creative Therapy


A New Year, A New Approach
December 31, 2008, 4:08 pm
Filed under: catalyst

 

I don’t generally share personal stories here, but I thought this might apply to some of you who’ve been doing the weekly catalysts so I wanted to share how I plan to do my catalysts in 2009.

 

2009 Promises to be a busy year for me. I have long list of important deliverables at work in the first three months of the year. And then our little baby is due on the fourth month of the year which, I am sure, will make the next few months a blur. Not to mention a possible move. Knowing all this, I don’t want to make too many commitments for myself for next year because I hate letting myself down and I don’t want to set myself up to fail.

 

But creative therapy isn’t something I am willing to give. So I needed something creative for 2009.

 

1. I loved doing the December Daily album this year. The restrictions of the precut pages was liberating and gave me more creativity. But I knew there’s no way I could do it all year round and I’ve been searching for a way to continue the magic.

 

2. I wanted to use up some of my paper stash that’s been building. I have a lot of “old” paper I love and I don’t want to keep buying and never use these.

 

3. Like 2008, I wanted to make sure I do each week’s creative therapy prompt. The other artists do them on a schedule but I’ve done every single one so far and I really wanted to find a way to continue that in 2009. I love the therapeutic aspect of CT but the pregnancy took away all my mojo and between that and the baby, I was worried there was no way I was going to get to them all. I needed a simpler solution.

 

So this week, I decided to combine all three. I made a 7×8 minibook that is prefilled with a lot of the “old” papers I love. Cut and placed in random order. This is my 2009 Creative Therapy book. Each page will be one catalyst. I’ll do the catalyst on one side and print out the date, topic, and my thoughts that go on the site to adhere on the other side. This restricts me to a 7×8 page and pre-chosen paper.

 

I know it’s working because I’ve already completed four catalysts today! This might mean my pages aren’t as varied next year but I am ok with that and I reserve the right to change my mind. So far so good.

 

 

So if you like doing the catalysts as much as I do, but don’t want to overcommit, feel free to join me in this new approach!

36 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Super idea! And one surefire way to keep the creative mojo going, even when we are pressured and overwhelmed with the outside world. Excellent creative approach. Thanks!
Peace & Love,
~Barb~

Comment by Barb

Wow what an exciting year ahead of you! All the best with your new babe! And congrats to the new CT team memebers. I look forward to seeing your work.

I love this site and am happy to hear you will continue – and I’m thrilled for the idea you introduced… I think I may just try this. It’ll give me no excuse to not be creative and to participate regularly.

Thanks and Happy New Year.

Francesca

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

What a fantastic idea. No need to go hunting for supplies when the catalyst is revealed! SUPERBO!

Comment by Giovanna

ABSOLUTELY LOVE your album!
AWESOME!

Comment by Amy K-P

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Forty-Three « creative Therapy

This is a FANTASTIC idea! I have been following the Catalyst blog for a while now and am looking forward to participating, but was not sure how I wanted to actually complete each challenge. And like you, I have so much old paper that I love, so this idea is perfect for me! Thank you for sharing!

Comment by Cris Cunningham

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Forty-Four « creative Therapy

great idea, i loved my dec daily, too and wondered how to keep it flowing. thanks!

Comment by glee

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Forty-Five « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Forty-Six « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Forty-Seven « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Forty-Eight « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Forty-Nine « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Fifty « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Fifty-One « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Fifty-Two « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Fifty-Three « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Fifty-Four « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Fifty-Five « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Fifty-Six « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Fifty-Seven « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Fifty-Eight « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Fifty-Nine « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Sixty « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Sixty-One « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Sixty-Two « creative Therapy

I adore that little book! Great idea to do it this way! Hope everything is well with you and the baby – boy, some changes going around in your life!

Comment by Marit

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Sixty-Three « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Sixty-Four « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Sixty-Eight « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Sixty-Nine « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Seventy-One « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Seventy-Four « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Seventy-Six « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Seventy-Nine « creative Therapy

[...] Why is this in a binder? [...]

Pingback by Catalyst Eighty « creative Therapy




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

