creative Therapy


Catalyst Thirteen
June 8, 2008, 2:10 pm
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name mid-week. And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number thirteen:

 

Thank someone.

 

We’re very excited to have Kelli Crowe as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

If you don’t know who Kelli Crowe is, you’re truly missing out. Not only is she incredibly talented but she exudes joy and sweetness. Even though I’ve had the luck of meeting her very briefly at winter CHA, I don’t know Kelli at all, but I read her blog daily and it always puts me in the best mood. Her art is always bold and happy and thought provoking. She’s a garden girl and her two peas gallery is full of inspiration. You can read so much more about Kelli at her blog and I cannot recommend it enough. We are so very delighted to have her here.

 

 

 

Kelli’s art with this catalyst is below and you can click it to see the larger version.

 

 

 

Kelli Says:

I love the name of this blog: Creative Therapy. Scrapbooking is so my therapy. I started this lo 4 months ago when I just didn’t feel like scrapbooking. I had the teal image of messily cut circles in my head. I sat in from of the tv and just started cutting. It was fun and slightly mindless. 1 month ago, I attached the circles to a page. A week ago I turned it into a lo with a simple quote i read in my Mother’s Day card from my oldest son.

 

Most of my lo’s come about as a planned lo…but a few come about this way. Just playing around. Sometimes I throw them away because they really served the purpose of being fun to make….but not much to look at.

 

I love being the mom to 3 boys. They are all wonderful, fun ages. I have always written down the things that they say. I have recently started writing down some of their prayers at dinner time and other comments that they make. Not all of them make it onto a lo.

 

This was such a simple thank you.

And he called me his b.f.f.

Dude.

I know that won’t last.

He is almost 11.

A preteen, as he keeps reminding me.

There are a bazillion things I could have said thank you about.

But I wanted to take this moment to document the sweet way my son said thank you to me.

 

 

Thank you so much Kelli; we’re truly honored.

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

Amélie:

Journaling Reads::

“There are two ways to forget the worries of life: music and cats” Albert Schweitzer

 

Amélie Says::

My little cat Isis always soothed me when I was a little girl. It was my faithful companion, kind and cuddly. I wanted to thank him for having stood by me through difficult times.

 

And now in French:

Ma petite chatte Isis m’a toujours apaisé quand j’étais petite fille. C’était mon fidèle compagnon, gentille et câline. J’avais envie de lui dire merci d’avoir était là dans les moments difficiles.

 


Kris:

 

Journaling Reads:

‘How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight

For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.

I love thee to the level of everyday’s

Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.

I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;

I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.

I love thee with a passion put to use

In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.

I love thee with a love I seemed to lose

With my lost saints, — I love thee with the breath,

Smiles, tears, of all my life! — and, if God choose,

I shall but love thee better after death.’ – Elisabeth Barrett Browning.

 

Kris Says:

This is a piece I made for my husband for our upcoming 20th anniversary. I figured it was high time I thanked him for putting up with me for 20 years.

 


Karen:

 

Karen Says:

There are many people who have helped me in my life. Many people who deserve thanks for so many things. But what my son has already done for my life will forever be the one thing I am eternally grateful for.

 

Before David was born, I had always been a sad person inside. Not that I didn’t have happy moments but overall, my normal state of being was on the sad side. I remember that when I was pregnant, I was really worried that my son would have a sad mom and blame himself. I was worried I would have really bad post-partum. I was worried about a lot of things. I wanted to “fix myself” before he came. I made up this big sign that read “Give up that there’s something wrong.” and I put it above my bedroom door so I saw it every morning and night. I was going to learn to be happy, no matter what it took.

 

It turned out that I really didn’t have anything to worry about. I cannot explain why or how but the minute David was born, something fundamental shifted inside me. Not only did I not have an inkling of post-partum, but David made me a happy person. Since his birth, I have felt a deep peace inside that I had never experienced previously. He has literally changed who I am.

 

No matter what the coming years bring, I will forever be thankful to my boy for giving me this priceless gift.

