creative Therapy


Catalyst Thirty-Four
November 2, 2008, 9:35 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name mid-week. And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number thirty-four:

 

Tell us about a song that brings back a memory. Tell us about the memory too.

 

We’re delighted to have Allison Strine as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

I discovered Allison’s Etsy site just by browsing and I was immediately in love with her striking and touching jewelry. Her colors are so vivid, her pieces are so meaningful. Something like this beautiful pendant is exactly why I couldn’t resist asking her if she would be willing to guest design here for us.

 

Those of you who have been in the scrapbooking industry for a long time might know Allison’s name from a previous life where she was a well-recognized and well published scrapbooker. She was published in many highly regarded magazines like Cloth Paper Scissors and Somerset Studio. She also won the Creating Keepsakes Hall of Fame back in 2002.

 

If you haven’t seen Allison’s art before, I’d urge you to visit her beautiful etsy store. Allison has also generously offered to give free shipping to anyone who buys at her store and mentions that they came from creative therapy.

 

 

 

 

Allison’s art with this catalyst is below and you can click it to see a bigger version.

 

 

 

Allison Says:

Well, the only way I could do this would be to write about a band that brings back a memory, and that band is The Beatles. I remember listening to my Paul-crazy babysitter singing ‘I Saw Her Standing There’. when I was about five. Then I remember watching the Beatles ’65 record, with its rainbow stripe around the label, spinning around on my five dollar turntable. Later I played ‘Yesterday’ for an entire afternoon, back to back, lifting the needle at the end of the song and placing it right at the start again, while I bawled tears of agony over losing my dog. Then it was on to college, where I’ll never forget the moment my roommate walked in and told me John had been shot. When my brother died, I created a video set to “In My Life”, and we all watched Bradley on tv and cried bitter tears at the beauty of John’s voice, and the tragedy of loss. Oh, how I lived and died with The Beatles – When I moved to Germany, all by myself, I brought Paul’s voice with me, to play every morning on my cassette tape player, and comfort me in my loneliness. I’ve listened to scratchy 45s, and LP records, and eight track tapes, and cassettes, and my first compact disc purchase was Sergeant Pepper, and always the Beatles have been with me. Music is about as powerful a force as I’ve ever known, and in my life I hope I never lose my connection to John, Paul, George and Ringo.

 

Technique Highlight:

The most enjoyable part of creating this canvas was the spontaneity of the background. I just got into a groove, using stencils and tissue and rub ons and transparencies and acrylic paint, all without really thinking hard, or even thinking at all! The best thing to do for this kind of background is to work on a whole bunch of canvases at once. That way, one piece is drying while I’m working on another, and I just dabble back and forth between half a dozen canvases, adding a touch of red here, or a little bit of color there. Then – ooh, this is a good thing – once the background is completed and dried, I scan it into my computer. That way, I have access to a beautiful piece of art on its own, to use in other pieces.

 

 

Thank you so much Allison; we’re very honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

 

Karen:

Karen Says:

For me, songs are big buckets of memories. I have a long list of songs where a few melodies can put me in a different location, mood, and spirit immediately. Of all the songs in my list, one stands out above and beyond the others. When I was a Junior in college, I started dating the man who is now my husband. My Junior and Senior year, I spent a lot of time in he and his roommate’s dorm. My Senior year, we all loved “Son of a Preacherman” so much that we decided to play it on repeat. This continued for an entire semester. The CD player was never off. When we went to sleep, we’d lower the volume and when any of us walked into the room, we’d say “Oh my God! turn it up! it’s my favorite song!!” This became our own inside joke. When I think back to my college years, Son of a Preacherman is one of my very favorite memories. A sign of fun times and beginnings of a long lasting love.

 

Technique Highlight:

I didn’t use any special techniques on this page but I did use the new Bazzill dotted cardstock which comes with a neat texture.

 

 


Severine:

Severine Says::

This song is “Hélène” by Rock Voisine. This song reminds me of my first “real” boyfriend and some moments we had together.

 

In French:

Cette chanson c’est Hélène de Rock Voisine. Elle passé à la radio lorsque j’étais en seconde et elle me rapelle plein de souvenir de cette première année de lycée, notamment des moments passés avec mon petit copain de l’époque qui était pour moi le premier “vrai” petit copain.

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

As long as I can remember, listening to music has been a part of my life. It was hard to pick just one to focus on, but as I went through iTunes to find a song that made me smile with a memory, I came across Pat Benatar’s “Hit Me with Your Best Shot”. It’s an odd song for a memory, but really, it brings back memories for me.

 

When I was growing up, I had a close friend, Jean Marie, who lived around the corner from me. Late in junior high school, we started an annual tradition. The night before the first day of school each year, we would walk for about a mile to a playground, talking about the year ahead, our nerves and anxiety about the first day of school, teachers, etc. Jean Marie was the first one who taught me how to wear make-up. Jean Marie and I were huge Pat Benatar fans and we went to her concert together in the early 80s. We had such a great friendship and a lovely tradition. This song brings back the memory of that annual walk and daily connections at the bus stop.

 

 


Lori:

 

Lori Says:

I love music. A lot. I love it so much that I actually listen to the lyrics of the songs I hear. If I don’t like the lyrics, I won’t like the song. The lyrics need to make me laugh, like The Killers – Somebody Told Me: “Somebody told me you had a boyfriend who looked like a girlfriend that I had in February of last year” or make me think, like *Queensryche: “Isn’t it funny how crying looks like laughter in the rain?” or just be about something real and relevant to me, like Creed – With Arms Wide Open: Prelude- this song is about him finding out he’s going to have a baby.

