creative Therapy


Catalyst Forty-Two
December 28, 2008, 8:56 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name towards the beginning of the week. (Apologies for the slight delay in last week’s recipient; it’s coming soon.) And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s the very last catalyst of 2008, catalyst number forty-two:

 

What was the best moment of your life (so far)?

 

We’re so thrilled to have Judy Wise as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I can’t even remember where I first saw Judy’s art but I do remember feeling a deep connection to it as soon as I saw it. Her art is so soulful and emotional and spoke to me immediately.

 

Judy is so multi-talented that I don’t even know where to begin. She sculpts, paints, art journals, takes photographs, and can do each equally stunningly. It’s no wonder Judy teaches all over the country (the world actually!).

 

If you haven’t seen her amazing art, you must visit her blog and her site. I am confident you’ll be thrilled you did.

 

 

 

 

Here is Judy’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

Judy Says:

I have to say it is the present moment. To have been fortunate in living this long, getting to realize most of my dreams, having a wonderful family. I take nothing for granted at this juncture; every day is a precious gift for which I give thanks.

 

Technique Highlight:

I’m obsessed with hands right now, how expressive they are and about sign language and body language that communicate silently. I also love subtle expressions in the eyes and I like this image because I think I’ve caught both forms of communication here.

 

I drew it in pencil, collaged some textured paper around the face and then painted it quickly in acrylic. Last I added encaustic medium. It came together quite rapidly.

 

 

Thank you so much Judy; we’re so very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team.

 

Dedra:

Dedra Says:

At the age of 34 I have experienced 2 major moments that have touched my heart like no other….these moments in a way
completed me, made me feel “whole”….Jon: marrying you and having you as a best friend and a partner in our journey brings tears to my eyes….I could not have done this with anyone else…. Girls: being blessed to bring you both into our lives….beautiful, healthy and happy…. I’m amazed everyday….12.2008….

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

I have a strong belief that any particular moment couldn’t be possible without all the ones that came before it. So to pick on moment without acknowledging the others wouldn’t be fair since, without them, I could have never had that particular moment.

 

I’ve had many magnificent moments in my life: coming to the US, graduating from college, getting my green card, marrying my husband, giving birth to my son, being pregnant with my second. There are too many to count. But at this moment, I am happiest I’ve ever been. I feel content, peaceful, optimistic and thankful. I know it wouldn’t have been possible without all the moments that came before this so I am thankful for every moment that led to this one and for this very moment.

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

Life is made up of so many moments, both good and bad. And, honestly, as I thought about this catalyst, I searched for a long time. I picked up my crochet hook and some yarn and I thought to myself, how can I choose one moment that is better than the others? There are milestones in my life that I could point to, but there are also the every day things that are important and wonderful. And yes, there are even bad things that, at the moment, appear bad, but they lead to the good and loving moments. So, instead of choosing one, I chose to represent life’s moments, intertwined together in this crochet scarf I made. Each moment in life is represented by a stitch. Each stitch is connected to the others. All of the good in life is connected by individual moments – moments of love, happiness, support, togetherness, joy, creativity… There is so much to treasure!

 

 


Karan:

 

Karan Says:

My best day so far…

 

I have many great memories, but if I had to narrow it down to my best one so far, it would be the day I met my husband for the first time. I had been chatting on line with him for 8 months. He had moved to Chicago from Barcelona, and was attending a trade show in Las Vegas. I flew down to meet him, with a lot of hope in my heart that he would turn out to be the man I had dreamed of.

 

I had arrived to a dozen red roses waiting for me at the concierge desk at check in. I remember talking to him on the phone as he was on his way to my hotel. I mentioned to him that I was nervous. He said he wasn’t, than admitted he was too. I was so shaky that I had to hang up to compose myself before he came up to the room. When he knocked on the door, for a moment I was paralyzed with fear, as a million thoughts ran through my head… Was I doing the right thing, what if he was a wierdo, what if we didn’t like each other or weren’t attracted to one another… All of these thoughts came crashing in at the last moment as I stood with my hand on the doorknob…. Taking a deep breath, I pushed all the negative thoughts away, and let my entire being fill with love. I opened the door and saw someone I didn’t know standing there.

