creative Therapy


Catalyst Seventy-One
July 19, 2009, 6:14 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number seventy-one:

 

If I had one day to do over and over, what would I want to do with it?

 

We’re so excited to have Gigi Kennedy as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I love Gigi’s style and have wanted to have her as a guest here for so many months. I am so glad she’s finally here. I find her layouts to be simple with stunning and unusual details which, if you ask me, is the best combination. I don’t know Gigi personally but somehow I’ve always thought she must be one of those really nice, happy people. It’s just a feeling I’ve always had.

 

Gigi’s been published in BHG Scrapbooks Etc, CARDS, and Simple Scrapbooks Magazine and in the book “The Scrapbooker’s Creativity Kit”. She’s also in the design teams for OneLittleWord, Tarisota and Kenner Road.

 

It is such a pleasure to have Gigi here and if you haven’t seen her amazing art, make sure to check out her beautiful blog.

 

 

 

 

Here is Gigi’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Gigi Says:

For my project i did a journal page @ a day during our beach vacation last year. But when thinking about what to create for this catalyst, I thought of numerous other days that I would like to go back & live again because of their effect on me & my outlook…some hold very fond memories & others hold valuable lessons learned…others, although they were difficult to go through, showed me what truly is important in my life and where my focus needs to be. I want to have a place for all of this. So spurred on by this inspiration, I altered an old book cover (still thinking of the best way to bind this all together) so that I start a “Days” journal filled with these sort of art journal pages. I’m really looking forward to continuing this artistic & reflective journey.

 

Technique Highlight:

 

As many artists these days, I really love using “found” items and re purposing them for my creative adventures. Often, only a little bit of adjustment is needed so that it will suit your project. This project has a lot of “recycled” items: the cover of an old book, the book pages, scraps of fabric leftover from other projects, the packaging from some buttons, and leftover scraps of patterned paper.

 

For the base of the project, I really wanted to use old book pages because I’ve got plenty of them around, I love the texture & color & I love the “pattern” the text creates on the page. The only problem was, for my “journaling pages” the text + my handwritten journaling would be pretty confusing. So in order to provide a better journaling spot, I painted my text page with gesso (I watered it down just a bit so it wouldn’t be so opaque) and then when dry, added some watered down turquoise acrylic paint. This subdued the text, but it is still just a bit visible so i could utilize it to keep my handwritten words straight.

 

 

Thank you so much Gigi; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Please help me welcome a new team member, Michelle, this week. I’ve wanted to have a photographer here since I first started the site, so I am delighted to have her with us.

 

Michelle:

 

Michelle Says:

That was a harder question to answer than I thought it would be. I thought of many things, but the main thing I kept coming back to is that I would want to be better at living in the present and getting as much joy out of each day as I could. I am NOT good at this. Instead of enjoying my kids and being the mom I want to be, I just go from task to task looking at my never ending to-do list. I don’t sit and soak then in as I should, instead I worry about the dirty laundry, dishes, bills and toys all over the floor. What’s the point though, really?! ALL of those things are going to be there tomorrow and my kids are only going to be little once. While this picture of my daughter Zoe, is not “technically perfect”, it captures a moment in time where I was present and in the moment with her. As we played and talked about how she could use some magic to fly with her wings, I was really there with her and not observing on the sidelines doing a million other things..I was present.

 

 


Anita:

Anita Says:

I just recently became a grandma. My daughter gave birth to a 6 lb 10 oz little girl on June 22nd. I had the opportunity to be in the delivery room with her and boy was it amazing. I’ve always been the one having babies, since I do have 5, so it was such an amazing experience to be there when my granddaughter was born. I wouldn’t have missed it for the world. I would love to be able to experience that day over and over!!

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

On this day that I’d like to live again and again, I wake up before everyone and enjoy a warm drink and some solitude. Then, slowly, my household wakes up and we have a delicious breakfast as a family. Then, we take a car trip to the beach or forest. We take photos, we have a picnic, and we play together and laugh. We drive back home and we take quiet time as we read and relax. For dinner, we cook together and eat something delicious and healthy. Then we snuggle up and read or watch TV together. After some kisses and bedtime words, the kids go to bed and we have some us time just my husband and I. That’s about it. Maybe it’s ordinary to you, but I can live this simple day over and over again and always be so so happy.

