creative Therapy


Catalyst Sixty-Five
June 7, 2009, 9:03 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number sixty-five:

 

Tell us about one thing you’d change about yourself (physical or otherwise).

 

We’re so excited to have Caroline Lau as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I had the privilege of meeting Caroline and her sister, Deb, in person over a year ago when they were teaching a class in San Jose. They are some of the nicest, brightest, and highest quality people I have met in the scrapbooking industry. Together, they own Maya Road, one of my favorite manufacturers. Caroline does the design work, she teaches, and regularly has inspiring work on her blog, so make sure to visit it.

 

I was delighted when Caroline agreed to guest for us. She consistently makes projects that I find inspiring, especially since she has a little boy, like I do. Her work is always creative and showcases the beautiful Maya Road products and gives me millions of ideas on how to use them. If you like Maya Road as much as I do and own their products, you must make sure to look at her art.

 

I also know that Caroline is expecting a little baby in a few months, so I wanted to congratulate her in public. I can’t wait to see all the baby layouts and minibooks!

 

 

 

 

Here is Caroline’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version and more detail.

 

 

 

Caroline Says:

I don’t usually do a lot of layouts about myself that I share in public. My thoughts and ramblings typically stay stored in my journal. As I was cleaning out my closet the other day, I came across some photos of me from high school and college that seem so different from where I am now. The camera back then reflected who I was – someone unsure of herself and where she was going. But all that has changed now. So I wanted to do a layout that shows my need for change and what I want to change now has changed. The changes I wanted them no longer matter to me. I want to look internally to find growth from within.

 

Journaling Reads:

I no longer want to see any physical changes in myself. It has taken 15 years but I am happy with the way I look now and it was when i stopped caring. 15 years ago I would have hated this photo of me – every single thing was wrong with me (in my eyes), my big nose, my big chin, my big feet. Change that I want now reflect a growth – how I am on the inside – (i want have) more patience and be less critical – all the time.

 

 

Technique Highlight:

 

Though I dug out my sewing machine to sew on my layouts in a while, I decided to create a yo-yo flower with some thread and needle as a accent. The last time I seriously made yo-yos was back in high school so it was kind of nice to work on this craft with another from my past!

 

 

Thank you so much Caroline; we’re so very very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Wendela:

Wendela Says:

What I would change about myself???? Give myself more time for housecleaning!!! I don’t like that!!! Every day a lot of laundry, vacuum cleaning, cleaning the toilets etc…So I made something for myself as a reminder…more time for cleaning up my house :) The background is a piece of wood from an orange box, found with tidy up my barn hahahaha!!

 

 


Karen:

Journaling Reads:

When I was younger, I used to travel in a crowd of beautiful women. I don’t know how it happened but all my female “friends” were drop dead gorgeous and within a few weeks, my self-image managed to wither away to nothing. At the time, I started playing a game where each time I caught myself wishing I had someone else’s something (like hair or eyes or nose or legs) I would force the issue.

 

I told myself that the rules were such that I wasn’t allowed to take body parts or personality traits and plug them into the rest of me. If I liked someone’s something, I had to completely change places with that person. Not only did I get their whole body, but I got all their personal issues, emotions, family, psychological state of mind, past, living status, job and anything else you can think of. I basically forced myself to choose between me and this random (or in some cases not so random) person. Yeah, I got to have their small nose or blue eyes, but was I ready to also have their eating disorder? How about the disinterested mom? Was I willing to give up all of who I am to look like this person? It was my way of forcing myself to face the fact that people don’t come in pieces. You want a part, you get the whole thing. How do you like them apples?

 

In fifteen years, I’ve never met one person I was willing to change places with. I don’t know if it was the fact that I wasn’t willing to give up certain aspects of who I am of my life or the fact that I tend to favor the known over the unknown. Looking at a woman walking down the street, I can see she has pretty hair or a size-2 figure, but I can’t see what goes on in her head or how much she suffers daily. With me, at least I know the hand I am dealt and I know how to live within its limits, when to push it, when to enjoy it. The game’s done a lot to improve my self-esteem.

 

 


Opal:

 

Opal Says:

My feet! I have always had big feet…and was teased at home, by my grandma, and at school. For years I tried to convince myself that I really wore a size smaller…and I wince remembering the pain I endured. Recently a friend said…”You are the only person I know who wears a size 11 shoe!”…and I smiled. But still, I would like to have smaller feet.

 

 


Lia:

Lia Says::

For this catalyst, I initially had a difficult time deciding which physical trait I would change about myself – I just had too many (lol)! I finally decided that physicals are superficial anyway. What I would really want to change about myself is deeper, and that’s my emotional well-being. It’s been said before of me, and I know it’s true – I’m too emotional. I feel in extremes – I love too much, I get too indignant, I go through extreme sadness, I feel too betrayed. The positives have given me such highs in my life, but the negatives have brought me much tears and heart-aches. In recent months, I decided that it’s time for a change. I need to be strong, calm and ultimately happy. I need to stop being so emotional, and stop letting what others do affect me. My happiness and well-being are my responsibility, nobody else’. Moderation is key.

