creative Therapy


Catalyst Twenty-Six
September 7, 2008, 8:05 am
Filed under: catalyst

 

As always, thank you to all of our visitors and all the encouraging comments you left for us. For those of you who did, thank you for playing along with us. We will do a drawing for the RAK and announce the name mid-week. And if you didn’t join us before, we hope you do this time.

 

Ok! Here’s catalyst number twenty-six:

 

What’s one talent/ability you wish you had?

 

We’re very excited to have Christine Adolph as this week’s Guest Artist.

 

You may not have heard of Christine Adolph but I guarantee you’ve used one of her products. She is a designer for Creative Imaginations where she has her own line and she also makes stamps for Stampington.

 

Christine’s background is in textile design which she studied at the prestigious Rhode Island School of Design. She also studied in Europe. She then taught and developed curriculum for the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising and taught Surface Design courses at the Otis School of Art and Design in Los Angeles. It’s only after her children were born that Christine transitioned to working from home and started getting into the scrapbooking business. Christine’s designs always have an organic feel and always remind you of the beautiful Southern California Coast where she grew up.

 

I am a huge huge fan of Christine’s products and art and style. If you haven’t seen her products and art before, you must check out her blog. We are so so excited to have her here.

 

 

 

Christine’s art with this catalyst is below and you can click it to see a bigger version and some more detail.

 

 

 

Christine Says:

There are so many things I would love to learn how to do! I use a lot of natural elements and flowers in my art and love to visit parks and gardens to draw in my sketchbook or take photos to use later in my art and design work. I admire people that can cultivate gardens and I would love to have the ability and talent to create a beautiful garden. Hopefully in the future I will take the time to develop this talent, but for now I will stick to creating in my “studio garden.”

 

Technique Highlight:

When creating a piece of art, I first build up the background with collage. I like to use lightweight fabrics and tissue (sewing patterns) or old ephemera, most of the time I use Golden Gel Medium for my adhesive. After I collage the background I then add acrylic paint. I mix the paint with a glaze and wash the acrylic over the collaged background. Next, I begin to paint my motifs (mostly flowers,shells and leaves) and last, I usually add a bit of foil to the collage. I add foil either using foil adhesive which is a glue that dries tacky and is pressure sensitive or I will use a heat method such as a polymer medium for the adhesive and I use a hobby iron to apply the foil on to the polymer medium.

 

As I work, I do my best to go with the process and not have a preconceived notion of end results. Many times I work in a series so that I am not so focused on one piece of art, this helps me not to get too precious one about one collage. Usually if I have a series of 5 pieces I am working on I will really love a couple and not be so fond of a few too…

 

 

Thank you so much Christine; we’re so honored.

 

 


Here are some interpretations of the catalyst from members of our team. Click on the photos to see the bigger versions.

Lori:

Lori Says::

I was told I had a natural talent for playing the guitar when I was in third grade. I took lessons for three years, but hating practicing. My biggest regret is not understanding that a little hard work would have resulted in a lifelong skill I would always value. It’s definitely not too late. It will just be that much harder for me.

 

Technique Highlight:

I used some fun crepe paper to make some girly pleats at the bottom of the page. I pleated some of the Basic Grey paper under the title, as well. I’m a messy scrapper, so I didn’t make them neat and perfect. I just threw down a line of glue, then bent the paper on top of it. The messier the better.

 

 


Kris:

Kris Says::

Confidence. Complete confidence. Friends and family would say I’m pretty confident and I’d agree for the most part. Yet there are those times when I question everything. Am I a good enough wife, a competent mother and homeschool teacher, a dedicated Christian, an interesting person & caring friend, a loving daughter, a talented artist? For the most part, I believe I am but there is that little negative bug in the back of my brain that sometimes says ‘but what if you aren’t and you’re just fooling yourself?’ I hate self doubt. I would love to have the ability to be completely confident in my life, my choices, myself; with no doubt that I’m doing everything the way I should and could. But I guess that touches on the ‘perfection’ level. No one is perfect, only God. I firmly believe that he only gives us what we can handle so I think if I have complete confidence in him, the negative Nellies in my brain will leave me alone. It’s a constant struggle though. We all want to measure up. Believing in yourself brings the confidence I think. I’ll keep working on that.

