creative Therapy


Catalyst Sixty-Seven
June 21, 2009, 7:25 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number sixty-seven:

 

What’s your favorite part about being a woman or a man?

 

We’re so excited to have Melissa Phillips as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

There’s something delicate and elegant about Melissa’s art that made me fall in love the minute I saw it. It’s so dreamy, so stunning…

 

So, of course, it’s no surprise that she designs for well known manufacturers like Tattered Angels and Melissa Frances. She also designs for the Scrappy Gourmet, Papertrey ink, Heartwarming Vintage Crafty Secrets, and Emma’s Paperie.

 

If you haven’t seen Melissa’s beautiful art, make sure to checkout her blog.

 

 

 

 

Here is Melissa’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Melissa Says:

There are so many things I love about being a woman….so I chose to start a journal for myself that celebrates all of things I love in my life…things that we as women get to enjoy, and for me things that center around the home. The journal is titled, “Homespun with Love”. Sections included in this journal are: Motherhood (first and foremost), sewing, baking, and crafting. Each section has a pocket included where I can stuff sweet pictures of my little one, favorite fabric scraps, beloved recipes, etc. I hope that one day my little one will keep this close to her heart and open it up when she wants to learn all about someone who loved her very much. I hope she’ll feel of the joy and happiness I felt throughout my life with her and the things I enjoyed surrounding myself with.

 

Technique Highlight:

 

One of my most favorite things to do with chipboard is create a weathered, worn, and loved look. Cream acrylic paint is wonderful as a base….so for my chipboard journal, inside dividers, and wing, I coated each with acrylic paint. I lightly sanded the edges to remove the paint and expose the chipboard underneath. It’s an easy and quick way to bring in character and depth to any project.

 

 

Thank you so much Melissa; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Wendela:

Wendela Says:

One of my favorite parts about being a woman is…….. breastfeeding. Nursing my kids, how I treasure these moments, sharing time together! I love the warmth I feel when my little daughter was cradled in my arms, and I love the knowledge to gave her the best start in life….I love her special smile she saves only for me… breastfeeding, the special bond we share will never fade…

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

I am a firm believer that women are the better and stronger gender. Maybe because I’ve been lucky enough never to suffer any kind of discrimination as a woman so I only see the advantages. The ability to carry babies. The ability to multitask and to love unconditionally. To care. To feel. To cry. To communicate. To be soft and tender when needed and tough when needed. To be gentle. To be intelligent and emotional at the same time. To get things done.

 

I am not sure why but I’ve always felt that women are, in general, more capable and more intelligent then men. I hold women in the highest regard and feel like I’m honored and delighted to be one. Wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

Note: This digital layout uses: kenner road swallow field, VINTAGE FLORALS by Shabby Princess, foto blend by Anna Aspnes, Katie Pertiet color challenge 4/25, meredith fenwick – all u need.

 

 


Opal:

 

Opal Says:

Wearing sweet, sexy lingerie under my jeans and tee shirt makes me smile…. it is one of my favorite parts of being a woman.

 

 


Kimmi:

Journaling Reads::

hair: there is nothing that is more relaxing than getting my hair done. i may sit in the same chair for hours, but to me it is as relaxing as it gets. sometimes i think that i go to the salon every six weeks, not because i need to, but just because i want to and because i enjoy it.

 

purses: i have an obsession with nine west hand bags. i’ve had many other brands of purses, but nine west is my all time fave. i usually get three to four each year. my favorites have been my bright red one and the yellow one that i currently carry.

 

make-up: nothing makes me feel more girly than getting up, fixing my hair and putting on makeup. i always feel so bare and plain unless i have “made” my self up. or as my son calls it “make-uping.”

 

jewelry: i dont often wear too much jewelry, other than my engagement and wedding rings, but on occasion i throw on some bangles, hoop earrings, and a necklace. definitely adds that feminine touch to any outfit.

 

shoes: shoes. can a girl ever have enough shoes? I have another obsession with buying shoes. from flip flops, to heels, to boots and even cute sneakers. if the shoe fits-BUY it!

 

Technique Highlight::

For this layout, I created pockets behind a piece of patterned paper, then used a punch to reveal the hidden journaling.

 

 


Lia:

Lia Says::

My favorite part about being a woman is the power in our eyes. They can convey so much meaning and emotions, without use of words. It’s an art that’s exclusively a woman’s and I’m proud to call it my own.

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

I love being a woman! I love how we can express our emotions without guilt, I love being feminine: wearing earrings, perfumes, make up, high heels, dresses… I love to dress myself and get pretty, but, of course, the best part of being a woman is the ability to generate another human being! My girl is the best part of me, and she is so girly that I couldn´t resist doing something about her!

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

I love being a woman can do girly things … stuff that only girls can do or like : to go shopping, to make her husband stop on the roadside to pee … and above all to give life is an immense happiness that we experience as women and even if it is explained to men they can not imagine.

 

In French:

J’aime être une femme pour pouvoir faire des trucs de filles … des trucs que seules les filles peuvent faire ou aime faire comme le shopping, faire arrêter son mari sur le bord de la route pour faire pipi … et puis surtout de pouvoir donner la vie, c’est un immense bonheur que nous ressentons et que les hommes même si on explique aux hommes il ne peuvent pas imaginer.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s your favorite part about being a woman or a man?” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

awesome layouts ladies.
I too love being a WOMAN.
I’m totally with you Karen on this one! Smile.

I did this one for a previous catalyst but it so pertains to this one. It was on ‘a favorite word’.. here it is again.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/28758053@N03/3456541853/

I’m going to give this catalyst a try… so many reasons why I’m so very thankful to be a woman.

Thanks
Francesca

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

Having wonderful girlfriends. I hate it when I hear a woman say, ” I don’t really like other women.” I LOVE other women, but I’ve always been blessed to have strong, supportive female friends. Here’s the card I made for my BBB’s 50th birthday.

Comment by Ava

I was so inspired by writing about my wonderful female friends that I decided to make the card I created available as a blog badge of sisterhood. So, come visit me and feel free to copy and paste it on your blog.

Love,
Alberta

Comment by Alberta

Gorgeous LOs!!!

I love being a woman! Can’t say it isn’t hard sometimes but, in the and…you have to be one to understand how great it is!

Well, I also have a beautiful 2 year old girl at home and she’s crazy about make up, hills, dresses, can you believe that? So I made this simple LO to her! Hope you like it. It’s my first time here!

Oh! I’m from Brazil!!!

Love,

Geórgia

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_gWgAUMisUZw/SkVGbN67ZkI/AAAAAAAAAPU/ZLCibHq27NQ/s1600-h/beleza+pura+1.jpg

Comment by Georgia Almeida

I have been awed and amazed at all of the heartfelt art on your blog…it’s a wonderful thing and so thought provoking too!

Comment by ~*~Patty




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