 

Why is this in a binder?

 

 


Amy:

 

Amy Says:

When I thought about what I would want in a day that would repeat over and over, many isolated moments came to mind. As I started sketching the panels for this piece, I tried to focus on small things that matter to me. I saw the day take shape. I also saw the many ways in which this “day” is different than the days I have – mostly in its simplicity. I think I am in a phase of wishing to simplify even if it isn’t possible right now. Similar to the ways in which I often find myself clarifying as I “make a wish,” for fear I’ll have phrased it just a bit wrongly and find myself stuck with something I’d never want, as I drew these 10 “panels,” I worried that I’d left out something that really should be here. “What about this or that?” In the end, however, the components of this day are modular enough… symbolic enough… and go together to paint a picture of a day defined by simplicity. An uncluttered day. A day grounded in the natural and in the creative. There is morning light. There is a beautiful bowl full of something wonderful (be it cream of wheat with brown sugar or yogurt and strawberries with the perfect amount of rock sugar). There is time to journal or sketch and time to record and reflect. There is a stack of fabric waiting and projects to work on. There is a walk on a perfect beach. There is time to sit and watch (or draw) birds. There is an appreciation of palette and color. There is time in a great chair and a book to read. There is time for a game and for a love of words. There is time at the end of the day with a cup of tea. There is time to watch the sunset and to walk, undulating footsteps left in the sand. There is a day worth striving for… and a day worth repeating.

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

To be honest, I wouldn´t do anything special, just the little things that matter most in life. I would only do what I called “Sweet nothings” like: Going to the beach, Reading a book lying down in a hammock, painting and cutting paper, Going shopping, Staying at home with my daughter and husband, Watching a movie, Tasting a slice of pizza, where the cheese melts in the mouth, mixed with oregano and tomato sauce. Tasting a slice of chocolate cake with layers and layers of filling. Not having to go work.

 

 


Wendela:

 

Wendela Says:

If I had a day to do over and over…..the days that my kids were born….oooooo I wish to do those days over and over and over and over!!!! I have 4 kids now..but when I saw a pregnant mom, or a little newborn child….mmmmmm my heart melt away…sigh…..

 

Technique Highlight:

I made a little shadow box, and used a wooden French cheese box.

 

 


KL:

 

KL Says:

if i had the chance, and my body would allow me to be pregnant again {safely} i would do it in a heartbeat. i adored being pregnant. i could relive those days, when my belly was big and i could feel the life of my baby inside, moving, over and over.

 

i don’t think there has been any other time in my life when i have felt beautiful and confident. i my body didn’t have such a hard time during delivery i think we would have a brood of littles running around, instead of just our two.

 

Technique Highlight:

 

usually i do more of a collage type project for ct but this prompt really called out for me to scrap that baby belly pic, so there aren’t any new or difficult techniques with this one. i used an exacto knife on the background pattern paper in two corners so that those sweet floral details wouldn’t be lost and simply tucked the kraft paper underneath. the exposed kraft paper corners are popped up using some foam adhesive squares so that there is some dimension.

 

 


Rachel:

 

Rachel Says:

If I had a day to relive over and over again… I would always choose to spend it with you. Laughing, playing, having a great time just being together. It wouldn’t matter where I was or what I was doing, as long as I was with you. The days spent with you are always an adventure and a day to remember.

 

 


Dedra:

 

Journaling Reads:

If I had one day to do over and over. You. The girls. Me. Anywhere. Just hanging out and being US. Makes my soul happy.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “If I had one day to do over and over, what would I want to do with it?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your art to any of our catalysts and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I would spend that day doing exactly what I did today: working on a painting for my son. You can see the pictures on my blog http://amusingmuses2.blogspot.com

Comment by Alberta

Hi – I love this blog and am starting a scrapbook for all the pages I do here. I definitely need some creative therapy! You can see my work on this catalyst in my 2peas gallery: http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1513576

Comment by Jill

Great work girls love them so cool to watch.
bye bye,Lean

Comment by Lean




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

