creative Therapy


Catalyst Ninety-Three
December 20, 2009, 9:29 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number ninety-three:

 

What’s something you really look forward to? (It can be something you look forward to every day, week or just one thing that you’re really looking forward to.)

 

We’re thrilled to have Stacy Julian as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

The words I want write about Stacy could fill a book. I first heard about Stacy when I stumbled onto one of her books: The Big Picture. When I read the book, I felt like she was speaking directly to me. I kept nodding throughout the whole book and when she mentioned Big Picture Scrapbooking at the end of the book, I stopped reading and went right to the site to check it out. This was exactly the kind of teaching I believed in. I had a strong urge to be a part of it but I figured there was no way.

 

Stacy has been a revolutionary from the beginning. She started the beloved (but now gone) Simple Scrapbooking magazine and published multiple wildly inspiring books. My two favorites are the aforementioned The Big Picture and Photo Freedom. She’s an incredible speaker and if you ever get a chance to hear her speak, you must not miss it. She also teaches the very popular (and life altering) “A Library of Memories” class at Big Picture Scrapbooking.

 

When I finally got the nerve to send a proposal to teach for Big Picture Scrapbooking, I had a long conversation with Stacy and I got to see first hand how amazing she is. How life just pours out of her and you can’t help but get wrapped in her energy. She is one of the most inspiring, funny, sweet, thoughtful, and kind people I know. I am honored and delighted to have her here with us.

 

If you want to see Stacy’s amazing personality first-hand, make sure to visit her site and sign up for one of her classes at Big Picture Scrapbooking.

 

 

 

 

Here is Stacy’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Stacy Says:

I tossed around a few ideas for responses to this catalyst — the obvious ones, like Christmas and seasonal experiences, like a long jog with warm sunshine on my back, but I kept coming back to the perpetual longing inside of me to run away from all technology.

 

I work with my partner Kayce to run a wonderful online business and community at Big Picture Scrapbooking and I have my own website where I write 3 blogs. I absolutely LOVE what I do and I’m intrigued with the whole online connection thing. I read all kinds of blogs, subscribe to podcasts and belong to other communities. I love using Twitter and I spent a good deal of time just exploring the world wide web of information and inspiration. I work from home, which means I have ‘flexible’ hours — this really means I can work 24/7. When I do manage to really ‘get away’ I realize that there are plenty of people who are not the least caught up in the excitement and pressure of online happenings. I’m at a place in my life when my energy and drive is changing and so I’m in the process of back pedaling a bit so that I can build more unplug time into my daily life. I look forward to Saturdays, when I begin the unplugging, Sunday where I’m totally disconnected and Monday morning when I allow myself to ‘power up’ slowly.

 

I wonder a lot about my kids and how they will live with and access technology. I’ve read that my generation will be the last to distinguish between on and off–that technology and the idea of “connection” will be so ubiquitous in the near future that my grandchildren won’t sense a need to unplug from technology at all. We are in the midst of a fascinating transition that is forever changing the way people interact and work and live. For now, I like that I want and need to shut down. I look forward to unplugging.

 

Technique Highlight:

As for my “art” and I use that term very loosely, I’m not much of a technique girl at all. I frequently question my ability to inspire others with my very simple scrapbook pages, but I have loved scrapbooking for more than 10 years and it still meets my needs as a form of personal expression. I see and admire the more involved art of others, but as long as I have a story to tell–and I generally do, I am happy to lay down a big blank canvas (ie cardstock) and just follow my bliss with basic, everyday paper-crafting products.

 

For this page, I knew I wanted colorful, contrasting letters as my focus. I knew I would need two or three supporting images. I love pages that feel well designed and intentionally imperfect all at the same time. I strive for a look that is just a little ‘off’ because then the pressure to do something “just right” goes away. Little touches of Stickles paint is about as “techniquey” as I get. I always try to incorporate the principle of repetition — or incorporating different elements that feel similar to other elements. I love the contrast of black and white and use it so often. Finally, I love to leave a space for journaling and then go back at the very end and write whatever comes to my heart — after engaging in the process of traditional paper and paste creating, I generally have some thoughts in me that seem to almost pour out.

 

I appreciate all that Karen is doing with this Creative Therapy movement and I’m honored to participate.

