creative Therapy


Catalyst Eighty-Five
October 25, 2009, 8:07 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number eighty-five:

 

What’s the most daring or scariest thing you’ve ever done?

 

We’re so excited to have Julie Prichard as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Here’s a short little bio for Julie: Julie Prichard lives in San Diego with her husband and three year old daughter. She can be found painting in her studio or on the streets of San Diego with her camera.

 

If you haven’t seen Julie’s art, make sure to visit her blog here she also has information about the online workshops she teaches.

 

 

 

 

Here is Julie’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

 

Julie Says:

I am the type of person where fears frequently take hold of my thinking. There are several fears that can ground me at any given moment and I have carved them into wood for this week¹s catalyst. Always in deliberation, it is tough for me to address one, single, scary moment. It didn’t take long to fill up this panel.

 

Technique Highlight:

I use only a few colors of paint for most of my artwork. This piece was created using two reds, black and titan buff paint. Once painted, I added beeswax to the piece and then used a wood-burning tool to carve the lettering. To darken up the wood when I was finished, I used a black glaze buffed into the piece.

 

 

Thank you so much Julie; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Opal:

Opal Says:

I am not one who takes dares…or ventures beyond her comfort level. Thinking about this prompt took me back to my college days. From my first look through the class schedule handbook, I knew that public speaking was something that I would have to face…sooner or later. Being painfully shy in those days, the thought of getting up in front of a class and speaking just about sent me running for the hills…I put it off…and pushed it back…and overlooked it….until 20 years later when i finally finished my undergraduate degree. I will never forget the meeting with my counselor…and the realization that I had this one class..a freshman level class…to take before I could graduate. I went to that first class of Speech 101 with clammy palms and a pounding heart. The day came when I stood up in front of that class….again with clammy palms and a pounding heart. I remember taking a deep breath…and praying that I wouldn’t forget what I had practiced…and I started talking…tentatively at first…and then, 8 minutes later. I had found the magic. I love the moment when the audience quiets, the hushing and settling is tangible as a breath is taken…and the words become.

 

This piece is done in layers of fabric. The circles within the squares shows the essence of an audience…one you see with no defined details…the stage in front showcases the bigger than life microphone. hand and machine quilted.

 

 


Larissa:

Larissa Says:

When I was about 12 years old, I took the blame for something I hadn’t done without knowing the consequences. I remember being in the classroom at school when one of my classmates threw a piece of chalk at the teacher. She got furious, immediately interrupted the class, and said she wouldn’t continue the class unless the guilty one admitted or someone picked the chalk up from the floor. After a long period of silence without anyone declaring themselves guilty, I stood up and picked the piece of chalk up from the floor. I can still feel the terror I felt back then when I executed such gesture. I don´t know why I did this, I just couldn´t stand being there on that situation… I just´couldn´t stand such lack of respect for our theacher.. she was so upset, however, she didn’t punish me; she actually mentioned knowing it wasn’t me who threw the piece of chalk and lectured once again about the cowardice committed. The class, however, moved on…
My work for this catalyst plays with the idea of feeling fear, foolishness and horror… I worked with an amazing photo by R. Cadloff.

 

 


Wendela:

Wendela Says:

The most daring and scariest thing I ever did is ….. FLY like a bird….in an airplaine….!!!

 

Technique Highlight:

The beautiful bird is form a piece of Websters Pages patterned paper, The ribbons and laces, found this stuff on a fleamarke, and the wood, found it in the forest during a walk with my kids.

 

 


Karen:

Journaling Reads:

“Let’s just do it!” I said. We were sitting in Bar 89. Facing each other. Talking about how much we hated our jobs how sick we were of New York. How we wanted something different. “Let’s just quit and move!” I encouraged him. (and myself) I wanted to know that we still had the guts. That we owned our life, not them.

 

It took us another year but we finally did it. Quit the jobs. Packed the apartment. Bought a car. And moved 3,000 miles. To a city we’ve never seen before.
A city where we knew no one. Had no jobs.

 

We did it. We got jobs. Found a home. Started a life.

