creative Therapy


Catalyst Thirty-One
October 12, 2008, 8:33 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name mid-week. And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number thirty-one:

 

What’s a novel that has impacted your life and why?

 

We’re delighted to have Stephanie DosReis as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

Stephanie says “I enjoy channeling my inner 8-year-old when I paint and wish I could do more of that in my everyday life. I am most comfortable sitting on the floor in front of a canvas, surrounded by numerous tubes of paint, messy stacks of paper and vintage fabric. I am inspired by tree-houses, vintage linens, holding my son’s hand and finding beauty in life’s everyday simplicities.” and you can clearly see all of her passions in the whimsical and absolutely stunning art she creates. Looking at her pieces always makes me happy and I am so glad to have her here, sharing her art with us.

 

Scrapbookers who love Daisy D’s as much as I do will have seen the line of papers and products Stephanie designed for them. She’s also been on many design blogs like CRAFT, Decor8, Cookie Magazine, and Real Simple Magazine among many others.

 

You can see more of Stephanie’s art on her blog and her etsy shop, you will be glad you did.

 

 

 

Stephanie’s art with this catalyst is below and you can click it to see a bigger version.

 

 

 

Stephanie Says:

I just recently finished two books that have me positively BURSTING with inspiration and creative juices. The first is “Calm and Compassionate Children : A Handbook” by Susan Usha Dermond and the second is called “Homeschooling Our Children, Unschooling Ourselves” by Alison McKee. They have opened my mind and heart to alternatives to both how you raise your child and how you will support their scholastic journey.

 

My painting is not so much a direct expression of those books but more of an abstract way of expressing my innermost feelings on the subjects. I feel like there are no limits, only those we impose on ourselves and to come to that recognition has been so utterly amazing and freeing it takes my breath away. The emotions I feel right now are translating into how I want to paint. My color palette and my desire to create new kinds of texture are directly being influenced by these two amazing books. It amazes my that even exposure to a seemingly unrelated subject matter would have some much affect on me artistically!

 

Technique Highlight:

I like to create a lot of texture and layering in my work. I started by painting my canvas and adding collage elements. I then apply a heavy coat of super heavy gel medium over my painting and collage work. I wait for that to dry completely and then I layer on coats of gesso and more paint.

 

 

Thank you so much Stephanie; we’re so honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

 

Lori:

Lori Says:

I discovered The Alchemist about a year ago through my book club. I remember reading the description and thinking it sounded horrible. It took me a long time to finally sit down and start reading it. From the very beginning, I was hooked. This little book about a shepherd boy was so wonderful and so simple, it made me think about my life and my own missed paths to my dream. It’s such a brilliant novel. I recommend it to everyone.

 

Journaling Reads:

I wish I had known about this book when it was first published in 1993. This simple story is about not giving up on our dreams and how to find what we really want by faith. Paulo Coelho says there are four obstacles that prevent us from having the courage to confront our own dream, our own personal calling. After I read each of these, I realized how right he really is. I’ve spent a lot of time sorting our my dream. Fear has always held me back from doing those things my soul would rejoice in. I don’t feel worthy. After reading this sweet simple story of a courageous shepherd boy, my heart sang and my eyes opened. I have found my intended path and am working on overcoming my fear. Thank you, Paulo, for such a beautiful book.

 

 


Amélie:

Amélie Says::

The little angel and his lantern symbolize the light that this book has brought me and others. I understood and learned many things through him. For me it is a guide. The little guardian angel is a perfect representation of the capacity of this book to get back in the real to improve its relations with others and with ourselves. The lock is for all that was a mystery for me that no longer is. This book is titled ‘Finding your own way’ by Isabelle Fiolliazat, a writer whom I adore.

 

In French::

Le petit ange et sa lanterne symbolisent la lumière que ce livre m’a apporté sur moi même et sur les autres. J’ai compris et appris beaucoup de choses grâce à lui. Pour moi c’est un guide. Le petit ange gardien représente très bien la capacité de ce livre à nous remettre dans le vrai pour améliorer ses relations avec les autres et avec nous même. La serrure représente tout ce qui pour moi été un mystére et qui maintenant ne l’est plus. Ce livre s’intitule ‘Trouver son propre chemin’ d’Isabelle Fiolliazat, une écrivain que j’adore.’

