creative Therapy


Catalyst Fifty-One
March 1, 2009, 9:33 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number fifty-one:

 

What’s something you do every day just for yourself? (If nothing comes to mind, create the art around what the one thing would be and why you’re not doing it.)

 

We’re so excited to have Alexis Hardy as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

My friend Lori put me in touch with Alexis and from the moment I saw her art, I knew she’d be an amazing guest.

 

Alexis’s pieces are stunning at first look but even more magnificent as you spend more and more time with each piece, you discover all the layers and details and you are rewarded even more strongly. Her layouts pop out of the page and since they are so three-dimensional, I am confident they are even more beautiful in person. While she uses a lot of layers, she also often has lots of whitespace and manages to balance both perfectly.

 

You might have seen Alexis’s work since she is published in well known magazines such as Scrapbooks Etc, Scrapbook Trends, and Scrapbook Answers. She is also on many design teams including Label Tulip, Crate Paper, Urban Lily, Dream Street Papers, and Project X.

 

If you haven’t seen her art before make sure to visit her blog.

 

 

 

 

Here is Alexis’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

 

Alexis Says:

This catalyst spoke to me immediately. Every night, before bed, I set aside some time to read a good book. It’s my way of escaping the day and clearing my head so I can fall asleep peacefully. When I thought about how to represent that feeling artistically, I knew I had to incorporate actual book pages into the design with some splashes of my favorite colors. Overall, I think it really captures how it feels for me to escape into a good book!

 

Technique Highlight:

In order to connect the theme of the layout with my embellishments, I created my own flowers out of old pages from a Reader’s Digest. First, I laid three torn book pages on the large piece of scrap paper (to protect the floor). Next, I sprayed each page with turquoise and mimosa Glimmer Mist in smooth, sweeping layers and allowed them to dry. Then I cut two 4×4 squares and one 5×5 square from the misted book pages. I took a pencil and drew a spiral starting at the edges of each square, swirling in toward the middle (the spiral does not need to be exactly perfect). Next, I cut out the spiral and discarded the remaining paper. Finally, I started rolling the paper up, starting at the outer end. Don’t roll too tightly or your flower will appear closed. Keep rolling all the way up to the inside and you’ll find that you can use the last part of the spiral as a base for the flower. Play around with the layers, loosening them up where needed. You can use a Glue Dot at the base of the flower to hold it all together.

 

 

Thank you so much Alexis; we’re so very delighted.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Amy:

Amy Says:

The contours of it have changed from time to time as my youngest has grown and schedules have changed, but something I do for myself is have coffee. I have coffee at home every morning, ideally in a span of quiet time I call my own before everyone wakes. But it is the act of “getting” coffee that has become routine and a bit of self-indulgence. My coffee is my just-for-me comfort, the one thing I do consciously as a treat to myself in the middle of the day or as the afternoon rush begins. I stop… for my coffee. The coffee cup here is made from cut-up coffee cards. That my birds took up residence in this piece speaks to their presence in my days. In truth, my birds have been entwined with my daily coffee… watching them, looking for them, drawing them, and writing about them…. often with coffee in hand.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

It might seem silly but something I do for myself each day is to spend time with my son. I’ve always dreamt of staying home when I had children but as it works out, I am now working a full-time job so it’s really important to me to make sure I spend quality time with my son every single day. As much as I know my son loves it, too, it’s really something I do for myself.

 

Why is this in a binder?

 

 


Lia:

 

Lia Says:

Increasingly, 24 hours a day doesn’t seem to be sufficient for me – with most of my days taken up by work, household chores, and other responsibilities. With hardly an opportunity to do anything for myself, a few minutes sitting back and enjoying the aroma of my daily cuppa plus that soothing smooth taste of caffeine seems like a luxury. A luxury that I savor for it relaxes me and keeps me sane. Before I go back to the madness of daily life.

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

I try to keep my creative mind moving at all times. I try to spend at least a few minutes each day doing some sort of creative act every day – designing with paint, pen, fabric, fiber, or words. Every day I try to do something in my journal, if nothing else. This past few months, I’ve had difficulty keeping this promise to myself because of a wrist injury in my dominant hand, but it’s getting better and I’m looking forward to very creative times again soon.

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

Every day I sleep and for me it’s really important because when i sleep i dream, and do all the things I can’t really do in life and also accept and integrate all things I live in the day. That’s why i sleep for “myself”, becauseIt is a way for me to move forward.

 

In French:

Tous les jours et rien que pour moi je DORS !!! C’est une façon pour moi d’aller de l’avant. On dit que la nuit porte conseil, elle nous permet d’accepter tout ce qui nous est arrivé dans la journée, mais aussi de rêver et de faire des choses qui sont carrément impossible dans la VRAIE vie!!!

 

 


Lori:

 

Journaling Reads:

Just for me – reading my email while drinking my daily cup of coffee. It’s the perfect way to start my day.

 

Lori Says:

If I don’t get to read my email and drink my coffee every morning, I get a little grumpy. It’s a simple pleasure and one I indulge in every day.

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

I make art everyday.

 

 


Kimmi:

 

Journaling Reads:

Whether its a quick trip to Starbucks, a walk through the neighborhood, or a hot bubble bath with a glass of wine, I try to give myself at least twenty minutes each day of peace and quiet to relax and clear my thoughts.:

 

 

Technique Highlight:

I adhered my journaling strips to the mini bingo card that I stuck in a “pocket” behind my photo.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s something you do every day just for yourself? (If nothing comes to mind, create the art around what the one thing would be and why you’re not doing it.)” I urge you to give it a try. This was a particularly healing catalyst for our team, I hope it will prove to be that way for you, too. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

WOW -0 what great pages!!! I especially love Alexis’ and Larissa! Blow me away…!!! Ohhh I hope I can do this one in between packing and getting ready to leave..

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

Here is my response to catalyst #51:

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1462018

thanks for looking!

Francesca

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

Very intriguing site! Love the premise…

Comment by Pamela Palmarini

Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

______________________________
How Would You Like To UNPLUG Your House From Your Electrical Company, Knowing That You Are “100% Powered By Nature” With Renewable Energy?

Comment by Stevisha

I have just found your site from a lady on UKS and wanted to let you know you blew me away its fantastic and thank you for the inspiration to get scrapping again. Thank you. xx

Comment by Jo.Power

Everyday, I spend time in my garden. Since gardening is important to me, I learn about flowers, I take photos of flowers, I read gardening books. To me, my garden gives sunshine to my soul!

Comment by Abby Lanes

Love this blog! Here is my response to this prompt:

http://ultraviolet-baby.blogspot.com/2009/03/creative-therapy.html

Comment by Anne

Thanks for the prompt, my LO is here:

http://mylifeinascrapbook.blogspot.com/2009/03/creative-therapy-51.html

Comment by Lynn

Oops, left my comment in the wrong spot. How silly of me!

Hi! First time participating. Love your challenges! Here’s my blog address with my art journal page called Solitude. That is what I do for myself each day. Be alone in my studio.

http://creativeruminations.blogspot.com/2009/03/first-attempts.html

Have a great day!

Comment by Bethany

[...] Daily Self-Care [...]

Pingback by Art Therapy and Creative Healing Projects 7 « Kate1975's Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

