creative Therapy


Catalyst Thirty-Nine
December 7, 2008, 7:58 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name towards the end of the week. (Apologies for the slight delay in last week’s recipient; it’s coming soon.) And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number thirty-nine:

 

What was a dream you had as a child (about your future); did it come true or not? If it did, was it what you hoped it would be and if it didn’t are you disappointed?

 

We’re so happy to have Glenda Miles as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Glenda was a recommendation from one of our team members. To me, her art is so nostalgic, so magical that I jumped at the recommendation.

 

You can see so much more of Glenda’s beautiful art and buy some of it at her etsy shop. Make sure to check out her unusual and amazing jewelry pieces, too.

 

 

 

 

Here is Glenda’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

Glenda Says:

When I look back on my childhood dreams I can recall growing up with my sister and indulging in playful aspirations of being a teacher, nurse, doctor and mother. We didn’t have a privileged childhood, so along with our imagination, flair for drama and creativity we manifested our dreams into playful roles of enchanting stereotypical female sheroes. In recollecting these memories, I can look beneath the surface and see what my dream really was about. I was lucky enough to have one colossal beloved woman in my life – my grandma and my deepest dream was to BE just like her. Giant hearted, genuinely sweet and instinctively magical. She taught me to see the wonder in nature, create something out of nothing and love without boundaries. When I was twelve, and she died, my heart and life felt shattered. I had lost my mentor, my advisor, my keeper. I still ache for her even 30 plus years later…My dreams of “who I wanted to be when I grow up” have evolved over the years, but the core essence of what nurtured my dreams has never changed –my inner spirit of colossal belovedness that my Grandma nurtured within me. The piece I created is a checker board style collage on a 12X12 canvas honoring my relationship with her. The technique used; picking out words from an old fairy tale book to create the squares and then I intuitively painted colors. I printed my own words and painted them. The three vintage buttons represent my favorite number [3] and crafty, wise and healing. Vintage numbers from a bingo card were used along w/ some rub on letters for the A/Z.

 

Titled A–Z My Dream Each square states my feelings about this weeks Creative Therapy. my dream. Become an enduring magical woman like my grandma. Crafty. Wise. Healing gentlewoman. In an unexpected moment of getting coffee her life is gone and at twelve years old, I am suddenly all grown up and tired of childhood games. The Brady Bunch. Cartoons. Barbie Dolls. All fade away. There is no disappointment in releasing the crafty, wise, healing gentle girl. Z.

 

 

Thank you so much Glenda; we’re so very delighted.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions. For this week only, we have a special honorary team member who agreed to do me a favor and join us for the week: Kimmi Achord If you have never Kimmi’s art, you’re in for a treat. Thank you so much, Kimmi!

 

Kimmi:

Journaling Reads:

There aren’t many things that I can remember wishing and dreaming for when I was a kid. I don’t recall wanting to be a ballerina or growing up to be someone famous, or becoming the next president. I don’t remember much about wishing to be anything other than a mother. Recently I came across an old box of papers and school records that contained a notebook of journal entries from my sixth grade English class. The topic for one particular day was “When I am a Parent.” Reading my journal entry from that day put a smile on my face and tears in my eyes. I had quite an exaggerated view on parenting. It all seemed so easy to imagine up a perfect life to raise my children in. I wrote about how I wished I’d have two boys, because boys are easier to raise than girls. (I even underlined the word “are” twice.) I would have a large vehicle and many movies and toys to keep them occupied. They would have separate rooms so that they wouldn’t fight and that I better have a ton money so that they’d never be bored. Things may not be as simple as they seemed twelve years ago when I wrote that entry and having a child now, I realize that being a mother is a far more complicated job than I’d imagined. Money and toys and movies don’t keep your kids occupied, its your time with them that matters the most. All in all, it doesn’t change the truth in the last sentence in my entry-I would like having children. It is the only thing I can ever remember wanting to be…a mom. I am more than thankful that my one childhood dream has come true.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

Since as far back as I can remember, my biggest dream was to leave home and go pave my own path. I wanted to make my own mistakes, live my own life, make my own choices. I certainly did leave my home (Istanbul) and moved very far away. I made a new life for myself here in the United States, and I am really lucky to say that, so far, I’ve loved every moment of it. I miss my family a lot but I love paving my own path, even with its bumps along the way.

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

Like most kids, I wanted to pursue a lot of different jobs and careers. The ones that I recall most were wanting to do arts & crafts and to be a writer. I’ve done both and I’m living that dream. What I also realized was that when I was a kid, I was keenly aware that doing something wasn’t the only thing that was important. Being happy, helping others and being appreciated for who I am were other things I wanted. If I think of those things, I do think I’m living my dream. I don’t think I could have imagined my life turning out just as it has, but I’m so happy! I’m married to a wonderful man, my best friend in the world while I get to pursue my art during the day and focus on myself. It’s a life I could not have dreamed of.

