creative Therapy


Catalyst Twelve
June 1, 2008, 12:21 pm
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name mid-week. And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number twelve:

 

If you could do something to make a big impact on the world, what would it be?

 

We’re very excited to have Angie Platten as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I was lucky enough to find Angie’s art through Fran. What amazed me the most is how wide ranging her art is. She uses so many mediums and they are all so magnificent. Her art is incredible and amazing and so very meaningful, so I immediately thought she’d be a perfect fit for creative therapy. And I am thrilled that she accepted. You can see more of her art at her blog and in her galleries here and here. She also has an etsy shop.

 

 

 

Angie’s art with this catalyst is below and you can click it to see the larger version.

 

 

 

Angie Says:

This journal entry happened with no intention of it being my work for my catalyst theme. It is certainly not my best work, yet when I finished it, I realized that the message in this page is exactly what my catalyst entry needs to be about. My catalyst prompt has really made me think. “If I could do something to make a big impact on the world, what would it be?” There are simply too many things that need to be done.

 

Yet I continued to search for the ONE thing that could make a difference in all the hurt, pain, destruction, hate, war, suffering, selfishness and loneliness in the world. As the song goes, “What the world needs now, is love, sweet love”. But even beyond that, the world needs the God of the universe who IS love! I am a Christian but have never been an “in your face” kind of Christian but, in response to this catalyst with complete honesty, if there were one thing I could do to make a big impact on the world, I would want people to know Jesus. Not the one people try to beat you over the head with. Not the one many have created within their own minds… but the REAL live Jesus who embodied love and died for us yet lives! I believe that if we could really grasp the truth of who Jesus really is, the truth of who God really is, then the hate in the world would no longer be. With no hate, there would be no war.

 

Sufferings in this world would be refocused on the ONE who knows of the ultimate suffering that He chose on our behalf. The Great Comforter, Lover of our souls, would fill our hearts with peace and loneliness would not exist. If we could truly know the presence of God in every moment of every day, acknowledging Him and His love for us, then life would be viewed completely different. Instead of taking, we’d be giving. Instead of being a self-centered world, we would focus on others. Instead of constant striving for perfection and acceptance, we would be able to rest in the knowledge of God’s abundant grace and acceptance by Him, our Creator. I believe that if we in the world, BY FAITH, chose to find out who God really is according to His Word, chose to believe what He says is true about himself and about how He sees and loves us, the deep thirst of our souls would be quenched.

 

THIS is what I would do to make a big impact on the world. My faith often shows in my art and more so as I learn to find my own voice and follow it. My faith in Jesus can’t NOT show because He lives in me and I am a child of the living God. The prayer of my heart is that my artwork will cause someone to stop and think. I hope it challenges even one person to choose to ignore everything they ever thought they knew about God or what they have heard and get a Bible, dig into it with a prayerful, seeking heart, and find out who God really is for themselves. God promises that if we seek Him, we will find Him. I hold Him to his promises and He is always faithful.

 

 

Thank you so much Angie; we’re truly honored.

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

Severine:

Severine Says:

Title of this piece is “no more cars in the city.”

Why?

1. stop pollution and destruction ot the ozone and be able to BREATHE

2. Slowing the growth of obesity because we’ll do more walking and cycling and not stay at home behind a tv screen or computer

3. stop the wars (physical, mental, commercial …) since we consume less oil, thus less need and less jealousy.

That’s why I think it would have a big impact on the world.

 

And now in French:

Titre : “plus de voiture dans les villes”

Pourquoi :

1. Pour arrêter la pollution et la destruction de la couche d’ozone et pouvoir RESPIRER

2. Ralentir la progression de l’obésité puisque l’on fera plus de marche à pied et plus de vélo et que l’on restera moins souvent inactif devant un écran de télé ou d’ordinateur

3. stopper les guerres (physiques, psychiques, commerciales …) puisque l’on consommera moins de pétrole, donc moins de besoin et moins d’envieux.

Voilà pourquoi, je pense que ça aurait un énorme impact sur le monde

 


Fran:

Fran Says:

As I thought long and hard about this catalyst, I realized that there is one word for what I believe the world needs to become a better place – compassion. Compassion in the sense of love, understanding, and a willingness to listen to each other. In essence, for me, it lies in the heart. We all have the capacity for love and compassion, but few of us realize how to make it happen. If there were more compassion, there would be more peace, less violence, and no one would go hungry or without medical care.

 

When I was trying to figure out what to draw for this catalyst, I looked up compassion and tolerance. What kept coming to me was the image of the human heart and its abundant ability to feel for others. While I know that love has to start with oneself and self-care, I also know that we do not live in a vacuum. This is why this quote from Pema Chodron struck such a cord with me: “When you begin to touch your heart or let your heart be touched, you begin to discover that it’s bottomless… that this heart is huge, vast, and limitless.” If only we all lived lives filled with compassion, we could truly change the world.


Vivian:

 

Vivian Says:

After thinking about this weeks’ catalyst for quite some time and going through the process of creating about 3 different pages I came to the conclusion I would love to change human behavior if I could.. This would have such a huge, dramatic impact on the world. If we were all more caring and did not act out of our ego’s we would naturally be more involved in other people’s lives and circumstances and so much would change for the better. We would all care about the earth and contamination would stop immediately. We would help our neighbours without thinking twice and we would simply share our wealth with the rest of the world. We would create peace and we would respect others more, including their beliefs and religions. It all starts with the human ego.

