creative Therapy


Catalyst One Hundred and Nine
April 14, 2010, 6:00 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number one hundred and nine:

 

What was the best night of your life so far?

 

We’re thrilled to have Kelly Kilmer as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a quickie self-bio for Kelly:

 

Kelly T.M. Kilmer is a mixed media book artist living in Southern California. A New England native who studied on her own and at Mass College of Art, she believes that there is an artist in each and every one of us. Kelly’s classes are designed specifically to bring that artist out. Her work has appeared in the books “In This House”, “Signatures”, “Transparent Art” and in the magazines: Cloth Paper Scissors, Somerset Studio, Artist’s Sketchbook, The Studio, Dogeared, Artitude and others. Kelly’s art is in the home of several private collectors and has also been sold in various galleries across the U.S. She teaches all over the U.S. and abroad. Her current passions are spending time with her family, reading, collecting (and using) paper, watching foreign and independent films, journaling and frequenting used bookstores. Kelly is always exploring new ways to create and how to better herself as an artist. 

 

If you’ve never seen Kelly’s art, make sure to visit her site and blog and checkout her workshops.

 

 

 

 

Here is Kelly’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Kelly Says:

Out of all of the catalysts, I chose the one that made my heart leap when I read it. “What was the best night of your life so far?” stood out for me. Often my journal pages are full of my heart poured out onto the page using paper, paint and pen. I often use symbols and imagery to visually explain my emotions so you’ll see things like a lot of pink, hearts, hands, etc… on my pages. This page is about my love for my husband. We were penpals for a year and a half. For my 21st birthday, I decided I wanted to spend Christmas with David in California. I flew from Boston to Los Angeles, alone. David picked me up. We spent the afternoon pouring over each other’s journals, exchanging Christmas presents and just hanging out. Eight hours later he took me to Santa Monica. He said he didn’t know in advance that he was going to propose, but he did…and a week later (on New Years Eve), we were married. I often pour my heart out onto my pages, and I definitely did with this one!

 

Journaling Reads:

The best night of my life was the one that started me on the life path I’m on right now. On the 25th of December 1995, after a year and a half of being pen pals, I stepped off a plane from Boston and into your arms in Los Angeles. Eight hours later we were in Santa Monica. You asked if I wanted you to hold my hand. You held tight and didn’t let go. We walked to the pier where you asked if you could kiss me. Yes. You then proposed. Yes.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

Of course I had great romantic nights but, nowadays, as I´m having sleep problems, I just feel that I need a good night sleep and I miss those days where I could have an intire night of sweet dreams.

 

 


Wendela:

 

Wendela Says:

The best night…the nights when my kids were born….they are UNFORGETTABLE, and so very special to me….On the picture you can see my youngest one…May 6 he’s turning 5….I wish I could smell this new born boy again….

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

When Jake and I had just started dating, I got to go home with him to a family Christmas party. It was a last minute decision where I convinced him to surprise his family (we were in college, had final exams, etc.) When we showed up his whole family was so excited and his mom even cried. The whole night she introduced me as the girl who brought her son home. Of course I had no idea at the time that I would end up marrying this boy. But it was the best way to be introduced to the family and one of my favorite nights ever because I got to see everyone so happy.

 

 


Rachel:

Rachel Says:

He pulled the car over that weekend in January 1999 and changed my life- he started it. He asked me to marry him with a ring from my own hand and I said yes. Yes to love, yes to possibility, yes to a new life. That will always be the best night of my life because it was the start of a new and wonderful one.

 

 


Karola:

 

Karola Says:

My best night so far is the night after the birth of my daughter Rose. She was born at 06:05 PM and we spent whole first night in the hospital, but I without sleep for me. I spent the whole night observe a new life, which so changed my own life. I knew that since this night nothing will be the same and definitely it was a night that I remember with every detail and still I have the same strong emotions. Motherhood means to me very much, and the birth of a daughter is the most magical and most difficult to described moment in my life. Of course – I had the nights full of crazyness and joy, which may be called the best, but nothing equal to these hours in the hospital at the night 13.12.2004. So I made a Lo with one of the first pictures of Rose, when she was only half an hour old. Although it was night, symbolically I added a stars and pearls, all the rest is clear and delight as a new life.

 

 


Lia:

 

Lia Says:

Best night of my life: we at the beach on this night, under a full moon and you said ‘I love you’. It’s cliched but it was a dream come true for me. The guy whom I had a crush on for 2 years wanted to be with me, he loved me and I loved him too.

 

 


Anna:

 

Anna Says:

I was thinking for quite a long time and it was hard to choose one “best night” of my life. In the end, I decided to show you the night I will always remember – full of beautiful colors, smells, sounds… night almost like a fairy tale: Marrakech Night Market. We’ve been in there during our holiday in Morocco and I was amazed by the culture, the way of life in this beautiful country. Everyday I opened my eyes wider and wider… and that night was the most beautiful one I can remember.

 

Technique Highlight:

To create this layout I used molding paste combined with different colours of paint and glimmer mists, buttons and doilies – splashes of paint and stitching in yellow colour represent the contrast between the night and the lights of the night market.

 

 


Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What was the best night of your life so far?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great to see Kelly here. And I LOVE the piece that Anna made. Really unique and special!

Comment by Seth

Love everyone’s creations, I made a LO which is on my blog:
http://mylifeinascrapbook.blogspot.com/2010/04/one-night.html

Comment by Lynn




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

