le principe de l’échange entre artistes, le petit format (6.4cm/8.9cm) et toutes les techniques possibles. J’en ai sur différents thémes que j’aime. (J’ai choisi de vous en faire une sur un tableau avec de la couture, de l’acrylique appliquée avec les doigts, du papier de livre déchiré et un ruban brillant.)

 

Technique Highlight:

I chose you to do one on a table with the sewing, acrylic applied with fingers, torn paper and book a shiny ribbon.

 

 


Christine:

Journaling Reads:

I happen to “collect” ribbons and lace. I have about four boxes filled with spools of ribbons along with a number of yards of lace. I can’t seem to help myself! When I see a unique print or design, I end up buying a couple of yards to add to my stash. It’s one of my weaknesses! I don’t think I’ll give up buying pretty ribbons in laces anytime soon! ;-D

 

Technique Highlight:

This is a hybrid layout which incorporates two of Rhonna Farrer’s round circle brushes (which are the digital equivalent to rubber stamps) as frames for the photo and the journaling. I simply determined the size I wanted for the photo and journaling and then digitally “stamped” the circle brush on top of the photo and the text to create the frames. After printing the framed photo and journaling, I hand cut the elements before adding them onto my scrapbook layout.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “what’s something you collect or hoard?” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your art by Sunday night, August 24th, midnight PST to qualify for this week’s RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

There’s a recent change in RAK rules: to qualify for our weekly RAK drawing, all you have to do is do art around ANY of our catalysts. It doesn’t have to be the one from this week. We believe in the healing power of art and we want you to pick whichever catalyst inspires you the most.

 

For our RAK for this week, we are thrilled to be giving away the Urban Prep line with these amazing goodies from our sponsor Scrap in Style TV.

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 


12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am just loveing every ones work!! You all amaze me. I will have to find time to play this week.

Comment by Jennifer

Cutting an pasting is my therapy! Here’s what I collect:

Comment by Alberta

Hmmmm, can you collect/hoard the perfect cupcake? My sister and I have made it a life mission to find the perfect cupcake. Here’s my page:

Love all the designer’s projects but Kris’s birthday wand is something extra!

Comment by MarieP

I hoard beautiful memories!

I Hoard Beautiful Memories

Comment by Abby Lanes

Hi there!
Love your weekly inspiration and wanted to join in the fun for a long time…
So here’s my hoarding – subject: orchids – love them and already have more than 10 here on my desk 🙂
Have a great weekend, ladies!

Comment by Sandra

*lol* forgot the link – here’s my LO:

http://nachtschwinge.blogspot.com/2008/08/back-again.html

Comment by Sandra

Here’s mine… I dont know what is the English for “Glycophile” but I collect sugar with their packing.
http://auderoux.canalblog.com/archives/2008/08/22/10318819.html

Comment by Aude

I am a collector of words! 🙂

Comment by Kersten

Once again, you ladies nailed the catalyst. Your work makes we want to continue to contribute and participate each week even if it means I stage the photo as I did in this week’s….

http://runrgirl-runrgirl.blogspot.com/

Comment by Melissa in Louisiana

Hi…this is my first post here but hopefully not my last! I chose catalyst 17 for my creation. http://www.flickr.com/photos/29866407@N03/?saved=1

Thank you.

Comment by Lenethren

My first comment didn’t seem to post so I’ll try this again! I chose catalyst 17 for my creation.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/29866407@N03/?saved=1

Thank you.

Comment by Lenethren

Collectors collection of hoarded items!

http://motherhenna.blogspot.com/2008/09/creative-therapy-catalyst-23.html

Miracles,
k-

Comment by Mother Henna




Leave a Reply

