creative Therapy


Catalyst Thirty-Eight
November 30, 2008, 9:47 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name towards the end of the week. (Apologies for the slight delay in the last two recipients; all recipients will be announced this week.) And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number thirty-eight:

 

Tell us about something you don’t appreciate enough. (something that you take for granted)

 

We’re overjoyed to have Emily Falconbridge as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I can’t remember the first time I saw Emily’s art but I do remember falling in love immediately. Her art is so organic, so natural, and so authentic that it draws you in immediately. You can tell that it was made from the heart and it speaks to you. I love that she often mixes media and uses paint on her scrapbook pages. She makes everything look so easy and natural like it was always meant to look that way. Each time I look at her photos, she also looks like such a genuine soul to me. I was so thrilled when she agreed to guest for us.

 

If you’re into art journaling as much as I am, you won’t want to miss the art journal challenges she had all throughout 2007. They are stunning pages. I also recently admired her minibooks in Ali’s recent book Sharing Your Story. I could go on and on about the beauty of her art.

 

If you haven’t seen Emily’s beautiful art, you must visit her blog. You can also find really unique and funky camera straps and some journal kits in her etsy shop.

 

 

 

 

Here is Emily’s art with this week’s catalyst. You can click on it to see a larger version.

 

 

Emily Says:

i try not to take anything for granted…i like to keep a grateful journal and be happy for all the little, magical, ordinary things in life that make it beautiful. i know i have so so much in this life, it is crazy, especially when you read or watch or travel – and see how other people live. it makes you feel very blessed. sometime during the past month i developed a random sore finger which suddenly made me very aware of how much i need my hands, and ALL my fingers! this was something i had taken for granted, these busy, working hands that create, care for my family, are being used all of the time and i need them! they give me so much happiness, the things i am able to do with these hands. i should kiss them really. but instead i made a journal page ;)

 

Technique Highlight:

i had a henna tattoo stencil in the shape of a beautiful hand that i laid onto my page and painted over in gesso, and around in the yellow paint. i am in love with gold leafing and the little touch of magic is brings – also fascinated by it from my recent trip to thailand where you can find it covering Buddhas in various temples. i like to add a little bit of it here and there to make me happy. to do so, i applied a few dobs of gold leaf adhesive – waited 10 minutes then gently brushed the gold leaf flakes over the adhesive so it would stick. shiny happy!

 

 

 

Thank you so much Emily; we’re so very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

 

Dedra:

Journaling Reads:

Sometimes I become consumed by going through the motions of life….I find myself thinking I have all the time in the world and looking at my “to do” list instead of enjoying the time I have “right now” with Jon and the girls….So, now I will remind myself to enjoy the everyday moments with them….Time flys by and I can’t take it for granted anymore…..

 

 


Karen:

Journaling Reads:

I don’t know what I did to be the luckiest Mom in the world, but I really feel like I am so blessed. Maybe every Mom thinks her kid is wonderful but so many strangers tell me how special you are every day. You’re kind and generous. You are sweet and helpful. You are pensive and quiet. Yet when I go out with you, you talk to everyone. You can walk up to a stranger and start a conversation. You go, “Hi, I David. I three years old.” And people can’t help but laugh. Which you then take as your cue to keep talking. You can play with anyone, you’re not choosy. I love all of this about you.

 

But my favorite thing is what I see when I watch you when you’re not looking. When you’re lost in your own little world, playing with your cars or trains or blowing bubbles. You have such a rich fantasy life; you can play for hours by yourself and you tell yourself stories. Sometimes I interrupt and ask you what you’re saying and you say, “I talking to myself Mommy.” I guess in that way you’re my little boy. A self-content little boy.

 

David, I don’t know how I got so lucky as to have a son like you but I want you to know that I will never take any moment of it for granted.

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

I tend to think that I take little for granted, since I consider myself a lucky person who is aware of things around me. But then I thought more about it. And I realized that we have this beautiful home, which we don’t take for granted, and a lovely resort-like patio area, which I do. I sat outside in the lovely 74-degree weather and enjoyed the weather. I also really looked at our landscaping. I sat there and drew it. I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed really being there and relaxing and focusing on the trees.

 

I can hope that by really sitting and noticing the details, I won’t take it for granted any longer.

