creative Therapy


Catalyst Ninety-One
December 6, 2009, 8:16 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number ninety-one:

 

Create art around someone you wish you got along better with.

 

We’re overjoyed to have Davinie Fiero as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Davinie’s clean style with subtle but extraordinary details really speaks to me. She can create the cute and the elegant equally well. She’s on the teams of both Studio Calico and Pink Paislee and will be on the 2010 Design Team for Scrapbook and Cards Today. She’s also been published in every major scrapbooking magazine.

 

Here’s a short little bio for Davinie: Davinie is married to her firefighter hubby and mommy to two sweet girls. She works part-time from home in the health insurance industry, and has been scrapbooking for 5 years. She gets most of her creating done at night after the kids go to bed.

 

If you haven’t seen Davinie’s art, make sure to visit her blog.

 

 

 

 

Here is Davinie’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Davinie Says:

I chose this catalyst wondering if I should create something around my relationship with my mother, then with my sisters, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that a key relationship I have been missing in my life is a better relationship with myself. How can I work to nurture relationships with other important people in my life if I don’t have a great relationship with myself?

 

I became a mom at the age of 28 and became a mom again just after my 30th birthday. I’m now 33 and have been busy nurturing and caring for my children, giving them 100% of myself because that’s what they need. But now as they are getting older and more independent, and the youngest is finally in preschool, I look and the mirror and wonder who IS this person? I’m 33 and I’ve missed it all. What do I love? What do I need? What makes me happy? Of course my life is blessed with the love of my children, but I also need to bless myself and my life with a love for me. I can’t give my kids 100% of me anymore unless I take care of myself too.

 

This catalyst has helped me explore and think about taking care of me. You can only give of youself for so long before you have nothing left. I have to make sure I don’t get to that point.

 

 

Thank you so much Davinie; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Karen:

Karen Says:

I am not always very good to myself. I don’t appreciate all that I have and I might even go as far to say that there are periods where I really dislike myself. I know that if I were someone else, I’d be giving myself the benefit of the doubt. Yet, I cut myself so little slack. I criticize and judge myself so harshly. So I made this art to remind myself that I need to get along better with myself. Love all of me.

 

 


Opal:

Opal Says:

Someone I wished I got along better with is my dad. The numbers represent all the minutes, days, months, and years we never got along. The torn heart on the bottom right was never mended…

 

 


Lia:

Lia Says:

I wish I got along better with myself. I’m always beating myself up, pointing out my faults, my disappointments with myself and always wishing I could be like someone else I admire. More often than not, I’m unable to appreciate the person I am, my talents, my achievements and my life – no matter how much people praise them. I wish I could be happy and have peace with myself. To accept all that I am and to celebrate this person, Lia. To be kinder to her. To love her for her.

 

 


Wendela:

Wendela Says:

My layout is called : “open your heart…” You can see my darling son Aaron on it, My wish for him is, that he tells me everything what happens on school, it’s much better for him.. he is so busy in his head with all though things…he is not good in calculating, he doesn’t have many friends..My heart is screaming when I see that…Open your heart, honey and tell me everything!!

 

Technique Highlight:

I painted with silver paint a wood grain on the picture…so nice to do!! After that I added some rub ons on it.

 

 


Iris:

 

Iris Says:

I wish I had a better relationship with my running shoes. After giving birth, I just never had the strength to run as much as I did before. I bought for myself a pair of new running shoes and three months later it still looks brand new. Ugh. So I made this log book so I can record the time and distance of my daily (hopefully) runs. I hope this will motivate me to start running regularly again.

 

Technique Highlight:

Use a journal pad or notebook that you have not been using and turn it into a notebook. I added more detail to the canvas letters by first applying two colors of stickles, and then painting over some areas with crackle paint.

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

The person i got along better with it’s me … We change with time and years, we change physically and mentally as, and it’s fun to see her change and get to know a little more each day.

 

In French:

La personne que j’aimerais mieux connaître c’est moi, nous changeons avec le temps et les années, on change physiquement et mentallement aussi, et c’est amusant de voir ses changements et ses évolutions tous les jours.

 

 


Rachel:

 

Journaling Reads:

There are so many things that I wish were different… about you. About How I react to you and how Drew reacts to you. I carry so much resentment in me that it honestly feels like it will never end.

 

I resent that you bullied and tried to manipulate a 17 year old girl against your own son just so that you would still have power over him.

 

I resent that on what was to be the happiest of days, you threatened to not go to your own sons wedding.

 

I resent that every single photo of you on the happiest day of our lives shows your obvious disproval and disgust over why you were there.

 

I resent that you abuse and manipulate your relationship with your son… physically and emotionally in the past and still emotionally in the present.

 

I resent your selfishness and unwillingness to even think of placing anyone’s needs or wants on even the same level of priority as your own.

 

I resent that you view me as competition for your son’s attention and constantly place him in a situation where he feels he has to choose between us.

 

I resent that your selfishness extends to our daughter and that you are only willing to help if it somehow serves or rewards you.

 

I resent that everything with you is barter or a bargain. You never give freely of yourself or your time.

 

I resent that the few times I tried to turn to you for help or advice, crying my heart out to you, all you could say was “Don’t cry. Stop crying.”

 

I resent that you never hold anyone accountable for their wrong doings due to any # of excuses you believe them to suffer from, with the exception of us.

 

I resent that you don’t respect me, your son, our choices or the way in which we live our lives.

 

I resent your negativity in every aspect of your life down to the simplest inquiries of how you are doing.

 

Mostly, I resent the fact that I didn’t get a 2nd mother in you when I married your son and I have always needed one. I’ve always needed, wanted and hoped for family. For a 2nd mother to turn to, to be my mother, my friend, someone to talk to and share my life with. I dreamed that I would gain a new family when I got married, but you have failed my hopes at every given opportunity and I resent that.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “Create art around someone you wish you got along better with.” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work so we can share in your creative therapy, too. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Such a beautiful selection of art and well worded emotions.
I can identify with so many.
Thanks to all of you.

Comment by Stefanie

Great work by all, really emotive words too. I created a LO for this catalyst which is on my blog here:
http://mylifeinascrapbook.blogspot.com/2009/12/couple-of-los-to-share.html

Comment by Lynn

I’m coming to this post a bit behind – I always seem to run behind in December! Had to comment because this is SOOO interesting to me! I have a terrible relationship with a co-worker so (briefly) pondered art-ing about that, but then realized I don’t want to have a better relationship with him, haha. However, I am going to really put some thought into this & work on it. Thanks so much for coming up with something SO interesting!!!

Comment by Dawn




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

