creative Therapy


Catalyst Thirty-Seven
November 23, 2008, 9:05 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name towards the end of the week. (Apologies for the slight delay in last week’s recipient; it’s coming soon.) And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number thirty-seven:

 

Today you get an extra hour, what will you spend that time on?

 

We’re thrilled to have Danny Gregory as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I saw Danny for the first time, a few years ago, on TV. There was a special about his story on (I think it was PBS) and I was immediately amazed by his story, his amazing drawings, and his great ability to put words and illustrations on paper in the most inviting way I’ve seen. When I sent an email to Danny to ask him to be a guest for creative therapy, I didn’t expect to hear back. I thought he must be unreachable.

 

Being the amazing person he is, Danny wrote back immediately and generously agreed to do a guest spot for us. I cannot tell you the thrill of seeing his art on our site. Danny’s accomplishments are far too many to count here, but I want to make sure to mention few of his books that I have read and loved: Everyday Matters, The Creative License: Giving Yourself Permission to Be The Artist You Truly Are, and most recently An Illustrated Life: Drawing Inspiration from the Private Sketchbooks of Artists, Illustrators and Designers. His books are truly inspirational and instructional and completely worth reading.

 

If you haven’t seen Danny’s amazing illustrations or don’t know his inspiring story, you must visit his site. You will discover a completely new world. Danny’s art with this week’s catalyst is a 24-page pdf document. I made smaller screenshots of each of the pages just so you could get a glimpse of his amazing illustrations, but to see and read the whole story of what he does with his extra hour download the pdf (it’s quite large). You can also buy it as a book.

 

 

 

 

Here are the samples of Danny’s art with this catalyst and you can click each to see a slightly bigger version. The text is in the pdf and since it’s handwritten, I won’t duplicate it out of context.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you so much Danny; we’re so very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

 

Leena:

Leena Says:

Sometimes I wish I could have more than extra hour everyday. I would spend that extra hour spending my time with my family, especially with my son. My job takes me away from home most of the time and I feel bad that I’m not there for him. I hope that one day he would understand that I’m trying my best to give him the best of both worlds. I hope that one day that I would be able to devote all my time for him, seeing him grow.

 

Journaling Reads:

I wish that we could always spend time like this everyday and forever. But one day, you will grow up and lead your own life. But for now, I would wish to spend every second, minutes and hours loving and caring for you.

 

 


Karen:

Karen Says:

There are always so many things on my to-do list but if I had one extra hour I would want to spend it with my son and my husband, I can never get enough of either in my life.

 

I wanted to note that after I made this art journal page, I immediately felt like it wasn’t that good. Certainly not good enough to be in the company of these amazing artists, but then I remembered my own words: this is not a competition. It did make me feel better to make the art. I do love my son so much and I really do want to spend all my hours with him. So my art was therapeutic and true. That’s all that matters in the end. I’ve heard some comments that people don’t want to participate because they feel their art isn’t good enough. I promise you that your art is good enough. If it’s authentic to you, it’s absolutely beautiful and I hope you choose to share it with us so we can enjoy it, too.

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

It was hard for me to figure this one out, because I’m lucky enough to have a lot of time to do what I want. I really thought there was nothing I’d want to do. But then I thought about it. I’d really keep doing the things I’m doing. I’d draw more, exercise more, sew more, cook more, connect more, and be more. I think, for me that I’d just continue and do more of what I love to do.

 

 


Vivian:

 

Vivian Says:

If I had an extra hour today I would spend some much needed quality time with my husband…”

 

Technique Highlight:

I used water soluble crayons to wash the background and enclosed writing in an envelope which I stitched onto my page. A lost prayer flag from outside found its way onto my page.

 

 


Karan:

 

Karan Says:

My extra hour would be spent on a massage… I know it sounds selfish and self indulgent and maybe even decadent to some, but to me it is essential. I tend to hold all the stress in my body in my neck, arms and shoulders. I need regular massage to relieve the pain or I get horrible headaches and a throbbing burning pain in my arms that radiates up into my shoulders and neck. This is something that has been happening for a long time. I have learned to live with constant pain. I have learned to create in stages, and to get up from the computer after only a few minutes. My massage therapists are miracle workers. My husband, daughter and a friend all do an awesome job. It is the moving out of the negative energy. The releasing of the toxins from the system, and the clearing of the body’s stress memories that leaves me feeling balanced and relaxed. It is strange, that the things we need the most, we rarely give to ourselves. I feel guilty when I get a massage. And yet if I don’t get one regularly, I am in such pain, I am miserable to be around. Even though I have the ability to get them when I want from my friend by trading services, I rarely give myself the gift of one, or take the time out for myself to have one. So for these moments, in this hour, I will give myself the gift of a lovely relaxing massage….

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

Enjoy Life and Family, because we have not enough time for enjoy family. So one more hour, it’s more happiness.

 

In French:

Profiter de la vie et de ma famille. On n’a jamais assez de temps à partager avec eux alors une heure de plus, c’est que du bonheur en plus.

 

 


Christine:

 

Christine Says:

f I had an extra hour today to do what I wanted, I could probably create a list of things pages long including spending time with my husband and children, picking up the phone to call someone and chat, reading a long-neglected book that I started weeks ago, doing an extra load of laundry, and tidying up around the house. However, when it comes down to it, I would want to use the time to create something!

 

Creating helps me to express myself in a way that the other activities I listed just cannot evoke. It allows me to take something inside of me and produce something meaningful that I can share with others. Creating makes me happy, and it’s at those times when I feel that I’m fulfilling a purpose with what my Creator has gifted me. So with that extra hour, I would create to please my Creator, and hopefully encourage, inspire, and bless someone else in the process!

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “Today you get an extra hour, what will you spend that time on?” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your art by Sunday night, November 30th, midnight PST to qualify for this week’s RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

To qualify for our weekly RAK drawing, all you have to do is do art around ANY of our catalysts. It doesn’t have to be the one from this week. We believe in the healing power of art and we want you to pick whichever catalyst inspires you the most.

 

For our RAK for this week, we are thrilled to be giving away a seat in the most amazing class of the season from Shimelle’s Journal Your Christmas:

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hmmm, I’d spend my extra hour with my husband!

#37 if you had an extra hour

Comment by MarieP

Yay! I finally finished another challenge from you. Yesterday I decided that I would write down all of the challenges that sound like fun for me! And I hope to do all of them asap! :D hehe.
I did challenge #16, Dream home!

http://scrappin-a-rose.blogspot.com/2008/11/layout-dream-homes.html

Comment by Adrienne

hmmm did my comment work?

Comment by Adrienne

Doesn’t look like it did.

I finished another challenge finally!
I did challenge #16. Dream home.

http://scrappin-a-rose.blogspot.com/2008/11/layout-dream-homes.html

Comment by Adrienne

for some reason some of my comments werent working. Hmm.

Comment by Adrienne

[...] for each catalyst, and it’s often someone I’ve never heard of (though some famous faces have made [...]

Pingback by Links: Creative Therapy | turning*turning




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

