creative Therapy


Catalyst One Hundred
February 10, 2010, 8:00 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number one hundred:

 

What’s the highlight of your week?

 

We’re excited to have Teresa McFayden as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a quickie self-bio for Teresa:

 

I am a mixed media working artist. The Founder of Paper Bella Studio, Silver Bella, and original Founder of Foof a La. I am a child of God, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, a friend, an artist, a designer, an entrepreneur, a photography novice, a free thinker, a cat and dog lover, a dream come true maker, a coffee drinker, a consumer, a recycler, a blogger, and a believer. Always a believer.

 

If you’ve never seen Teresa’s art, make sure to visit her blog and her beautiful site.

 

 

 

 

Here is Teresa’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Teresa Says:

One of the biggest highlights of my week comes on Friday mornings via text on my cell phone. My daughter, a freshman in college now, sends me a photo of her art class projects before she turns them in for critiquing. Most of them are so amazing. I look at them throughout the day and all I can do is smile! Having your baby grow up and leave for college sorta snuck on on me this Summer, and I relish every opportunity to connect with her while she’s away. Connecting through art is so fulfilling. It just doesn’t get much better than that.

 

 

Technique Highlight:

I freehand embroidered quote attached to a Chatterbox (I think) book display stand. I love these stands because you can hang any piece of your artwork on them with 2 round binding clips (7 Gypsies). For the past year and a half or so, I’ve been exploring free hand embroidery. It’s so relaxing! I don’t rush any of it and just do a little at a time each day. Usually 20 minutes or so. After I stitch the piece on linen, I add small embellishments and sew a backing to it. This one measures about 11×14.

 

 

Thank you so much Teresa; we’re so very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Kimmi:

 

Kimmi Says:

My most favorite part of the week is a Monday afternoon. The weekend is over. We sleep late, enjoy lunch and the two of us have lots of fun time. We play and laugh and enjoy the house being empty. We stay in our “jommas” all day long and often treat ourselves to Sonic or Starbucks. Its our day for ‘us time’.

 

The weekends around our house are usually pretty hectic. There’s always something going on.. whether its a birthday, holiday, family event or some other sort of occasion, the weekends are usually more stressful and active than enjoyable. Me and Bray enjoy our afternoons the most. Mondays in particular. Its our day to relax and re-cooperate from our weekends.

 

 


Rachel:

 

Rachel Says:

The highlight of my week is one that I am lucky enough to have nearly every day… that calm and peace and love I feel each time Drew walks through the door after a day at work. He works so that I can spend my days raising and caring for our daughter and when he gets home I feel so grateful, so full of love and appreciation and a feeling of being utterly complete. Nothing beats hearing him walk up those steps and put his key in the door knob… I grin from ear to ear like a giddy school girl, so glad that he is finally home. It’s pure joy for me and truly the highlight of my week, every day that it happens.

 

Technique Highlight:

Using cardstock to mat my photo and hinges I created a door on my layout in which to include the journaling behind. Since hearing that door open is such a highlight of my week, I wanted to recreate that on my layout.

 

 


Severine:

Severine Says:

The best moment of my week happens on weekends, because that means more time with my family more time to do things together, more time to enjoy them.

 

In French:

Le meilleur moment de ma semaine c’est quand arrive le week-end, parce que ça veut dire plus de temps avec ma famille, plus de temps pour faire des choses ensemble, plus de temps pour profiter d’eux un maximum.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

My days are all pretty much the same and I love that. I look forward to so many things each day. Time with my family and time alone and time to read and time to create and even time to work. I am very lucky that I get a little bit of each of these every single day. I don’t think there’s anything more I can ask from life.

 

 


Wilna:

 

Wilna Says:

This past week the highLIGHT was Kayla Aimee and my website that saw the light. It’s just a happy place for creative souls and collaborations. I made this page to celebrate this big event in our lifes. Yes, this little light of mine, i will let it shine!

 

Technique Highlight:

I just made little holes around the perimeter of the yellow paint and inserted battery operated lights from the back.

 

 


Lia:

 

Lia Says:

Sundays are probably my favorite day of the week. I do not need to rush anywhere, I can decide if I want to sleep in for a little bit, when and how long I should stay at the gym, family time is plentiful, I have lots of opportunities to destash my space and my mind … and best of all, the day usually ends with a date with bf. I usually dread it as Sunday comes to an end (which means a working week is fast approaching) but when I reflect on how full my Sundays are, I feel so blessed.

 

 


Wendela:

Wendela Says:

I’m a member of gospel choir “Desire, and every Monday we come together for singing! Sometimes we have a concert in a Church. I so love to do that, singing about the Lord, it’s a real highlight of the week!!

 

Technique Highlight:

My background is a paper of an old newspaper… Smeared some gesso on it, and use some watercolor paint, and some crackle paint. The picture from my choir was an article in a newspaper, so I cut it out and sewed it on this paper background. When all is dried, I embellished it with wood and some flowers and fabric.

 

 


Iris:

Iris Says:

I always look forward to my weekend trips to the street market near our house where I get to find vintage goods at really low prices. This project makes use of an old glass jar that I bought during one of my weekend trips. I covered it with alcohol inks. I also stamped and embossed on it. The flower is from Prima and I dressed it up with some twigs and beads which I also bought in the market.

 

 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s the highlight of your week?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi everyone! here is my catalyst 100 on my blog , I just would like to say this is the second catalyst I have done and Im really having alot of fun , thank you so much for the , ” Creative Therapy ”

xoxo,
Maryann k. of , ” Da Therapy ”

My blog: http://scrapbooktherapybymak.blogspot.com/

Comment by mary ann k.




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