 

And, most importantly, proved we can do it.

 

We just did it.

 

 


Rachel:

 

Journaling Reads:

I fell in love with the boy… and he change my life and mended my broken heart. I had lost my faith in love, in men, in hope at the age of 14. I saw how fragile and frail that “love” could be and vowed to never, ever open myself to that. I was cold and I was cynical and I was afraid. I carried my fear and anger around me like armor to keep me safe. And then I met Drew, the boy from the music store and my fear and coldness melted away. It was scary. It was daring and bold, but it was my miracle. The cure to my broken heart… and I lept… closed my eyes, smiled and hoped that I would not fail and he caught me and has never let go.

 

Technique Highlight:

I created the flap that lifts up to house my journaling by tracing a portion of a shaped piece of paper onto a patterned paper and cutting it out. I used trim and brads to create hinges for it.

 

I also created a handmade flower out of sewing patterns by cutting a strip approximately 10″x3″ and folding it in half creating a piece that is 10″x1.5″. Using a needle and thread I used a running stitch and stitched the open edges and gathered, forming the strip into a circle. Tie off the loose thread and you have a custom flower. I used an inchie for the center, but you could use any embellishments that you may have lying around.

 

 


Dedra:

 

Dedra Says:

My ex-husband was very emotionally abusive. Shelby was just an infant and he would tell me on a daily basis how horrible I was as a mother and if I left I would not be able to survive.

 

I was 22 years old after hearing this everyday along with other things he said for some reason I started to believe him.

 

Shelby was 2 and I had decided that I COULD and WOULD make it without him. I wanted Shelby to see and experience a healthy, happy life.

 

I moved Shelby and I out into our own apartment while he was at work. It was the most nerve racking, nail biting experience. Knowing that he could show up at anytime.

 

I received a phone call later that evening, it was not nice to say the least. Hey! I left him the couch, TV and some pans I think. It was the most daring/scariest thing I had ever done, but it was THE BEST thing for Shelby and I. Where we are now seems light years away from that situation.

 

Journaling Reads:

Me and you, together on our own for awhile. being confident as a single mother. Believing in myself and not what I had been told. Spreading my wings and moving on.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s the most daring or scariest thing you’ve ever done?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow! Dedra, beautiful. Very powerful and poignant.

And Karen – wow to you too!!! very moving ( no pun intented!! smile).

All of them are turly amazing.. I so love Creative Therapy.

I hope to take part in this one… I always mean to and then something comes up… oy.

hugs,
Francesca

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

I’m posting this layout even though it was done a while ago…but it just fits this category. You can see the fear in my face! I zip lined for the first time back in 2007 and my friend took the picture of me not knowing if I’d be upset with her or not. It’s a great pic! I’ve learned a lot since then but this pic says it all!

http://www.scrapinstyletv.com/portfolio/view_layout.php?layout_id=71315

Comment by Peggy

wow! just WOW!!! you are all such amazing creators!!!!! amazing!!!! i just found this blog a week or so ago & I am SO SO glad that I did!!! such an inspiring place! such beautiful things you all make!! I hope to participate in some of your challenges, they are wonderful & very thot provoking — very unique & different from other challenge blogs out there! love it!! really great! i cant wait to get started!! thanks so much for the inspiration!!!

Comment by Bethany

This is an awesome theme! All the artwork is beautiful, and I’ve fallen in love with Wendela’s bird hanging! And since I’m not really fond of flying, I can relate to its meaning, too.

Mine is HERE

Comment by Barbara Hagerty

This was very therapeutic for me. Took me all day to get it just right…

Comment by Caity O'Connor

[...] over at Creative Therapy blog, this week’s catalyst is “What’s the most daring or scariest thing you’ve [...]

Pingback by Creative Therapy: Catalyst 85 | Caity Makes ...

wow Caity! hugs to you.. and beautiful degital work done on your birdcage. stay strong.

Francesca

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

[...] Your Bravery [...]

Pingback by Art Therapy and Creative Healing Projects 7 « Kate1975's Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