 

 


Katie:

 

Katie Says:

Something I take for granted……there are SO many things that I take for granted. Some I’m not ready to work on, some are just normal things…so when I signed up for this catalyst, I tried to narrow it down…and decided to do something about my husband…so that was in the back of my mind…but then I met my husbands ship as he pulled into Hawaii after a 6 month deployment…and when I saw the ship with the flags flying high and the sailors lining the deck in their dress whites…I felt this tug at my heart…..this one thing that I overlook sometimes…and take for granted, FREEDOM. In my mind sometimes, the military is brutal…it takes my husband for long periods of time, it makes me uproot and move my family, it makes family life hard…it makes me miss so many friends and neighbors BUT it keeps me FREE. Our country has fought many wars in the fight for freedom and we are such a mix of races and religions and customs but the one thing we all share as Americans is freedom. Our military keeps us free. They protect our borders, our waters, our assets and our people. We all take that for granted. I take that for granted.

 

So, my focus changed and I wanted to do something that I could put in my home so that every time I looked at it, I would remember how I felt that day. Something patriotic and pretty. I used vintage patriotic crepe paper, vintage music note paper, vintage trim and lots of glitter!

 

 


Lori:

 

Lori Says:

I take “me” for granted. I always have some sort of excuse as to why I can’t do something for myself. I put others first instead of taking time for me. It’s the one thing in life I am trying to change. I realize that a happy “me” equals a happy “everyone around me”, so I am learning to make myself a priority in my life.

 

Journaling Reads:

They come first. They need me. It’s selfish. I would feel guilty. I have no time. I’m fine. I love being frumpy. I don’t want to spend the money. I’m too tired. I’ll do it tomorrow. I’m perfectly happy. I really don’t need it.

 

 


Anita:

 

Anita Says:

When I saw this week’s catalyst, it made me think about how much I take for granted our relationship as a couple. We get so wrapped up in the day to day stuff with the kids we often forget to take time for us. I want my husband to know, I DO love him very much and cherish US. One day it will be just US and I feel like we will be getting to know each other all over again.

 

 


Debee:

 

Debee Says:

I’ve always been a dreamer. I’ve never thought I would be able to make my dreams into a reality. Yes, I always dreamed of art, being a cartoonist and even drew every Disney character I could to life size. But I guess as I grew my little kid dreams were pushed to the back of my mind. I’m so glad that on a whim I did take art classes in college. That’s when I knew I still had it and wanted to nurture the creative in me and hope to never fear loosing that again. So what I had dreamed as a child (to become an artist) came true for me in real life now. I am artistic, creative and happy making artsy messes. It really pleases my heart to be able to have the honor of calling myself a creative type. And I love sharing it with others :) One thing I’ve learned from this is to never stop dreaming…but dream bigger!

 

Journaling Reads:

d is for Dreamer

artist

graphic art

designer

creative

painter

sketcher

photographer

crazy sewing lines

grunge luver

spray painter

teacher

color perfectionist

drummer

dreamer

big happy messy dreamer

dream big little one.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “Tell us about something you don’t appreciate enough. (something that you take for granted)” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your art by Sunday night, December 7th, midnight PST to qualify for this week’s RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

To qualify for our weekly RAK drawing, all you have to do is do art around ANY of our catalysts. It doesn’t have to be the one from this week. We believe in the healing power of art and we want you to pick whichever catalyst inspires you the most.

 

For our RAK for this week, we are very very excited to be giving away a beautiful swatch journal & tags from belladrummer. Just add your mini polaroid pictures, index pictures, inspirational quotes, journaling and extra loves. Perfect for the art lover in you :) enjoy! (Book Measures: 5.5 x 2.25 inches; Filled with 10 mixed paper sheets: graph, ledger, map, spray painted paper).

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have just uploaded my LO to the Flickr gallery. Thanks for the inspiration. I’m loving it!

Comment by Stefanie

Here’s my catalyst Thirty-Eight project.

http://snipitsofmylife.blogspot.com/.

Comment by Amy Lighthall

I loved doing this one, it gave me instand inspiration, I made this page:http://snowsrm.web-log.nl/

Comment by Sanderijn

[...] open up a bit with my work instead of being so nicey nice..ya know? Anyway, my second challenge was Catalyst #38. The theme was officially “to tell about something you don’t appreciate enough. (something [...]

Pingback by Creative Therapy Projects x 2 ! » Katie Bee Creative




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

