creative Therapy


Catalyst Forty-Nine
February 15, 2009, 9:07 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number forty-nine:

 

Pick a photo that brings up some emotions and create your art around it.

 

We’re so excited to have Kelly Rae Roberts as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

If you haven’t heard of Kelly Rae or seen her art, you’re truly missing out. Her paintings are so beautiful, so soulful, and so stunning that I keep wishing I could reach through the computer and touch them.

 

As if being able to create such beauty isn’t enough in itself, Kelly Rae is also an amazingly inspiring soul herself. I cannot say enough good words about her book Taking Flight: Inspiration And Techniques To Give Your Creative Spirit Wings. It’s so much more than an art book. Kelly Rae’s story of how she started her art is inspiring to all artists in hiding, wishing they could pursue their dream fully but not having the self-confidence to do so. I would so love to spend a day watching her paint, seeing her create those beautful paintings.

 

If you haven’t seen her art before you will be blown away, so be sure to visit her site and her blog. You can also buy some of her artwork in her etsy shop.

 

 

 

 

Here is Kelly Rae’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

Kelly Rae Says:

Not too long ago, my older sister Jennifer, sweetly sang a song into my voicemail that I had long forgotten. It conjured up a whole flood of lovely memories because it was a song she used to sing to me whenever I had trouble falling asleep as a young child. In response to this, I made this painting that includes an old photo of us – one that honors those childhood memories of my older sister and me. There we are, framed in the chest of a girl who is expressing simple and sweet healing of a childhood that has long passed.

 

Technique Highlight:

I wanted to give her a somewhat youthful appearance, hence the childlike hair style. But I also wanted to give her a face that was somewhat weathered, representing a well-worn, well-loved and well-traveled spirit. To get this effect, I painted her face with acrylic paints, then I softly sanded over the dry paint to create the aged/weathered effect.

 

 

Thank you so much Kelly Rae; we’re so very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. As you’ll see we have a new member on our team: Lia. I will make sure to write an entry about our new members in a short while.

 

Lia:

Lia Says:

As with any relationship, A and I go through lots of ups and downs. But each time I look at his pictures, a surge of all the wonderful moments we’ve shared and all the hopes I have of our future rush through me. I’m reminded of the love we have for each other, and all is good again with the world.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

I look at this photo of my son and I am filled with emotions. Not just for him, but for all the other people I can see in his face. In his eyes and long eyelashes, I see my wonderful husband whose eyes were one of the first things that made me fall in love with him. On his nose, I see the freckles that my sister and dad have; the little dots we used to hate as kids that I now find adorable in my son. This little boy, in one photo, can bring together everyone I love in the world and make my heart explode.

 

Why is this in a binder?

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

One Saturday in the past few months, I was looking back at my Sedona photos. I love Sedona. There is so much peace there. So much natural beauty. I took this photo and used it as a catalyst for the encaustic painting I did. It’s a really abstract sunset painting. But I was in a happy Sedona nostalgic mood.

 

 


Anita:

 

Anita Says:

I decided to take advantage of this catalyst and scrap the first pictures of my daughter being pregnant. This isn’t an easy subject to talk about but we are dealing with it. We know that we will love our granddaughter no matter what.

 

 


Lori:

 

Lori Says:

I’m on a mission to find my inner child. You know, that part of us that rejoices in the little things and finds fun in everything? I’ve hidden my child away so deeply, that I fear I’ve lost her forever. This photo represents how I see myself. I may be smiling, but I’m constantly hiding behind my crossed arms of protection. I want to find my inner child and free her for good.

 

 


Larissa:

 

Larissa Says:

I picked up five photos that show my daughter giving me some flowers. For me, getting surprised by her act of love was simply a moment of true happiness!

 

Technique Highlight:

I drew and painted my watercolor background. After highlighting some lines with a dark pen, I glued some stickers and worked the layers for my scrapbooking page.

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

I love old things, and i really really love this old merry-go-round with wood horse and swing. It’s amazing to me and I can stay to watch it for a long long time.

 

In French:

J’aime beaucoup les veilleiries comme on dit et j’adore ce vieux manège que l’on trouve place de Tourny à Bordeaux, j’aime ses chevaux de bois et ses balancelles, je pourrais rester des heures assises devant à le regarder.

 

 


Katie:

 

Journaling Reads:

It’s amazing how kids can find joy even in the worst situations. This day would be one of the hardest days of your life. Today would be your Uncle Ian’s Memorial Service. Fittingly it started raining that morning. You still found the little girl in you that still wanted to dance in the rain. July 27, 2008

 

Katie Says:

My 19 year old brother-in-law was killed this summer by a drunk driver. My girls were and still are devastated. This was the day of his Memorial Service and even amongst the heavy grief, Maddy was still able to be a little girl and dance in the rain. At the time I felt guilty taking pictures of her dancing in the rain but now I am so beyond glad that I did. When you see these pictures, you might see a happy little girl dancing during a rainstorm. When I see these pictures, I see the only happy moment of an otherwise awful day. I see a little girl that brought a moment of joy to a grieving family. I see my Maddy.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “Pick a photo that brings up some emotions and create your art around it.” I urge you to give it a try. This was a particularly healing catalyst for our team, I hope it will prove to be that way for you, too. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love to see the artwork from Kelly Rae Roberts. I’m just reading her book and it’s totally inspirational. Thank you!

Comment by Renata Pacheco

I’ve been checking your site for a while but this is my first entry. You all are incredibly talented!

Here is my submission: http://scrappybucket.blogspot.com/2009/02/take-flight-creative-therapy-catalyst.html

Comment by bucket

Hello!! I have finished a challenge! This week i decided to create around Catalyst #9. SOmething I am pessimistic about…
You can view it HERE on my blog
It is the third layout. :D

Comment by Adrienne

Here is my response to this weeks catalyst.

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1453626

Thanks for looking,

Francesca

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

Hello,

My response here :

http://mamzelle-m-scrap.blogspot.com/

Thanks.

Comment by Mam'zelle M.

Just found your site this week. Love the prompts, going to try some of the older ones, they’re exactly what I like to scrapbook about. Here’s my LO for this week, thanks for the prompt:

http://mylifeinascrapbook.blogspot.com/2009/02/memories.html

Comment by Lynn

Great lo’s from your design team and guest designer!! Here is mine:
http://www.scrapinstyletv.com/portfolio/view_layout.php?layout_id=157060&user_id=15034

Comment by Lori4155

Another lovely prompt and more lovely projects!!! I depend on you guys to get me making pages for my art journal so here is another one for the book:

http://www.scrapinstyletv.com/portfolio/view_layout.php?layout_id=158457&gallery_type=main

Comment by Glenda Tkalac

[...] This weeks assignment was to use a photo that brings up emotion…. you can see the other artists versions by going HERE. [...]

Pingback by Creative Therapy-Catalyst # 49- A photo that brings up emotion…. » Katie Bee Creative




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

