creative Therapy


Catalyst Ninety-Eight
January 27, 2010, 8:00 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number ninety-eight:

 

What does your future hold?

 

We’re excited to have Eileen Grobeck as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a quickie self-bio for Eileen:

 

Eileen was born and raised on Long Island, NY and lives there still. Her favorite quote is one by Marcel Proust that says, “The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.” She is primarily a self-taught mixed media/altered art artist, though she also dabbles in assemblage, art dolls, jewelry making and digital art and has been published in “Art Circus” and “The Faerie Zine, Vol 1 and Vol 2”, both by Lisa Kettel, and also in several ATC exhibitions (the most recent one was in France). She has been interviewed by Artella Words and Art.com, Circle Press.com, ACEO To Go.com and DIY City Magazine.com.

 

If you’ve never seen Eileen’s art, make sure to visit her Flickr account and her etsy shop and her beautiful blog.

 

 

 

 

Here is Eileen’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Eileen Says:

Before I begin I would like to say thank you, Karen, for inviting me to be a guest artist for Creative Therapy! I had not known of this blog before your invite but now, after spending a bit of time reading and absorbing, I find it to be an awesome source of inspiration. It’s such a privilege to gain a little insight into the hearts and minds of other kindred souls, many of whom I am familiar with and some of whom I am not, but all of whom I greatly admire.

 

So, what does my future hold? Now, this is a question that I have been asking myself an awful lot lately. Right now I’m standing at a major crossroads in my life – I have just retired (woot! happy dance!!!) and I am now facing the challenge and excitement of reinventing my life. Of course, this new life must center around a few important things – art, poetry and photography. These are my three creative loves, and they sustain and motivate me in ways I cannot explain. This new life must also have some new things – even though I have yet to find these new things. I don’t know exactly how or when they will manifest, but I believe that they will come into my life without having to search for them. They will be serendipitous, and they will have innocent starts but will take on a momentum that will shape and direct this new journey I am most anxious to begin. This is what I like to believe.

 

Of course, none of us knows what the future has in store for us. All we can do is lay the foundation for a clear path towards the direction in which we wish to travel, and this is what I will be focused on doing. There is an old Chinese proverb that says, “Keep a green bough in your heart and the singing bird will come,” and this will become my new mantra for creating a life that in the past I have only dreamed of. Now that I have the gift of time I plan to pursue my three loves with renewed fervor. I would love to see myself collaborating on new projects with my peers, and see more of my artwork and poetry published. I plan on attending more workshop retreats to continue learning new skills as well as stretch and perfect the ones I already have. I will also be developing a new artistic “voice” that incorporates my poetry and photography into my artwork. From time to time I have thought about forming an art center or collective and teaching, or maybe even publishing a book. And of course, and very importantly, I am looking forward to making lots of new art friends as well as nurturing those I have already made.

 

The artwork I have created for this weeks prompt is in many ways a self-portrait. It is a mixed media collage that centers around the theme of “journey,” because that is how I see my future. I have incorporated a lot of symbology that relates to my present situation that may not be apparent – the crowned bird for freedom (retirement), a checkered road that leads into the future; flowers growing along the road (each with an inspirational single word prompt as a guide); inspirational thoughts around the border of the artwork; a dragonfly for hope, change and love; a camera lens over her eyes to clarify her vision; question marks and blank puzzle pieces for the unknown; a green bough in her heart for hope; her joy in embracing the call to new things (the nest filled with unhatched eggs in her arms); colors rich and vibrant for her passion and excitement.

 

Technique Highlight:

I started with a well gessoed 12×18 140 lb cold press watercolor paper and created a multi-layered background using ephemera, watercolors, inks and acrylics, then added more layers of paint, gesso and ephemera until I was happy with how it looked. Then I added the girl and other key elements through collage, and did a small bit of journaling around the girl, the dragonfly and the sun. I purposely left parts of the canvas looking unfinished and empty because I don’t believe a work is ever truly “finished” and as I’ve said, none of us knows what our futures hold. The most we can do is hope and dream, and build clear paths as we journey towards our sought after goals.

 

 

Thank you so much Eileen; we’re so very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. We’re delighted to welcome Dina Wakely as one of our new team members this week!

