creative Therapy


Catalyst One Hundred and Seventeen
August 4, 2010, 7:00 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number one hundred and seventeen:

 

How would you like to be remembered?

 

We’re thrilled to have Flora Bowley as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a quickie self-bio for Flora:

 

Flora S. Bowley is an emerging Northwest painter known for her playful and continually revealing compositions of semi-abstract forms, as well as her vibrant and unpredictable use of color. Bowley lives and works full time as a painter in Portland, OR, where she is surrounded by beautiful gardens, magical forests, constantly changing seasons, and a multitude of tiny living things. Other sources of inspiration come from traveling the world, dance, yoga, Burning Man, and connecting with other creative souls. Bowley’s work is represented by numerous galleries across the United States.

 

Here’s an artist’s statement from her:

 

It is my desire to honor and celebrate the natural world by creating timeless and magical new “landscapes,” rich with color, soul and imagination. My paintings are created through many layers of intuitive mark-making, bold experimentations with color and careful rendering of organic forms. These “characters”: wings, sprouts, hives, branches, petals and pods morph into semi-abstract forms and co-mingle with color fields to create new places born from the painting process. I leave “windows” into otherwise covered layers of paint to draw the viewer deeper into the landscapes, while etching, dripping, stamping and “dotting” enliven the forms and highlight their connectivity to each other.

 

Ultimately, I find purpose in the very act of observation, relating forms and colors to each other, and allowing new stories to unfold before me. My finished paintings are not meant to be conclusive; rather they are a celebration of the present moment, chaotic, subtle, and beautiful, mystical and ever-changing.

 

Make sure to check out Flora’s blog and website. You can also find her on Facebook as Flora Bowley Paintings.

 

 

 

Here is Flora’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

 

Flora Says:

I created the painting entitled, “Moonwish,” to symbolize how I would like to be remembered in this lifetime. I would like to be remembered as a dynamic creative woman who was at peace in herself and who created harmony in the world around her. The painting also portrays my deep connection to the natural world (a consistent source of inspiration) and my strong belief in the law of attraction. I believe I have the innate ability to create my life powerfully and creatively by setting thoughtful intention and by honoring the magic that abounds all around!

 

Technique Highlight:

I used many layers of Golden’s acrylic paint in this painting. I layered both heavy body and fluid acrylics together with the occasional spray of water to create washes and drips. To create a shimmery quality and to give the piece an inner glow, I used a lot of metallic paint, mainly Iridescent Copper and Iridescent Gold. I also layered the uber-transluscent, Quinacridone Magenta and Quinacridone Azo Gold, over the metallics. Try it…you’ll see why!

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Lori:

 

Lori Says:

I really just want people to be filled with love when they think of me. I don’t think how they label me is as important as the feelings my memory evokes inside.

 

 


Dina:

 

Dina Says:

Hmm, how would I like to be remembered? I’d like to remembered in many ways, but mostly I want to be remembered for the love I have for my husband and children. I make my mark on the world through art journaling and scrapping, and use those mediums as a way of expression my love and hopes for them.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

Honestly, I would like the people in my life to have a smile on their face when they remember me. To feel bliss and joy with the good memories they have of our time together. Other than that, I would just like them to be happy.

 

 


Amy:

Amy Says:

This piece is sunny, happy, and bright. These are not things for which I think I’ll be remembered. But I do hope to be remembered for being able to see the beauty (and sometimes unexpected whimsy) in fragments, the potential in things that are not perfect, the laughter in unexpected moments, and the hope that emerges when you look at the whole.

 

 


Anna:

 

Anna Says:

This is a thing that never crossed my mind.I try to be true and honest in everything I do and how other people people will remember me depends only on their views. I hope all those memories will be good – but I can’t even think about having any influence on that. I’m just me. That’s not so bad, is it?

 

 


Karola:

 

Karola Says:

This is a very difficult question, I thought long about how I want to be remembered. I do not know who my character traits I value most and with whom I want to be associated. Unfortunately, it is very difficult to assess myself, I never know exactly what people see, looking at me and spending time with me. I thought about the most important thing in my life, and this is another catalyst, but I have still the same answer again – motherhood. I would like to be remembered as a good mother, patient, full of love and empathy, giving freedom. Mother, who taught all life from child how to be better person and have incredible joy with motherhood.

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

I would like to be remembered like as I am in life everyday.

 

 


Opal:

 

Opal Says:

We all hope to be remembered after we are gone, but in reality, memories fade, and stories and names are forgotten. As I worked with this catalyst, I thought of my grandparents, my aunts and uncles, family friends, and I know that the details and edges of memories get fuzzy. So how do I want to be remembered? I haven’t written a book or a song. I don’t have a piece of art hanging in a museum, and I haven’t invented a darn thing, nor found a cure for any illness. But I have always tried to do my best, to find my way in life with a smile and a good word. That is how I hope I will be remembered.

 

 


Carole:

 

Carole Says:

I must admit I haven’t really thought about what I would like to be remembered for, but to me the most important thing is “Family” so I hope that my daughter Sarah and my Son Chaise, will remember me as being a loving and caring Mother to them, as I have tried to give them both the best life possible, and also to my Husband, that I love so very much.

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

I´d like to be remembered as an honorable woman, beloved wife and mother, who was faithful to her ideals.

 

 


Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “How would you like to be remembered?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Here is mine… thank you!

http://megula.blogspot.com/2010/08/remember-me-creative-therapy.html

Comment by Megan




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