 

The photo I had seen of him was from 4 years before. He looked very different. In the photo he was more tan, and thinner, with more hair. He was holding a child in the picture and had the most beautiful smile on his face… the look of love in his eyes for this child he was holding told me he was a very loving man. This man standing before me looked so different. Bigger, not so tan, his face hesitant and apprehensive, but with the same beautiful look of love in his eyes. I invited him in, and said hello and reached out to hug him. When he put his arms around me and said “Hi baby” in my ear, I heard that bautiful voice I had been speaking to for 8 months, and all of the pieces came together. As we stood there together, him trembling with nerves in my arms, I felt the love in my heart grow ten times bigger in that moment… my soul knew him on such a deep level, I felt like I was home for the first time. That place I had been looking for, that elusive part of myself I had searched for in others, was here, in this man all along.

 

Fairy tales talk about the angels singing and the sun shining brighter when you meet your true love. For me, it was the rythm of our heartbeats, the totally overwhelming feeling of love and grattitude I felt in his arms that I was finally where I belonged.

 

Over the past four years, we have endured many hardships.. loss of jobs, homes, careers, financial ups and downs in this uncertain economy. But through it all, he has been there beside me… supporting me and our family. Doing his very best to be the man he said he was from the beginning. Each day I love him more deeply. Sometimes this scares me, because with the deep love comes the risk of great pain. But I wouldn’t trade one minute of my time with him for anything else in this world, even if it is difficult sometimes. I hold my memories of this day in a secret pocket of my heart, and I take it out and cherish it when times get tough between us.

 

That is what loving someone is all about… Taking the risk to be vulnerable. Sharing who you are with the other person so completely, that you don’t know where one ends and the other begins… Staying through the hard times so you can truly enjoy the good times once they come around. It is the cycle of life, it all comes back around… It is these things, the knowing that helps me stay grounded, and to continue on in the face of adversity. Knowing he is with me, beside me, and we are working together toward a common goal of a happy and fulfilled future. Life may not always be the party we envision, but at least we can dance through it together.

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

The best moment for me is when my daughter was born and when i saw that it was a girl. We didn’t want to know the sex of the baby before the delivery and even if i said it was not important for me, I was very very happy that it was a girl. I will have this picture in my memory for ever.

 

In French:

Le plus beau moment pour moi a été à la naissance de Zoé quand on m’a dit c’est une fille !!! On n’avait pas voulu connaître le sexe du bébé avant l’accouchement et j’avoue que même si cela m’était égal, j’étais très très heureuse que ce soit une fille. J’ai encore l’image en tête quand la sage femme l’a posé sur mon ventre. Un pur moment de bonheur.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What was the best moment of your life (so far)?” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your art by Sunday night, January 4th, midnight PST to qualify for this week’s RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

To qualify for our weekly RAK drawing, all you have to do is do art around ANY of our catalysts. It doesn’t have to be the one from this week. We believe in the healing power of art and we want you to pick whichever catalyst inspires you the most.

 

For our RAK for this week, I am thrilled to have a beautiful kit sponsor Scrapbooking from the Inside Out. Scrapbooking from the Inside Out is a kit club, inspiration source and online community all about scrapbooking your emotional life – using color, design, and journaling to create pages and projects that explore your inner world. They offer monthly kits geared around an emotion, and a unique Inspiration page each month with journaling prompts, quotes, a music playlist, links, photos and Design Team layouts and projects based on the monthly theme.

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Expect an end-of-the-year wrap up from us in the next few days and until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Truly the best moment of my life has been giving birth to my children. Especially with my 2nd child… not because I love her more, but because I was less scared, and more aware of the process than I was with my first. The 2nd time around just seemed so much more satisfying and entirely less scary.. here is my page in response to this catalyst as posted on Two Peas gallery:

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1424294

thank you,

Francesca

Comment by Francesca Di Leo

My greatest moment was when I figured out I could have all the things in my life that I really wanted-a family, education, love, friendship, a home, career, “me” time, and even a dog :)

Comment by Amanda

I just recently found your blog and love the excitement of creativity! I jumped in with last week’s and did my take on the best piece of advice!

You can check it out on my blog {blog post titled Because.. {updated with 365}

http://www.itsmythingy.blogspot.com

Thanks a bunch for jumping my creativity!
Elizabeth

Comment by elizabeth

Just wanted to tell you all know how much I appreciate your postings guys.
Found you though google!

Comment by bloonsterific




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