 

Journaling Reads:

David the list of things for which I am thankful to you goes on and on. You have brought so much joy into my life and you have taught me that life is full of fun and happiness. The way your life is all about the little moments and making tons of tiny memories is what I cherish the most. You have taught me how to live and how to love you.

 


 

Fran:

Fran Says:

Thanking someone is, well, hard to do. There are so many people I want to thank – who have helped me along the way. The teachers and guidance counselors who were there in a non-invasive way supporting me when I was keeping secrets; the University alumni who supported my college education; the University that helped me to find a place in the world through work and study; the doctors who have helped me along the way in my disease management; the woman who set Dave and me up on the blind date that would lead to a fabulous marriage; my husband for loving me despite my faults and with all his heart… The list, I really believe, is endless.

 

But when it came down to it, I knew who I wanted to thank first and foremost: my Aunt Millie and Aunt Ann. For may times in my life, they have been a safe harbor for me and a dear part of my heart and family.

 

Aunt Ann and Aunt Millie took me in when I had to leave bad situations. They helped me find my place when I had nowhere else to go. They taught me to trust, love, and to dream big. Without their love, support, and hearts, I’d not be who I am today. I am saddened that sometimes I don’t take the time to tell them how much I love them and how important they are to me. They have both been here for me in sickness and health, for the good and the bad. Aunt Ann answered a call when I needed to leave an unsafe situation and welcomed me into her home with no questions. Aunt Millie was there for me during Passover, winter break, Jewish New Year – any break I had- I’d share a ride or take the train down from the University.

 

For many years, my aunts and I would get together for Rosh Hashanah and ring in the Jewish New Year together. We aren’t as able to do that any longer – physically, it’s difficult for me and for Aunt Millie – but those memories are so special to me. Aunt Millie and Aunt Ann were at my college graduation and they were there to meet my husband when we first fell in love. They stood up for me under the Chuppah at our wedding 16 years ago. They have been a constant source of support, love, and trust. They have been my rocks.

 

Thank you Aunt Ann and Aunt Millie. You are both such an important part of me. I cannot begin to tell you how much love you have helped me to find in my heart. I love you both more than words can say.

 

Journaling Reads:

My Aunts, Thank You- For teaching me to dream big; for showing me how to love; for being my safe harbor; for loving me.

 


Christine:

 

Christine Says:

So much of what I possess, materially and spiritually, are gifts from God. It is written that ” every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.” (James 1:17) I have found this to be true in my own experience, and this album contains some of the gifts for which I am thankful: my spouse, my children, my home, the blessing and privilege of motherhood, and the promise of eternal life through faith in Christ’s redeeming act of sacrifice.

 

Journaling Reads:

Although I am thankful for everything I have mentioned so far, they are still temporary things…they will pass away in time. However, one of the greatest gifts of God’s grace towards me is His redeeming love for me that allows me to have eternal life with Him someday. Nothing can surpass the measure of His love for His people through the sacrifice of His son, Jesus Christ. It is a gift that I could never earn nor could I ever repay. But because of it I can, by faith, look forward to the day I can be in His presence forever – loving and praising Him for the life He has granted to me for eternity.

 

Dearest Heavenly Father, You have blessed me in abundance and have given me so much more than I dreamed of and more than I deserve. For all these things I am grateful…Your love for me is boundless and I have experienced Your grace in so many different seasons of my life. Thank you for being mindful of me…thank you for your love and faithfulness…For all these and more, I am truly and eternally grateful!

 


 

Leena:

 

Journaling Reads:

I could never thank you enough for making me the person I am today, for giving me the happiness & a wonderful life, for giving me a beautiful son & for making me appreciate life to the fullest. Thank you! xoxo

 


Becky:

 

Becky Says:

I talk to Karen almost every single day, we’ve gotten to know each other and it’s amazing to me that you can create such a bond of a friendship through cyber space,but it happens all the time. I wanted to thank her for her friendship because I have come to rely on her constant source of support and advice. Love ya girl! (Editor’s Note: Right back at you, my wonderful friend! Love you.)

