creative Therapy


Catalyst Forty
December 14, 2008, 9:55 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name towards the end of the week. (Apologies for the slight delay in last week’s recipient; it’s coming soon.) And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number forty:

 

What’s a principle you firmly believe?

 

We’re so honored to have Teesha Moore as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

A few months ago, I asked our team who their dream guests would be. I told them not to worry about whether it was realistic or not, just make the biggest wish they could think of. Several of the people asked for Teesha Moore. I tried to use my own advice and emailed her despite thinking she would be way way too busy to ever agree. So when she did, I cannot tell you the amount of joy and honor I felt. Teesha, thank you so much.

 

I can go on and on about Teesha’s amazing talents but first I want to mention all the ways in which she’s brought together art lovers. She started ArtFest which is one of the most highly regarded and cherished artist getaway/worskshop events. She also runs a beautiful magazine called Art & Life and owns an awesome stamping company: Zettiology. Can you now get a sense of how busy she might be? To top it off, she creates stunning art journal pages. She is truly inspiring.

 

You can see so much more of Teesha’s beautiful art on her site and read more about her on blog. You can also buy her amazing artwork on her etsy shop.

 

 

 

 

Here is Teesha’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

Teesha Says:

When I was thinking about principles, I found this quote that pretty much sums up my most important principles, so I decided to base a journal page on it.

 

Technique Highlight:

I like to put a base of watercolor on the background before I ever begin. Then I randomly place collage down. After I’ve made a border of collage, then I get out my pens and crayons and doodle up a storm. supplies include: caran d’ache neocolor II’s, daniel smith watercolors, faber castel pitt extra fine pen, gel pens in neon colors, sharpie poster paint pens, rubber stamps. etc.

 

 

Thank you so much Teesha; we’re so very delighted.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

 

Anita:

Journaling Reads:

When I seen this catalyst, I had to jump on it! I knew I wanted to make something centered around Family. Family is our #1 priority around our home. No matter what, family comes first. I chose to do a wall hanging for my project. I am planning to hang this for EVERYONE to see.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

This is the quote that resonates the most with my principles. People are quick to complain about the world we live in; they are quick to judge. Yet they are not nearly as quick to jump in and help make change. I believe we’re all part of the problem and we all need to be part of the solution. Change begins with you. Be the change you want to see in the world. If we all did that, imagine how amazing things would be.

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

I firmly believe in the principle of believing in yourself. This includes, for me, trusting your intuition and following your heart. This has gotten me through many difficult times.

 

 


Lori:

 

Lori Says:

I believe in love. I think it’s a word that is taken for granted these days. It’s not just about loving your family, it’s about loving yourself first, then your family, your friends and those you encounter everywhere. It’s about not being judgmental and about being accepting. Love is a powerful thing and it starts with oneself.

 

 


Severine:

 

Anita Says:

I’m firmly believe in LOVE !!! it’s the one thing I believe in and for the moment i’m not disapointed in it.

 

In French:

Une des choses à laquelle je crois vraiment c’est l’amour, et pour l’instant je n’ai pas été déçue d’y croire.

 

Technique Highlight:

Background made with gesso and paint.The tasks are alcool ink, and just some stickers for the title.

 

 


Vivian:

 

Vivian Says:

No extra words needed this week.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s a principle you firmly believe?” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your art by Sunday night, December 21st, midnight PST to qualify for this week’s RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

To qualify for our weekly RAK drawing, all you have to do is do art around ANY of our catalysts. It doesn’t have to be the one from this week. We believe in the healing power of art and we want you to pick whichever catalyst inspires you the most.

 

For our RAK for this week, we are thrilled to be giving away a $20 gift certificate to our sponsor Coordinates Collections.

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

These interpretations are BEAUTIFUL! I love you Family one. Its just so pleasing to the eye! Beautiful job ladies!

Comment by Adrienne

Believing in yourself must be done before you can invoke any kind of change or goodness. All of these are wonderful!

Comment by Kasandra

Teesha is such a huge inspiration for me (and so many others)…I love that she is so free and original and her work inspires me so much. Thanks for the wonderful interview!
Peace & Love,
~Barb~

Comment by Barb (Craft Junkie)

I love Teesha’s and everyone’s art work. I also love how Teesha describes her techniques in detail on her website! Here’s what I came up with. Thanks again for the catalyst and the inspiration.

Comment by Amy Lighthall

Wonderful catalyst AND guest host! Here are my words:

Comment by Alberta

Let me try again. The link above isn’t working

http://amusingmuses2.blogspot.com

Comment by Alberta

I’d like to try…may I ? I gave you the name of my home page for my English blogs…

Comment by Paisible

http://snipitsofmylife.blogspot.com/. I forgot to add the link to my comment above.

Comment by Amy Lighthall

Love Teesha’s work!

Comment by Michele

Teesha’s an inspiration to us all far and wide.

Comment by ro bruhn

I really admire at Teesha’s work

Comment by Lay Hoon

Great blog idea! Isn’t Teesha the inspiration for journaling as we know it.

Comment by Joy Logan

[...] artist for each catalyst, and it’s often someone I’ve never heard of (though some famous faces have made [...]

Pingback by Links: Creative Therapy | turning*turning




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