 

 

Thank you so much Stacy; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Karen:

Karen Says:

I look forward to December all year long. Not just Christmas, which I do love, but the whole month. The lights, the festivities, the joy, the generosity, the jolly spirit – they all make me really happy. Thanks to Ali Edwards and Shimelle Laine, I’ve been doing a December-long minibook for three years in a row and it is my favorite project each year. I love spending more time with my family. Winding down. Snuggling indoors and doing craft projects, watching movies, baking, and just being together. It is, by far, my favorite time of the year.

 

 


Kimmi:

Journaling Reads:

Every morning, I wake up, looking forward to all of the little, crazy, silly, goofy and funny things that you do.

 

 


Anita:

Journaling Reads:

I look forward to seeing your sweet little face. Each and everytime. You always make my day a little brighter. I love watching you grow and learn. You have a special places in grandma’s heart.

 


Wendela:

Wendela Says:

I’m really looking forward for Christmas, happy together with my family! Love that time! This time I made Christmas atc’s with little angels..”angels we have heard on high….”

 

 


Amy:

 

Amy Says:

Something I really look forward to each year is holiday lights. I
especially love them in my office where I spend a good bit of time working. They are a hallmark of the season for me, a marker of things innocent and calm and magical, and something I really enjoy.

 

 


Katie:

 

Katie Says:

I really look forward to Christmas Eve. It’s the only holiday of the year where when evening hits, you really are DONE. That’s it. If it didn’t get done yet, it’s not getting done and it must not have been important anyway. The stores are closed down, school is out, the post office is closed and there is no more that you can do to prepare. It’s a magical night and an evening of family. It’s twinkling Christmas lights and warm drinks. Laughter and music. A night that I look forward to all year. It’s a night that I believe angels are truly among us. I believe that all whom have been lost are with us that night, enjoying Christmas with us. Loving us and watching us. I feel it. I know it. It makes me happy and the world is complete again for a night.

 

 


Rachel:

 

Rachel Says:

A little over a year ago my husband, daughter and I realized that we were just missing each other. Life had gotten crazy and busy and we needed to make the time to connect with each other and have quality time every single week. We came up with the idea of a family night and picked every Wednesday to officially be our family night. We told our family and friends and set it in stone. There were no rules other than we spend it together doing things as a family. Not each one of us in a different room doing their own thing, we are together. We watch movies, go on drives, play games, eat out at our favorite restaurants and more. And it’s worked… we never lose sight of eachother and we know that have our time together that nothing interrupts. I look forward to it every week.

 

Journaling Reads:

dinner out, dinner in… the movies… a family drive. movie or game night at home… doesn’t matter what we’re doing on a Wednesday night as long as we are doing it together. it’s my favorite part of the week… family night.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s something you really look forward to? (It can be something you look forward to every day, week or just one thing that you’re really looking forward to.)” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Awesome inspiration :)

Comment by Katie Scott

[...] created this altered red tin for this week’s Creative Therapy project.  It is of course, another Goodwill find.  I love [...]

Pingback by ~We Believe~ in Angels……and Santa of Course. » Katie Bee Creative

Oh, what a perfect catalyst! I can hardly wait to give this painting to my sister-in-law for Christmas. I can only show you glimpses of it because she reads my blog, but I can tell you about it because I don’t think she knows about this site. It’a 24″ X 30″ portrait of her precious West Highland Terrier, Boo, and Boo’s unfortunate encounter with a skunk this past summer, and it’s called “Once in a Boo Moon.” I’ll post a photo of the entire painting on Christmas Day if you want to come back and see it.

Thank you for all you’ve done to maintain this blog; you’ve been a major source of inpiration to me this year and helped me develop so much as an artist. I’m wishing all of you at Creative Therapy a joyous and peaceful holiday season.

Love,
Alberta

Comment by Alberta

I have blogged my response to this prompt at http://www.eileenweigand.blogspot.com.
Please take a peek if you are interested. Happy Holidays to you all!! ((hugs))

Comment by Eileen

I am really looking forward to next year. This year has been awful for us and some of our friends as well……we need some closure, this was real therapy!!! Thanks for this catalyst, I needed it!!!!!

Comment by elvira

Oh, and it’s on my blog…. http://emddam.blogspot.com

Comment by elvira

[...] Looking Forward [...]

Pingback by Art Therapy and Creative Healing Projects 7 « Kate1975's Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