 

Journaling Reads:

I am so glad I got a chance to “meet” and know you. You are such a genuine person and so giving. Thank you Karen, for being a great friend and such a wonderful person!

 


KL:

 

KL Says:

it took me a few days to get this one finished. not because it was difficult to create but because the words and thoughts behind this weeks catalyst brought up such raw emotions for me. i kept thinking of my grandfather, my father figure, the rock of our family. this past weekend was the 9th anniversary of his passing and even though i know he is in a better place, a peaceful place, i miss him every single day.

 

my journaling is on the back of the vintage postcard, tucked in and kept safe. sincere thoughts and love sent to my grandfather. the man who showed me what it was to be a father, to be present in my life and always supportive. to love me, unconditionally.

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “thank someone.” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you. Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your work by Sunday night, June 16th, midnight PST to qualify for the RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

For our RAK for catalyst #13, we are thrilled to be giving away beautiful products from our sponsor: Scenic Route. Here’s a sneak peek of what’s in the RAK:

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 


20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OMGosh! You guys killed it this week! Everything is just stunning! Thank you for sharing! And, Becky, I so agree!!!!

Comment by Lori Gentile

AMAZING LADIES!!! LOVE!

Comment by Kimmi

oh wow. this is one of the best ones yet!! i am SO doing this one!! thanks!

Comment by Jenn

beautiful – thank you!

Comment by vivian

Thank you Mr. Wise, my high school physics teacher for teaching me an important lesson to carry on in my own classroom….respect for others….and a little bit of physics! 🙂

Comment by Amanda N.

Amanda that is so so beautiful!! 🙂

Comment by creativetherapy

I’m totally blown away by this week’s catalyst! Amazing work girls!

Comment by Leena

such amazing work!!
great job ladies!!
xo

Comment by kerry lynn

AMAZING PROJECTS LADIES !!!
congratulations

Comment by severine

I love this idea, and your art blew me away. I’m going to work on this one!

Comment by Lisa

[…] June , 2008 by Leena CT 13 stands for Creative Therapy Thirteen and the challenge is up in their blog now! Go have a peek now and you’ll be amazed by […]

Pingback by Here’s for CT 13 «

Wow! They just get better every week. These all made me cry. The words in your journaling and notes on WHY you did the page are sometimes more touching than the journaling itself. Thanks to everyone for sharing so much of who you are… I feel so honored to be a part of this awesome group.

Comment by Karan

Love everything that I see. I love this site and it really get you thinking. Here is my LO that I created. I am so thankful and blessed to have my Mom and Stepdad in my life.
http://homegrownscrapbooks.com/forums/photo.aspx?photoid=6263&asortType=6&apage=1

Comment by April

Here is my LO about the colors of fall I’m thankful for… I didn’t address a specific person, but I would like to thank my son & husband for sharing it that beautiful day & memory.
http://ochoamores.typepad.com/my_weblog/2008/06/creative-therap.html

Comment by Sherry

I’m not sure if my last comment posted, sorry if I am repeating myself. Here is my LO about a hike last Fall. I would love to thank my husband & son for sharing this beautiful day.
http://ochoamores.typepad.com/my_weblog/2008/06/creative-therap.html

Comment by Sherry

[…] you stopped by CreativeTherapy yet today? No? Well, get over there to see some of the fabulous artwork for this week’s […]

Pingback by artsyfran

Absolutely wonderful layouts and such a great topic! I am sorry I missed last week. I am visiting my family and won’t be at home again until the end of July. I will try my very best to do the challenge.

Anna-Karin

Comment by Anna-Karin

grace à SIS et karenika, je découvre ce blog ….superbes réalisations et bravo à maylie que je connais pour cette aventure formidable !!!

Comment by Francoise

So excited to see Kelli Crowe’s work here. She is awesome. Such amazing work again by everybody. Here’s what I created for this weeks catalyst.

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?set=recent&gallery=1&cmd=display&layout_id=1356249

Melissa

Comment by Melissa in Louisiana




Leave a Reply

