creative Therapy


Catalyst One Hundred and Two
February 24, 2010, 8:00 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number one hundred and two:

 

What was the worst thing you ever did?

 

We’re excited to have Kara Haupt as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a quickie self-bio for Kara:

 

My name is Kara Haupt. I’m 17 years old and a Senior in high school. I live with my family in the Northwest United States. I’m planning on going to art school this coming Fall and pursuing a career as a photographer. I spend most of time with my friends and making lists about all the things I should be doing.

 

If you’ve never seen Kara’s art, make sure to visit her blog. You can also buy some of her awesome journals, workshops and art from etsy shop.

 

 

 

 

Here is Kara’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Kara Says:

Out of the list of catalysts I was provided, this was the hardest for me. I had no idea what to do it on. I didn’t even know what I was going to say when I sat down to create. I kept having ideas running through my head, “can’t say that…”, “no way am i sharing that…”. I came to decide on this. The thing I am most ashamed of… I haven’t ever had the best relationship with God and I decided to confess that here. It felt like a Post Secret and I liked that. I encouraged you to try the same thing too.

 

Technique Highlight:

I would say my style is rather simple. I like to use cheap supplies I have on hand. I’ve been really into using pencil for journaling and I used a thick watercolor paper to create on. I handstiched on a cut-out picture from a Toast catalog and layered everything over scrapbooking patterned papers. I swirled some Gesso in the center and dropped sequins on when it was still wet.

 

 

Thank you so much Kara; we’re so very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Iris:

 

Iris Says:

The worst thing I ever did was when I considered giving up my own personal style of creating pages and projects in favor of what people seemed to accept. Being the subject of criticism had its toll on my creativity but I soon realized that I started scrapbooking because it made me happy, and so I should continue creating pages for reasons that make me happy. Now I am less afraid of trying different things. I may not always be happy with the outcome but at least I have enjoyed the process.

 

The quote on the cover of the booklet reads: “life isnt about finding yourself, it is about creating yourself.

 

 


Lori:

 

Journaling Reads:

The worst thing I have ever done is lie to a friend. She was my best friend and I hurt her and that ended our relationship. It was a harsh lesson to learn. I spent many years after working on my self esteem and changing things that needed changing. I’m overly honest as a result. That lie is still my biggest regret.

 

 


Severine:

Severine Says:

When I was little, good manners were very important and was a big part in my education and angry my parents, I amused myself by not respecting these rules.

 

In French:

Quand j’étais petite, les bonnes manières étaient très importante et avait une grande part dans mon éducation et pour mettre en colère mes parents, je m’amusais à ne plus respecter ces règles.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

I spent quite a lot of time thinking about this one. In the end, besides lying to a good friend years ago (which I already created a catalyst around), I couldn’t think of something big. I’ve done many many small but bad things in my life. I’m sure I’ve hurt people and lied and made them feel bad. But I can honestly say that none of it was maliciously done. I don’t ever try to hurt someone knowingly. I’ve been hurt a lot in my life so I work hard to be a good person and not hurt others.

 

 


Dina:

 

Dina Says:

You know, the worst thing I ever did is buried in a deep place, and I don’t think of it very often. I’ve moved so far from where I was at that point that it seems like a different person did it entirely. And frankly, I like to keep it that way. No sense dwelling on past mistakes, what’s done is done. This art journal page is about that…about how I’ve moved on.

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

I have a remorse hunting me and that is remembering the way I ended my past relationship because my former partner was way too weakened by the loss of his father, job and going through depression. I already knew a long time ago I wanted that relationship to come to an end but, the series of disasters and unhappy moments hindered me from doing it. Finally, I couldn’t take it anymore and when I found myself totally in love with my current husband, I abruptly ended up giving my ex the news.

 

I added everything to this poem:

You were vulnerable

Nude.

I went on…

Screwed you up

Ended our 5-year relationship

And I left you on total desperation

 

What does the death tarot card mean?

 

“Although we only expirience one physical death in this life, we experience thousands of other sorts of deaths during our life. Life, as we know, is a cycle, and death is part of that cycle. Phases of our life end, others begin. Relationships bloom, flourish, and sometimes die. What we belie changes and passes away as we grow spiritually. And we know taht where there is death, there is birth; where there is darkness, there is also light.

 

Our experiences have shown us that regardeless of the light following darkness, the darkness is still hard to live through. (…) growth, including spiritual growth, comes at great cost. To face it, to move through it, and to experience the birth of new life requires courage and strength.” – (A Guide to mystic faerie tarot, Barbara Moore)

 

 


Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What was the worst thing you ever did?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This was a very intense writing prompt. I chose to focus my art piece about my little brother’s passing and how I felt I could have held him closer and tighter to me. I tried not to over think this and went along with the process. My painting/collage is posted in creativetherapy flicker.

Comment by MichelePaula

Here are my takes on the catalyst 101 & 102 and I must say they were both serious therapy for me , thanks for putting these questions up to really get my therapy through my art out , I appreciate it very much . : P

http://scrapbooktherapybymak.blogspot.com/2010/03/creative-therapy-catalyst-101-102.html

Comment by maryannk

here is my take on 102 & 103

Comment by maryannk




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

