creative Therapy


Catalyst Forty-Seven
February 1, 2009, 8:35 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number forty-seven:

 

When was the last time you were up all night?

 

We’re so delighted to have Misty Mawn as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I can’t even remember how I found Misty’s site for the first time but I made a note to ask her to guest for us the minute I found it.

 

Her art has a soft and magical quality with dark, deep, and rich colors. I felt drawn to her pieces and wanted to keep looking to make sure I saw all the details. She is talented with paint in a way I always wished I were. I am so thrilled she agreed to guest with us. Misty also teaches all over, including at Art & Soul and Artfest.

 

If you haven’t seen her art before make sure to checkout her blog.

 

 

 

 

Here is Misty’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

Misty Says:

The last time I stayed up all night was last Saturday night, just for Creative Therapy! Everyone that knows me well knows that I love to stay up late. Neighbors love to mention how at times they have been out late at night, pass by our house, and see my studio lights on. What can I say, I have always been a night owl. I feel most creative/artistic in the late hours of the night when it feels like so much of the world is fast asleep. My only struggle with staying up late is getting up early with my family to make sure our children get to school on time, but a quick cup of coffee and all is well.

 

All week I was looking forward to spending the whole night in my studio creating art. I had this big idea that I would start a journal from scratch (making the journal) and fill it with art all in one night. Well, by 6am the journal was created and a few pages had paint on them, but to fill each page in that short amount of time would have been a miracle. Luckily, I had a whole week of journal prompts ahead of me to keep adding to the journal, again hoping to have it finished by the end of the week. Still there are a few pages with just a paint foundation, but mostly the journal is coming along quite nicely and I have really loved adding to it daily.

 

Technique Highlight:

For this journal I used cotton watercolor paper cut to size, stripes of fabric, and the piano hinge technique for binding the book, a very simple & elegant way to bind a book. I then layered bits of collage, paints, inks, embellishments, and pencil over the pages.

 

Thank you so much Misty; we’re so very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Severine:

Severine Says:

The last time I was up all night was for the party of my village in my native “Landes”, or maybe for “les fêtes de la Madeleine” but it’s realy realy a long time ago. We were dancing, singing, and drinking all the night with friends and strangers and it was amazing.

 

In French:

La dernière fois que je ne me suis pas couché de la nuit, se devait être pour des fêtes de villages dans mes Landes natales, ou peut être bien pour la fête de la Madeleine, mais cela remonte déjà à pas mal d’année … J’avoue que ça me manque un peu maintenant que je suis expatriée en Gironde :)

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

The last time I stayed up all night on my own accord was in 1997. I was living in New York and my husband (then boyfriend) was still at school in Pittsburgh. We were talking over the phone and computer all night. At the time, I was taking a class on 3-Dimensional computer graphics and I was drawing a trumpet for my class. I spent the whole night working on that instrument and chatting with him. It still is one of my fondest memories.

 

And the trumpet turned out ok, too.

 

Why is this in a binder?

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

The last time I stayed up all night was quite a few years ago. I was taking high doses of steroids for my chronic illness and I had trouble sleeping. My husband was out of town and I needed to do something. I pulled out my paints and a piece of foam core that was sitting out and I started painting. I just moved pain pigments, and my brush around and created what turned out to be an angelic image.

 

 


Opal:

 

Opal Says:

The last time I was awake all night was on a United flight from Seattle to Frankfurt. It is a long 12 hour flight. I can’t sleep on an airplane….I’ve tried all the suggested ways…I have done this and that…but it is true…I can’t sleep. When flying at an altitude of 30,000 plus feet at night, there is not much to see. But there comes that moment, sometime around 5 a.m., depending on the time of year, when night becomes day, and dark becomes light, and the moon and sun might both be seen outside that little window.

 

Technique Highlight:

I used a piece of silk upholstery fabric that has been in my stash now for many years. I come across it often, and as most of us do who love fabric and fiber, I pick it up and hold it, feeling the satisfying weight of it, running my thumb over the smooth textured surface, and then bring it to my nose to sniff….I love this piece…and the repeating circles of positive and negative lines on a field of violet. It is the sun and moon…and it was the perfect piece to use for this catalyst. I wanted to capture that moment of first morning light …the reward for staying awake all night….the glow in the sky, the emerging colors…as they penetrate the layers of clouds. This piece is the size of my journal quilt page…8.5″ x 10″…it is hand beaded and quilted on silk.

 

 


Lori:

 

Lori Says:

The last time I was up all night long was the birth of my now two-year old, Brody. I wasn’t feeling well the evening before he was born and as it turned into full blown labor at 1:00 a.m., I knew I would not be getting any sleep. I was fortunate to get a few hours of rest in the afternoon the next day and that set the tone for the first year with Brody, who hates sleeping. It was wonderful finally getting to meet my youngest and certainly worth the all-nighter. As a morning person, I do my best to avoid staying up all night. I much prefer going to sleep early and waking up early. That suits me just fine.

 

 


Dedra:

 

Journaling Reads:

The feel of paper, the textures of different embellishments and the smell of Staz.On Ink….A great photo and the memories that it stirs inside me as I look at it…. The stories that I want to pass on into future generations of our family….The occasional midnight visit from Ellie because she knows I’m down here working….This is the passion that keeps me up, in my own little space through the nights and early mornings…..1.2009

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “When was the last time you were up all night?” I urge you to give it a try. Being that it’s the beginning of the year, it’s the perfect time to state your dreams and goals. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the next RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great works, girls, I love your stories and fabulous Art!

Comment by Larissa

My favorite part of Sunday is taking ‘me’ time to do this!

Smile! I literally smiled the entire time I was putting this together! Laugh. It brought me back to a time and place that I so cherish…
thank you for the prompt and the wonderful pieces from the DT. Thanks for the inspiration.

Here it is:
London Calling
http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1450201

thanks
Francesca

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

I’m over the all nighters, unless I can’t turn my brain off. Then I do art in my head, or read blogs… an addiction. I’ll be back!

Comment by PJ Hornberger

My catalyst here :

http://mamzelle-m-scrap.blogspot.com/

Comment by Mam'zelle M.




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

