creative Therapy


Catalyst Forty-Five
January 18, 2009, 7:31 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number forty-five:

 

If you got to write a book/movie/song what would it be about?

 

We’re so excited to have Anne Le Toux as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I found Anne months ago while I was surfling around and looking for some art and loved her page as soon as I stumbled upon it. She was then also recommended to me by one of our team mebers and I am really delighted she agreed to be a guest for us.

 

I find Anne’s work to be lyrical and textured and I can easily spend hours looking at it. She uses so many details in her work that I can look at it over and over again and discover new, tiny details each time. She does weekly art at Dans Ma Maison il ya… where the goal is to create every week a house with the given theme.

 

If you haven’t seen her art before, you’re really missing out. Make sure to check out her blog and flickr gallery. You can also buy some of her beautiful art at her etsy shop.

 

 

 

 

Here is Anne’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

Anne Says:

This piece is titled “The fairy.” It’s a dream for me to write and illustrate a childrens’ book… It would be about fairies, where they live, where to find them, how to see them. So to reflect this, I did this canvas with a fairy, and butterflies, how I imagine fairies are…

 

Technique Highlight:

I love to use textured papers for first layer on my canvas. Then I use gesso, acrilyc paint and rubberstamps. I finalize my creation with golden color to higlight textures. I am a perfectionist when I create… I add lots of details to my creations, I even have a hard time stopping working on it!!

 

Thank you so much Anne; we’re so very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Wendela:

Journaling Reads:

When I write a song, I write a Love song for you, my love…

 

Technique Highlight:

The flowers I used are handmade of tulle.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

I actually wrote books for a while and this is a poster I made in a design class I took. This poster is for the first book I wrote. It’s about a girl who goes back home to take care of her mother with whom she has some deep issues and reconnects with her highschool love. In the book, the mom has lupus which is called the butterfly disease, hence the butterfly on the cover.

 

I love reading mainstream fiction and about strong characters and their connections to each other and those are the kind of books I’d like to write. I don’t dream of many many things in my life but writing a book and getting published is a lifelong dream. I yearn to write and to write well. Maybe one day…

 

Why is this in a binder?

 

 


Anita:

Journaling Reads::

Unconditional love…it’s not easy! it really isn’t. Whoever says it is is crazy! You know you love your children but sometimes its so hard to love them unconditionally. I think about this alot. With everything we’ve gone through with Erika, she makes it so hard to love her when most everything she has done has been the totally opposite of what we’ve taught her. I want to just turn my head and walk away but I know as her mother I can not do that. I have to be supportive of her. Its hard though knowing that what she’s done is her choices she’s made and being far from what we want for her and have taught her. BUT I’m learning. Its an ongoing process. But I’m learning. I
do love her and want the very best for her. Until she realizes that I have to sit back and love her unconditionally

 

 


Lori:

 

Lori Says:

My favorite movies to watch and books to read are science fiction/fantasy. I LOVE them. When I was very young my Mom gave me a copy of CS Lewis’ The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia). I read it in one sitting and begged her to take me to the library for more. I was quickly hooked on that genre and continue to be. If I could write a book, it would most definitely include magic, knights, kings, queens, dragons, and all things “Fantasy”.

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

If I write a book or a song, it would talk about LOVE, LIFE, FREEDOM and LIBERTY.

 

 


Amy:

 

Amy Says:

The book that came to mind for this catalyst is a book that will never
be, but an idea that I nourished within when first my oldest was a toddler and then again when my youngest reached a similar age… park age. Mornings and playdates at the park are seemingly a rite of
passage for both children and parents. Especially for those of us in the city, the park offers spaces to climb, sand to shovel, dandelions to pick, and an easy place to sit and observe the world when sitting is all one can do. For some, time at the park is looked upon as a golden hallmark of toddlerhood. Parents convene, children run free, and there are cheese crackers, cereal, and strawberries to go around.

 

My relationship with the park wasn’t so easy. The backdrop of sand, sun, and open sky was there, and we always had plenty of snacks and quickly learned to take our own bag of sand toys. But the park never felt friendly, open, inviting, or comfortable to me. Little niches of parents I saw always seemed established and closed, the lines in the sand hard to cross. Even for my boys, I often felt like the park was a tough space. Kids push. Kids don’t share. Kids say mean things. There
is a pecking order.

 

Throughout the months of toddler park time, I clung to the kernel of an idea about a book… a year of days at the park. I envisioned a cross between Thoreau’s Walden and Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker’s Creek. I envisioned daily reflections on moments that captured the tenor of the park, the characters, the moods, the milestones, the discoveries and the epiphanies. When I saw the catalyst, the “park” came to mind. I looked at some of my many park photos, and I saw that time after time I had caught in them my sense of the park… that the park can be a lonely place. Rather than selecting just one photo to work with, I pulled several, with an emphasis on benches, to use as a starting point for a set of graphic novel panels.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “If you got to write a book/movie/song what would it be about?” I urge you to give it a try. Being that it’s the beginning of the year, it’s the perfect time to state your dreams and goals. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and you will qualify for the RAK we offer to a random participant. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

This week we’re delighted to have a new sponsor. Here’s a beautiful kit from Scrap for a Cure:

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have always wanted to have a book published .. and I know just what about .. might have to play along …

Comment by Sasha Holloway

I love your idea for this week! Everyone has great work this time. I especially love Anne’s our home has many fairy homes and garden. I would love to write a book about children and traveling. It has been such a blessing to see how our children have blossomed with new places and cultures.

Comment by Kasandra

Another amazing week ladies!!!

Comment by Kimmi

http://flickr.com/photos/12460549@N07/3209563685/in/pool-811138@N22

I have been reading the prompts for a while, but never created anything … this time I did, though not sure it follows the prompt! It sort of came out of me… This was influenced by Kal Barteski a lot … obviously. I guess you could say I would like to write a spy novel? Maybe?

Comment by Melanie K.

Hi Everyone!
I so loved working on this prompt!
I’ve always wanted to write the book and then make the movie!!! NO joke… my part would be played by Winona Ryder, and my dad by Al Pacino… I’ve got it all planned out…!!! LOL

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1438422

Franceca

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

Everyone in my family is a writer, except me, but, if I did write a book, I know it would be about something happy. As it is, i stick to my art journal and your catalysts are indeed the perfect therapy for me. Thank you!

Comment by Alberta

Probably a children’s book with a wacky plot and lots of twists and turns. I adored Amy’s lovely prose about the “other side” of the park, it rang true with me.

Comment by Tammy

Here is mine…thanks for the therapy!!
http://www.scrapinstyletv.com/portfolio/view_layout.php?layout_id=151930&user_id=15034

Comment by Lori4155

[...] To Create [...]

Pingback by Art Therapy and Creative Healing Projects 7 « Kate1975's Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