 

Dina:

 

Dina Says:

My art journaling page reflects my hopes for the future….I wrote, “I hope the future holds love and art and adventure and joy…but I know the future will be what I make of it…I will make it great.” I know that good and bad things happen in life, things that we don’t have any control over. But I also know I do have control over how I react, over how I triumph. Bring it on! :)

 

 


Amy:

Amy Says:

What does the future hold? I don’t know. As I look ahead there is much uncertainty and much unknown. And yet in this drawing, based on a photo from a series my son took for me, I see layers of meaning and possibility. I see hope. I see nurturing and being nurtured. I see gentle.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

When I thought of this catalyst the word that kept coming back to me over and over again was bliss. I am not sure why. But when I think of my life, the overwhelming sensation is bliss and gratitude. So at this point, while I know nothing about my future, all I feel is that it holds more bliss. May that be true.

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

My future is my family and what I see in their eyes.

 

In French:

Mon avenir tiens à ma famille et à ce que je vois dans leurs yeux.

 

 


Christine:

 

Chirstine Says:

As a Christian, I believe that the one desire that is expressed in Psalm 27:4 will be fulfilled in my future. I hang on to the hope that someday I will be able to be in the presence of God for the rest of my days, and that I will sing praises to Him forever.

 

Technique Highlight:

I used Photoshop to create the text of this verse and varied the opacity of different words (if you look closely, you can see some words in the script font that are faint next to the main body of the verse). The verse was printed on vellum and quickly embossed with clear embossing powder. The title and verse reference were also printed on vellum and embossed then hand cut. The title was cut closely to the letters and the verse reference was cut to fit inside of the nameplate.

 

 


Wilna:

Wilna Says:

This page is a prayer for my girl that’s turning 13 this year. I know it’s going to be a year full of changes for her, but i know we don’t’ have to fear a thing! My expectation is for good things!

 

 

 

Journaling Reads:

Dear Tia… This is your year! This year you will enter into your teenage years which will be a wonderful time for you. Expect only the best. Expect to start knowing yourself like never before. Expect to change! It;s OK! But most of all, expect to enter into a new and wonderful time with your Father. For after all, you belong to Him. My prayer is simple: Eph 1 1:3 Let’s celebrate God! Every spiritual blessing in heavenly places has found its definition in the fact that we are in Christ. 1:4 This association goes back to before the fall of the world, His love knew that He would present us again face to face before Him, identified in Christ in blameless innocence. 1:5 He is the architect of our design; His heart dream realized our coming of age in Christ. (See Gal.4:1-6 “…and to seal our sonship the spirit of His son echoes Abba Father in our hearts.”) 1:6 His grace-plan is to be celebrated: He greatly endeared us and highly favoured us in Christ; His love for His Son is His love for us. 1:7 Since we are (fully represented) in Him, His blood is the ransom that secures our redemption. His forgiving us our sins measures the wealth of His grace. 1:8 This grace shown towards us communicates a wisdom and discernment of our worth that completely surpasses any definition. 1:9 The secret is out! His cherished love-dream now unfolds in front of our very eyes. So dear girl… I know this year holds only good things for you. Love you very much! Wilna.


Wendela:

Wendela Says:

I made a calendar for this catalyst..I hope in the future never to forget the birthdays of my family..so I made this one, a birthday calendar!!

 

 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What does your future hold?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Eileen’s sample piece nearly knocked the breath out of me; it is so gorgeously vivid and fun. It’s as if all the stars are lined up just right because the piece I created this week (without knowing your catalyst) is all about the future: something I wanted you all over here at Creative Therapy to know about because you’ve provided me with so much inspiration this past year. So come on over to my blog and check it out!

Comment by Alberta

It’s wonderful and so interesting to see everyone’s artistic impression of the catalyst! Gotta say it again – this site is something special!!

Comment by cookala

[...] January 28, 2010 by cookala as a guest artist at http://www.CreativeTherapy.com .  I have the honor of being the guest artist for catalyst no. 98 – What does your future hold?  You can read the full article here  http://creativetherapy.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/catalyst-ninety-eight/  [...]

Pingback by I’ve Been Featured!!! « Cheesecloth Moon

This is my first prompt with this group…it is on my blog…I welcome comments….
http://srhosken.blogspot.com/2010/01/what-does-my-future-hold.html

Comment by susan

[...] What Does Your Future Hold? [...]

Pingback by Art Therapy and Creative Healing Projects 7 « Kate1975's Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