 

 


Fran:

Fran Says::

I don’t remember how old I was when I first read Death Be Not Proud. I know now that it’s not a novel, but at the time, I had no idea. The book is filled with wisdom about living your life with courage and with purpose, taking every advantage you can in the limited time we all have. It’s part of how I personally have lived my life with chronic illness.

 

Technique Highlight::

Background: 140# CP Watercolor paper sprayed with Color Mists. Scrapbook paper cut up and doodled on; text written by hand of a quote from John Gunther’s book, Death Be No Proud.

 

 


KL:

 

KL Says:

for me it has and will always be anne of green gables. this book changed me when i was nine years old. it was so rich with a little red haired girl who was firey and spoke her mind. she had good friends and unconditional love from matthew cuthbert, he fell in love with her from the first time he saw her, just as i did the first time i read this book.

 

i have numerous copies but this one, a first edidtion that i found last year at the thrift store will always be special to me. slightly worn it was obviously loved by its previous owner.

 

Journaling Reads:

constant companion ever since i was 9. i’ve read it a million times, most likely more, but each time is like the first. lovely, exciting, beautiful. i adore the friendships. the time period. the love between anne & matthew. every time.

 

 


Severine:

 

Severine Says:

“la nuit des temps” by René Barjavel: It’s the first book that I all read. He made dream and it made me see reading differently.

 

In French:

“la nuit des temps” de René Barjavel : c’est le premier livre que j’ai lu d’une seule traite et en entier surtout. C’est lui qui m’a donné envie d’en lire d’autre et qui m’a permis de m’évader et de rêver, et de voir la lecture comme un évasion et non comme un devoir.

 

 


Leena:

 

Leena says:

I used to worry about a lot of things in life. In fact, I worried about almost everything. So, when I came upon this book by Dale Carnegie, How To Stop Worrying and Start Living, I knew I had to read this. And it certainly changed the way I look at things in a different light. It didn’t take long for me to realize that all these years that I have spent most of my time worrying, I should have spent it enjoying life instead. The journey of breaking this habit hasn’t been easy but through each passing day, I begin to start living and enjoying my life more. I believe it’ll make me a much happier person.

 

 


Karen:

 

Karen Says:

I read a lot and there are many books that have changed my life. To Kill a Mockingbird, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Great Expectations and The Little Prince just to name a few. Each of these books gave me permanent lessons and made my life different. But Jonathan Livingston Seagull stands above all of them for mostly one reason. It’s the first book I read that changed me. It’s the first book that taught me that books can change you. Change how you look at the world. Change how you look at yourself. Change the possibilities of your future.

 

Jonathan Livingston Seagull taught me that it was ok to be different. To have differing dreams and hopes than the people around you. How it feels to be judged, but more significantly how it’s ok to be an individual. To be different. It might even be at that moment that I decided to leave Turkey one day and find more people like me in the world.

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “What’s a novel that has impacted your life and why?” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your art by Sunday night, October 12th, midnight PST to qualify for this week’s RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

To qualify for our weekly RAK drawing, all you have to do is do art around ANY of our catalysts. It doesn’t have to be the one from this week. We believe in the healing power of art and we want you to pick whichever catalyst inspires you the most.

 

For our RAK for this week, we are delighted to be giving away a kit from Coordinates Collections. You can see this beautiful kit below.

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[...] October , 2008 by Leena is now up! Please visit CT here to look at all the gorgeous pieces of work by all the talented [...]

Pingback by Creative Therapy Catalyst Thirty-One «

As much as I love to read, it’s hard to pick just one, but, since it’s so close to Halloween, I choose the first fantasy novel I ever read.

Comment by Alberta

Beautiful work and an awesome idea for a catalyst! The funny thing is that my layout for last week was partly about this, big coincidence. I am looking forward to doing this one since I LOVE to read.

Anna-Karin

Comment by Anna-Karin

[...] Your Favorite Novel [...]

Pingback by Art Therapy and Creative Healing Projects 7 « Kate1975's Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