 

Journaling Reads:

” if i could change one thing to make the world a better place what would it be? i’m pretty sure i would change the human behavior not any anger or so much negativity but much more love and so much more awareness as well as letting go of ego because that is what causes so many issues and problems all over the world. let’s be more caring…”


 

Karen:

Karen Says:

For this week’s catalyst, I wanted to do something different. I feel very strongly that every one of us can change the world by doing seemingly small things. We all have the power and the ability to make this world a better place. So I made a little minibook with my ideas on how you can change the world:

 

Here are the sections:

1. Help others: Imagine if everyone spent a few more hours a week volunteering? We could make such a huge impact on the world. Or maybe something tiny. Help hold the door for the person coming behind you. Do a tiny kind gesture, you can never be sure what effect that has on the rest of the world.

2. Be kind: Be kind and loving to people. Always assume the best of others. I think if everyone did that, the world would be a different place.

3. Have a child: Children are our future. They represent the world of possibilities, they are going to create the tomorrow we live. They will definitely change the world.

4. School and Family First: I believe that everything starts with family and education. Those are the two pillars of any human and if you get those right, your impact on the world will be that much stronger.

5. Change yourself: It all starts with you. Don’t wait for others to change. Start with the man in the mirror.

I think the world is changed by seemingly tiny things all the time. If we do any of these five, I think we are moving the world in a more positive direction.


Anita:

 

Anita Says:

When I saw this topic I immediately thought of these pictures. In April my youngest son came home on Earth day and told me about how they talked about in Kindergarten that day about taking care of the earth. He asked me if we could go pick up trash when dad got home. I am so proud to know that my children are sensitive to these kinds of things. They want to clean it up!

 


 

Karan:

 

Journaling Reads:

If I could change something in the world and create a big impact, it would be to show people how to create inner change that has a positive outward effect. So many people let the circumstances of their life define them. I think of many positive affirmation quotes, and the best one I know is by Ghandi, BE that change you want to see in the world. I listen to a lot of motivational music. Two of my favorite songs are Man In The Mirror by Michael Jackson, and Your Life Is Now by John Melencamp.

 

The messages in these songs really invoke a feeling of positive change within me. My goal is to show others, especially kids, how to create change in their life that will really change who they are and how they live in the world. The impact on the world would be HUGE. If all the people running around out there hurt and confused and self-destructive, could have the courage to step into the change agent they are on the planet, the world would change in incredible ways. It would cause a ripple effect that would touch everyone. From resolving small issues to solving the world’s problems, it is all possible, and can happen with just a few people, who inspire a few more, and so on.

 

Look at the social change that occurred in the 1960’s. It can happen again. I believe it is starting already. The global green movement will be even bigger. I am looking forward to the changes that will come. It gives me hope, that the young people today, raised by the generation that changed the world, can do it again. Teaching young people how to think in innovative ways, to tap into the creative abilities we all have inside, will allow them to blaze new trails down roads no one has traveled before. I look forward to the journey!

 


Lori:

Journaling Reads:

If I could do anything to make a big impact on our world, it would be to somehow inspire compassion in everyone. This may sound simple and not nearly enough, but it would make a huge start to changing oppression, tyranny, hunger, hatred, and all the things that bring pain and suffering to our world. Compassion is not only one’s ability to understand another’s emotional state, it’s, also, a desire to alleviate suffering. If every person in our world could look past their own pain and understand another’s, then act to change it, I believe we would begin to see a different world. I believe in the power of one and I believe it begins with compassion.


Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “If you could do something to make a big impact on the world, what would it be?” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you. Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your work by Sunday night, June 8th, midnight PST to qualify for the RAK.

For our RAK for catalyst #12, we are thrilled to be giving away a June Kit from our sponsor: Coordinates Collections. Here’s a sneak peek of some of the items in the kit:

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am a kindergarten teacher, so my goal is to impact their lives everyday.

Journaling reads:
John Mayer says he’s “waiting on the world to change”. Waiting will not work, John Mayer.

I am changing the world 22 kindergarteners at a time. I educate them. I teach them to think for themselves. To make good choices. To treat others the way you want to be treated. This is how I am changing the world.

Comment by Amanda N.

Wow! What amazing bunch of extremely talented artists. I am so impressed by the work you have all done!

Comment by Kim

excellent projects.

Comment by Lu

Wow!!! I’m so impressed with the work this week. I loved reading everyone’s take on what they would do.

Comment by Lori Gentile

Fabulous work yet again!! I love these women!

Comment by Anita

AMAZING!!!!!!!

Comment by Kimmi

Here is mine! Thanks for the inspo!

http://flickr.com/photos/misskara/2549214446/

Comment by Kara

A powerful topic for change! Here’s mine for this week;
http://caseymaupin.blogspot.com/2008/06/summers-here.html

Comment by Casey

Here’s mine:
http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1353392

The jouranling reads:
To guide this little BOY
to be kind
to follow his dreams
to stand up for his beliefs
to respect women
to live with morals
To guide this little boy
to become a good hearted MAN

Comment by Elissa

Oh, lovely Angie and your lovely art! I came to late for the challenge but you’re a blessing!

Comment by Deryn Mentock

It’t the first time that I play along…here is my entry…

http://creawen.web-log.nl/

Your smile can change the world

Comment by wendela




Leave a Reply