“If I had just one wish

Only one demand

I hope he’s not like me

I hope he understands

That he can take this life

And hold it by the hand

And he can greet the world

With arms wide open”.

The thing about me and music is that I move on and quickly. I grew up in the 80′s and do my best to avoid all music from then. I only barely tolerate music from the 90′s. I crave new music and tend to let older music fade away into the dark recesses of my Mom’s memory. The only song, however, over all my years, that has truly stood the test of time, meaning I still love it, and has the strongest memories for me is “Happy Birthday”. This song brings back strong emotions for all the wonderful times I’ve celebrated with loved ones and friends. It’s a happy song about a happy time. It’s the one song I know I will always cherish and look forward to. This past Thursday my Mom was able to celebrate her 66th birthday knowing she is cancer-free. That is one memory that will be with me forever. Oh how I love this little ditty of a song.

 

 


Debee:

 

Journaling Reads:

Somewhere, over the rainbow,

skies are blue and the dreams that you dare to dream

really do come TRUE.

 

Debee Says:

My Favorite Song since childhood has been Over The Rainbow from the Wizard Of OZ. I think I was about 5 years of age when I first saw the movie. I was in love with the color, Toto the dog :) and Judy Garland’s beautiful voice. I don’t really think I paid much attention to the lyrics of this song too much. But as I grew older I came to memorize the lyrics by heart and really believe the beauty in the words. Dare to dream the dreams and they will come true.

 

 


Christine:

 

Journaling Reads:

I remember hearing the song, “When I Fall in Love” by Nat King Cole when I was a young girl. The lyrics echoed the beliefs that I held in my heart about love…that it was precious enought for me to wait for the one person to share it with completely and wholeheartedly. This song also reminds me of the list that I wrote when I was thirteen containing the traits that I would be looking for in my “someone special.” The day I made the list, I made a promise that I would wait for him to come into my life. I am so thankful that God brought [Ron] into my life, and that I am able to share this love with [him]!

 

 


Karan:

 

Karan Says:

I did this page about a song I like called Rhyme and Reason by John Denver. I don’t know if he wrote it or just perfomed it. It has some really beautiful and profound words in it… I remember my parents listening to it when I was a kid, and watching my mom cry when she heard it. Almost every time, she would tear up. Now I am the one who crys when I hear it. This song reminds me of my childhood, and motherhood all at the same time. It is a bond and a memorey I share with my mom, and with my children too. I love these lines that I put on this page:

 

It is here we must beging to seek the wisdom of the children

And the graceful way of flowers in the wind

For the children and the flowers are my sisters and my brothers

Their laughter and their loveliness would clear a cloudy day

Like the music of the mountain, and the colors of a rainbow

They’re a promise of the future, and a blessing for today.

 

I like the last line the best… I think it says it all. Like children, I think wea ll need to play more, and just forget the things that hurt or anger us. Just go out and laugh and play some more. It will make you feel better. This song reminds me to be more childlike and lighthearted when I walk in the world.

 

 


KL:

 

KL says:

i can see this memory so clearly. sitting in my moms green car, driving to stockton from our ranch. singing “horse with no name” at the top of my lungs along with my mom. smiling. laughing. happy being with her.

 

every time i hear this song it takes me back to those moments. building a friendship with her that is so strong. just being together.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “Tell us about a song that brings back a memory. Tell us about the memory too.” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your art by Sunday night, November 9th, midnight PST to qualify for this week’s RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

To qualify for our weekly RAK drawing, all you have to do is do art around ANY of our catalysts. It doesn’t have to be the one from this week. We believe in the healing power of art and we want you to pick whichever catalyst inspires you the most.

 

For our RAK for this week, we are thrilled to be giving away an fantastic kit from Qtea Kits:

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[...] you’ve ever visited Creative Therapy, you may be familiar with their weekly artsy catalysts. I was lucky enough to get to share my love [...]

Pingback by Welcome to LadyBirdLand! » Blog Archive » Sunday, Sleepy Sunday…

Ooh, these interpretations make me so happy to know that music touches us all… and very deeply. And thanks, now I have ‘Son of a Preacherman’ stuck in my head!

Comment by allison

When I was little, I wanted to live in a place where it stayed sunny all of the time. I grew up, and moved to Southern California. My favorite song is “California Dreamin,” and I especially love it when I hear of others having ice storms. Sorry :-)

http://flickr.com/photos/abbylanes/2995971038/

Comment by Abby Lanes

Oh yes, and the photo I posted has a youtube link to a little boy playing “California Dreaming.”

Comment by Abby Lanes

beautiful!

Comment by kerry lynn

My song is playing on my blog, along with a memmory that was made just yesterday: “These Are the Days,” by 10,000 Maniacs

Comment by Alberta

thank you for this prompt. I love your site. awesome work from everyone.

here’s my version:
http://anamstubbington.typepad.com/a_little_of_my_life/2008/11/vintage-photos.html

Comment by anam

In the last minute almost, but here is my layout. I had so much fun with this one! This was journaling I’ve been wanting to write for a while. Here’s my very 80s layout:

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1411050

Thanks so much for the inspiration!!

Anna-Karin

Comment by Anna-Karin




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