 

 


Lori:

 

Lori Says:

My big dream when I was little was to be a heavy metal rock star. I used to daydream about it all the time. I never happened because I never did anything to try to make it happen. I realize now that it would not have been a life I would have enjoyed. I’ve, also, learned that dreams are just that, unless you take action to make them happen. That is a worthwhile life lesson to know.

 

Journaling Reads:

My dream was to be a lead singer and guitar player for a heavy metal band. I wanted to be like Lita Ford, big hair, leather and all. Dreams require action, and while I didn’t become a heavy metal Goddess, I did learn that most important life lesson.

 

 


Severine:

 

Anita Says:

I didn’t a real big dream when i was a child for my future, no IMPORTANT dream that drove my life. But many little dreams for my life, freedom, sweet … many little dreams that make life easier and helped us move forward.

 

In French:

Je n’avais pas vraiment de rêves pour mon futur quand j’étais enfant, je veux dire pas de rêve IMPORTANT qui aurait digiré ma vie. Mais par contre plein de petits rêves, mais tous aussi important les uns que les autres, des rêves de prince charmant, de douceur, de paix … plein de petits rêves qui font que la vie est plus facile à vivre, et qui nous aident à avancer.

 

 


Christine:

 

Christine Says:

When I was in the first grade, my favorite time of the day was when we were allowed to do art. I loved to paint most of all, and after painting a little house on a hill, I remember my teacher being surprised at the details that I had included in my painting. Shortly after that she called my parents to tell them that she had recommended that I participate in an art camp for one week during the summer along with a few other students. That week was full of bliss for me! We were able to play and create with so many different mediums…watercolors, chalks, acrylics, paper mache and more that I didn’t know about at the time. It was a very happy time for me!

 

A couple of years later I asked my parents whether I could take art lessons, but they didn’t know who could teach me. They also told me that they probably couldn’t afford it. The proceeded to tell me that I should probably think about pursuing something else for my future, but I never let go of the dream of becoming an artist. I remember going through a season of learning how to draw animals. I drew horses when I read “Misty of Chingoteague.” I drew deer and other wildlife when I read “The Yearling.” Each time I had a opportunity to illustrate anything for a school report, I did it. My report on Greek mythology in junior high was filled with pages and pages of the Greek gods and my interpretations of the Greek myths. My teacher recognized the effort I put into the illustrations and enjoyed it so much that she decided to give me A+ on that particular report.

 

Although I didn’t have an opportunity to pursue a career in art professionally, I see now that I’ve been surrounding myself with the opportunity to engage in it throughout my life. I often wonder what would have resulted if I had been able to become an artist by profession, but I know that all things worked together for good in my life up to this point. Do I wish that I had gone with my heart and had the courage to pursue my dream of becoming an artist? Yes, sometimes I do. However, I know that if I had, my entire life would be much different that the one I have today, and I would have missed out on a lot of the blessings that God has given to me already. I am just grateful to be blessed with the ability to create whatever I can with the time I have now, and know in my heart that I’m happy with the creative journey that I’m taking each day! :)

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What was a dream you had as a child (about your future); did it come true or not? If it did, was it what you hoped it would be and if it didn’t are you disappointed?” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your art by Sunday night, December 14th, midnight PST to qualify for this week’s RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

To qualify for our weekly RAK drawing, all you have to do is do art around ANY of our catalysts. It doesn’t have to be the one from this week. We believe in the healing power of art and we want you to pick whichever catalyst inspires you the most.

 

For our RAK for this week, we are thrilled to be giving away another set of the beautiful Metallic pens from Sakura of America.

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks Karen for putting me up there this week!! AMAZING work ladies!!!! Love everything!!!!!

Comment by Kimmi

Here’s what I made. Thanks for looking. http://snipitsofmylife.blogspot.com/2008/12/catalyst-39.html.

http://snipitsofmylife.blogspot.com/

Comment by Amy

My LO on my blog.
semplydone.blogspot.com Friday 12th December
Thanks for the inspiration.

Comment by Stefanie

Ok, how have I missed this cool site?? Not only did I love the Guest’s layout (and no, not just because she had the most awesome name ever!!!) but I loved the DT layouts and this whole concept! I hope to play along!! When are the challenges posted each month?

Comment by Glenda Tkalac

thanks Glenda :) New catalysts are posted every Sunday morning :)

Comment by creativetherapy

Yay! I made it then and here is mine:
http://www.scrapinstyletv.com/portfolio/view_layout.php?layout_id=144989&gallery_type=main

I look forward to seeing the next catalyst!

Comment by Glenda Tkalac

I love your blog and I’ve been wanting to participate for quite some time. I finally did it this week! Here’s my link:

http://www.scrapinstyletv.com/portfolio/view_layout.php?layout_id=145070&user_id=4603

Thanks for the inspiration!

Comment by Michelle LaPoint Rydell

[...] Childhood Dream [...]

Pingback by Art Therapy and Creative Healing Projects 7 « Kate1975's Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

