creative Therapy


Catalyst One Hundred and Thirty-Three
July 20, 2011, 5:00 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number one hundred and thirty-three:

 

Do you have a favorite or important family recipe?

 

We’re thrilled to have Susy Waters as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a quickie self-bio for Susy:

 

My technique is to draw, scan, use photoshop(I am self taught) still only know about 1%. I am 49 .married happily. We are English. I have lived here 23 years and have two children Rosey, 22, and Jasper, 20. I love my type of work. It’s changed a bit with magazines closing. (I used to work for gourmet quite a bit) but now am working for crate and barrel, publishers, textile companies, and along with a Bengali folk tale that will be published in 2013! Right now i am juggling new designs for crate, poster for a company called wild apple and having pillow cases and tea towels printed by my collaborating printer friend Rod Carruthers in Florida.

 

 

 

Make sure to check out Susy’s blog.

 

 

 

Here is Susy’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and a lot more detail.

 

 

 

Susy’s thoughts in a picture (click to enlarge):

 

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Amy:

 

Amy Says:

This recipe for Beet Soup is not a family recipe that has been handed down, but maybe it will be. This is a recipe I consider important in my collection of recipes “I make” as it is one of the first soups I made. It is also a recipe that showed me that when it comes to soup, it’s okay to vary amounts and ingredients and “experiment.” Soup is forgiving. And, soup is something you can make for yourself, even if no one else eats it. You’ll have food for “you” for several days! That this soup turns a lovely shade of pink when the sour cream is added is also wonderful! (Note: my quantities vary greatly from the recipe on which this soup is based.)

 

 


Julie:

 

Julie Says:

This is one of the things that I always insist my Mother make when I visit her. Even though I have the recipe, it never tastes as good when I make it as when she makes it! And I associate so many happy childhood memories with eating matzo brie!

 

 


Karen:

 

Karen Says:

I thought a lot about this catalyst. My first hunch was to make it on mousse chocolat or gateaux salami, both of which my grandmother made for me each time I came to visit. It was her way of showing me how much she loved me and how much she missed me. But as the weeks passed, I decided I wanted to make this one about my family and the recipe of laughter and joy that these family photos have brought to me. I don’t cook so I will not be leaving my two sons any recipes for them to continue to pass down. But if I can pass down the power of laughter and joy as my recipe for a fulfilled and happy life and family, I will consider it a success.

 

 


Opal:

 

Opal Says:

The one recipe that creates the most discussion with my daughters is my mom’s potato salad recipe. Once I asked her to write down her recipe for us, and she looked at me and said, “Opaljean – you don’t need a recipe for potato salad. All you need are 4 potatoes, 3 hard cooked eggs, 2 sweet pickles, onion, mayo and mustard.” But she did write it down with a bit of attitude. This piece honors my mom’s potato salad. The recipe, in her handwriting, is photocopied on fabric and anchored under a potato. The salt grains are tiny crystals. The polka dots are for mom.

 

 


Shelley:

 

Shelley Says:

It is our tradition that every Sunday night we have pizza. My family did this and I have passed the tradition down to my kids. Most times we make homemade pizza but if I am too tired we opt for Pappa Murphy’s! 90% of the time we make homemade pizza and this is a little project I made using cds, some plastic cd protectors, and some scrapbooking materials. I recorded the actual instructions on how we make our homemade pizza on the back of each cd with a marker. Homemade pizza is so yummy and we like adding ingredients that we like to it. Most times it’s just cheese but there is nothing like the smell and taste of our Sunday night pizza!

 

 


Wendela:

 

Wendela Says:

My favorite family recipe is a cookie receipt I got from my mom! So easy with flour, baking soda, and a little milk and butter. You can add chocolate chips if you want or chopped ginger ….yummie!!!!

 

 


Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “Do you have a favorite or important family recipe?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next month, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh! This one is SO good! I love everyone’s lovely interpretations of the food that nourishes and comforts them. Susy makes stunning art. LOVE.

Comment by pixie

I created a layout using the inspiration from Karen and her interpretation from the family recipe. Thanks guys! http://www.designerdigitals.com/digital-scrapbooking/ideas/showphoto.php?photo=159808

Comment by Daniella Schouten

BTW, gorgeous work you guys! you all are an inspiration!

Comment by Daniella Schouten

I LOVE the examples and I feel totally inspired to create a page like Julie’s!!! :D

Comment by Nathalie




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