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

The one thing I would like to change about myself, if I could, would be my food allergies. I’d like to be able to stop by and grab a sandwich from anywhere or just quickly order at a restaurant without having to think about what the dish might have in it that I’m allergic to. I’d like to just be able to have a bagel with cream cheese. In the meantime, I’ll just draw my dream bagel with cream cheese and lox sandwich..

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

This time I decided to have a secret and very intimate talk with my mirror and deal with those subjects which I, very shy, talk about before my doctor…After pondering about this catalyst, I chose that, if I could change only one thing on my physical appearance would be getting rid of all the cellulite! But I’m not a person who gets satisfied with only one wish…

 

Journaling Reads:

“Talking to the mirror”

 

“- Mirror, mirror on the wall, it’s time to openly speak with you!

 

- You have mistreated me a lot lately! It was so nice spending hours talking to you, admiring every perfect piece of my perfect body…remember how my skin was shinny and all fit with no effort…and what about my boobs? And my butt…oh my God…I was one 15 year old hot girl! And now, what is going on?

 

- What are those fatty things that are accumulating in my flanks? The worst thing is that one is bigger than the other…have you noticed it?

 

- And those “bumps”…and this belly, and this zipper that only closes with a lot of effort???

 

- Jesus, I wonder if the style of wearing clothes down to the knee to go to the beach will ever come back..

 

- Mirror, did you know Bebel sang that song “London Bridge is falling down, falling down” when she saw my breasts in the shower, and actually asked me why her friend’s mommy’s were such hard, round perfect little balls!

 

- They were silicone, ok hunny?

 

- Mine are breasts which fed you, ok? Would you have some respect please!

 

- But no, mirror, things are really bad…you knew I was very happy with that expensive and painful botox injection which I had it some months ago, right? That’s right…the effect is already over and I am still here, spending all the possible money in scrapbooking when actually I should have used it even more with my dermatologist and take off those expression lines that ruin my looks!

 

- That’s right; I’m investing on my artistic enrichment, my spiritual greatness, which counts, doesn’t it?

 

- Therefore, I wanted to suggest you to show me my personal growth, my inner qualities and everything else, OK, ‘cause either you treat me better or I’m gonna start ignoring you every time more, got it?”

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

If I had to change something in myself, it would be my perception of me, I wish I could accept me as I am and stop trying to lose weight then to puck back on the weight I lost.

 

In French:

Si je devais changer quelque chose chez moi, se serais ma perception de moi, j’aimerais pouvoir m’accepter comme je suis et arrêter d’essayer de maigrir pour reprendre ensuite tout le poids que j’ai perdu.

 

Technique Highlight:

Can altered with paper, beewax and welding.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “Tell us about one thing you’d change about yourself (physical or otherwise).” I urge you to give it a try. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love seeing how all these different artists interpret the same catalyst. Such varied styles and responses…all really wonderful.

Comment by Seth

so much inspiration and honest thoughts ! awesome work everyone !!!

But Larissa’s creation & journalling just knock me off my feet !!! it’s sooo unique !!!

Comment by Pearl

Change…I see all the comments in me, floating in my head. Amazing, the women write and create so honestly. Thank you.
Elaine

Comment by Elaine

This was a wonderful challenge for me this week, as this subject has been on my mind recently. My page today is darker than usual because it actually was therapeutic. Growing up with secrets can cause children a lot of undeserved shame. That’s the one thing I would change. I wouldn’t change my experiences, but I would change the fact that I kept secrets.

Comment by Alberta

This is my first time taking part here . really enjoyed this week’s prompt ~!

http://maisymary.blogspot.com/2009/06/i-tried-to-make-little-scene.html

TFS !

Comment by Pearl

[...] Therapy, K & Co. I’m so grateful and excited to have the time to participate in Creative Therapy again.  This week’s catalyst: Tell us about one thing you’d change about yourself [...]

Pingback by Creative Therapy: Catalyst Sixty-Five « Craftylyra’s Crafting Space

It has been awhile since I’ve participated, but I’m so glad I checked in this week. I found Karen’s journaling particularly moving. Here is my offering:

http://craftylyra.wordpress.com/2009/06/11/creative-therapy-catalyst-sixty-five/

Comment by craftylyra

Here is mine for the week. My first on this blog, but really do enjoy the entire concept. Thanks.
Elaine

Comment by Elaine

http://divitakniesart.blogspot.com/

Sorry, here is my website.
Elaiine

Comment by Elaine

Here is my website :)
Elaine

http://divitakniesart.blogspot.com/

Comment by Elaine

Here is my take on the prompt:

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1500091

Comment by Christine

[...] One Change [...]

Pingback by Art Therapy and Creative Healing Projects 7 « Kate1975's Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

