creative Therapy


Catalyst Sixty-Nine
July 2, 2009, 6:18 pm
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number sixty-nine:

 

What is your favorite thing about where you live?

 

We’re so excited to have Kimberly Brimhall as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I have been a fan of Kimberly’s photos and art for a long long time. Her photos are so bright, so vibrant that they always put a smile on my face. Here is some information about Kimberly in her own words:

 

My friends call me Kimmie… Jade and Madi call me mommy and I am blessed to call Texas my home. I find refuge in seeing the world through my camera, listening to my kids laugh, and conversations with good friends. I am a full time photographer and each day that passes I learn how my art is truly my therapy.

 

We are so honored to have Kimberly here and if you haven’t seen her amazing art, make sure to check out her blog and don’t forget to check out her flickr site too.

 

 

 

 

Here is Kimberly’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Kimberly Says:

I have always looked at the place where I lived as a mere location. Moving a lot in my life molded me to be someone who never took the time to invest in my surroundings. When I moved to Texas, however, I knew it would be a place where I could establish roots and truly nurture a life. I have done just that… What I love most about the place where I live is that it is unique to my life. It’s a symbol of new beginnings, new chapters, and an enriched life. Oh and I love the weather too :)

 

Technique Highlight:

 

I love playing with photos and using layers to make them more artistic.

 

Before I added the text to my photojournal page, I used an existing black and white photo of my friend Zel and I. I used photshop to layer the balloon photo and then the track photo. All photos were from the same shoot and by playing with the opacity of each layer, as well as, using the eraser tool to control the textures.

 

I also adjusted the opacity levels on the texts layers on order to achieve an overlay effect.

 

By using multiple photos, I was able to incorporate more photos to add more dimension to my photo. The possibilities are endless:)

 

 

Thank you so much Kimberly; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Opal:

 

Opal Says:

I live on an island in the Pacific Northwest high atop a bluff looking west. There is much to love about this place, but the sunsets are probably the most outstanding sight to be seen. Every sunset is different..some are soft nudges of color against the grays of the water and sky, some are bursts of oranges from just below the curves of Whidbey Island, others are spectacular in their simplicity of line and colors. But the one I love most is this one, when the sky is dark with clouds and the colors of the sun pulse through the layers… melding and tracing across the darkened sky in a range of purples, magenta, yellow and orange, red and gold, and then repeated in the reflection on the water.

 

This is my view with the silhouette of Whidbey Island separating water and sky. I used a hand-dyed fabric, fibers of yarn, thread, and twisted, torn bits of cotton fabric. The water is quilted with metallic thread.

 

 


Christine:

Wendela Says:

When we first came to look at the model homes in our neighborhood, we weren’t expecting to purchase a home here. Our intention was to get decorating ideas for our current home at the time. However, after waiting quite a while for my husband to return to the car, I realized that he truly liked the area. The neighborhood was set within the rolling hills of our town, and the homes on the hilltop had beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and the mountains miles beyond it in Riverside County. By God’s grace, we were able to afford to purchase one of the homes upon the hill.

 

Since the day we called this place our home, one of my favorite things about living in our neighborhood are the views that we are blessed to see each day. We are able to enjoy beautiful sunsets from our living areas each cloudless evening, and in the winter we can even see the snowcapped mountains to the north of us. It is truly a treat and blessing to be able to enjoy God’s creation and be mindful of His presence within the beauty of the what we see in the neighborhood where we live.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

We just bought our very first home ever. I have wanted a home of my own for as long as I can remember and I love every corner of this little house. It my favorite place because it’s where all the people I love live. It’s ours. It’s going to be filled with our wonderful memories. I can’t ask for anything more.

 

Why is this in a binder?

 

 


Amy:

 

Amy Says:

I love many things about living in the Bay Area, including the fog and the fact that everything is in bloom nearly year-round. But something that I’ve come to really love about the visual landscape here is the way the houses appear “stacked” when you see neighborhoods spread out around you from the vantage of one hill or another. I don’t know that I initially appreciated that view, but over the years I’ve seen it in varying lights. It is a familiar part of my day. I know the way the “color” of the city looks on an overcast day, the tones muted and yet flashes of color here and there. I know the way the color shimmers on clear days.

 

Technique Highlight:

I love the sense of stacking, and in this piece, I wanted to capture that. Using photos transferred to fabric, I created a loose log cabin from various views of stacked houses, creating a new stack in the process of seaming together the pieces. As I then built upon that central framework with the more abstract stacking and layering of random remnants and clippings on my table, I realized how much the approach to line and space I see in the distance day to day mirrors and maybe has impacted the way I approach line and layering in my art.

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

Living in Brazil is living in a country with pleasant temperatures where there aren’t many climate oscillations and interferences in our lives. It is possible to say that, along the year, the climate is very favorable and we have, most of the times, the constant presence of the sun and lots of green. The seasons of the year are easily perceptible around here. Therefore, we don’t get loner at home during winter but, we also don’t know how to appreciate the beauty of the first swallow announcing the spring time, or the first blooming flower.

 

If we lose romanticism and poetry from every season, we have the comfort of the constant life outdoors and that is the great advantage of life in Brazil!

 

It is true that this country has lots of incredible natural beauty; however, I live in a big city which is far as you can imagine a tropical paradise, yet I am still able, for around an hour and a half traveling by car, to find the incomparable leisure of a beautiful beach.

 

Beauties aside, the Brazilian reality is of a poor and violent country, and violence scares me!

 

For that reason, I chose living in the city where I feel safe and that is priceless!

 

I left the city where I was born and where I felt home to live the comfort of a life I feel safe at!

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

This is a digital creation i made with a photo i took of the ocean yesterday evening. The title is are words of a song de François Deguelt (write in 1965) who say : There is the sky, the sun and the sea. It’s exactly why I love place where I live.

 

In French:

C’est une création entièrement digitale que j’ai faite avec un photo prise hier soir de l’océan. Les paroles de cette chanson décrive exactement ce que j’aime dans l’endroit où je vie.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What is your favorite thing about where you live?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

This week we have a new RAK from the wonderful Sakura of America. These micron pens are absolutely incredible.

 


 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

beautiful work girls!!!!

Comment by wendela

Opal, I love your written description of the sunsets each evening ~ it’s poetry ~ and your fiber art is (as always) unique and funky.

Comment by Tammy

Our little house may be old, but we love it. This is the place we come home to eachother – where we are family. What could be better than that? My dream come true. Thanks for looking. http://francescadileo.blogspot.com
p.s. the S is for the name of our street..

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1508691

Thanks for looking,
Francesca

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

Our little house may be old, but we love it. This is the place we come home to eachother where we are family. What could be better than that? My dream come true. Thanks for looking.

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1508691

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

My favorite – the place where I store my art piece, where all my journal page is created.

http://mescrap.blogspot.com/2009/07/what-is-your-favourite-things-about.html

Comment by Lay Hoon

First, another big “thank you” for my RAK win last week! I have already received the wonderful metallic pens from Sakura, and have been using them!!

The week’s almost over, and I did get this one a bit backwards (I did the least favorite thing about my city), but just in case it counts, you can see it HERE

Comment by Barbara Hagerty

Another great prompt, my LO is here:

http://mylifeinascrapbook.blogspot.com/2009/07/favourite-thing-about-where-i-live.html

Thanks :)

Comment by Lynn




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