 

Technique Highlight:

I took a piece of cheesecloth, ripped holes in it, sprayed one side with repositionable adhesive and laid it over a primed canvas. I dripped alcohol inks on the cheesecloth, sometimes moving the ink around with a wet brush or water pen. I also painted with white gesso (white paint will do) through some of the cloth as well. I dried it a bit with the heat gun and then pulled off the cheesecloth. Perfect background. For the chipboard letters, I quickly brushed them with aqua and olive green alcohol inks. After they were dry, I took a baroque stamp on a wheel, rolled it through paint and then rolled it across the letters for the pink swirls.

 

 


Anita:

 

Journaling Reads:

Boy I HATE laundry! I don’t like it one bit! If I had my way, I would be able to snap my fingers and POOF it would be gone, folded and put away!

 

 


Karen:

 

Karen Says:

I’ve always, always wished I were more creative. More artistically capable. I’ve tried so many forms of art. I’ve drawn. I’ve written novels. I’ve done photography. I’ve done jewelry making. I’ve done metal arts. Scrapbooking. Painting. I love the idea of being creative and artistically talented. It’s something that I crave and wish for daily.

 

Journaling Reads:

She always thought art could give her wings. And open windows to her dreams. She craved the talent to create.

 

Technique Highlight:

This painting was inspired by the amazing Paulette Insall. It doesn’t do any justice to her talent and her amazing classes but it’s my second painting ever. The painting is in acrylic.

 

 


Vivian:

 

Vivian Says:

One of the talents I wish I had is the ability to sing. Sing out loud and freely and with a voice that actually sounds good. Or even better; that sounds absolutely great. And not just sounding good to myself… but also pleasant for the people around me. :) Maybe I should take some singing lessons..

 

 


Fran:

 

Fran Says:

If there was one talent or ability I wish I could have it would be the ability to dance. I always wanted to be able to do ballet or jazz dancing. The music moves me and I want to move with it. I always wanted to take classes and to learn to leap, like the pictured mannequin does. But that was not to be. I had a vision of myself as graceful and balanced. It’s a nice dream!

 

 


KL:

 

KL Says:

until i started scrapbooking i always considered “real artists” those who could paint figures and landscapes and make a picture look real. maybe it was my art history background, maybe it was my need for perfection and belief that i wasn’t talented. but recently that has changed. although i believe i have talents, the one i would adore learning and wish came naturally is landscape painting.

 

Technique Highlight:

i’m in love with the extra transparency layers that i find in packaging, they have so many uses. for this wall hanging i created a pocket to slide the vintage landscape postcard into by stitching along three sides and cutting out a reverse notch with my 3/4″ hole punch.

 

 


Amélie:

Amélie Says:

“The talent that I would like to have is the ability to play musical instruments and especially the piano. It’s the instrument that I love!

 

In French:

Le talent que je souhaiterai avoir est de savoir jouer de la musique et plus particulièrement du piano. C’est instrument que j’adore !

 

 


 

Now it’s your turn: show us your therapeutic art around “what’s a talent/ability you wish you had?” I urge you to give it a try. Embrace the healing power of art. It can be any form of art as long as it speaks to you.

 

Leave us comments with your work and we will send a RAK to a random participant. You’ll have to link your art by Sunday night, September 14th, midnight PST to qualify for this week’s RAK. If you don’t have a community or blog where you upload photos, you can upload them on our flickr group.

 

There’s a recent change in RAK rules: to qualify for our weekly RAK drawing, all you have to do is do art around ANY of our catalysts. It doesn’t have to be the one from this week. We believe in the healing power of art and we want you to pick whichever catalyst inspires you the most.

 

For our RAK for this week, we are thrilled to be giving away an inaugural kit from our sponsor Red Velvet Kit Club. You get everything in the photo plus pink felt alphas, yellow felt brads, and a pink fawn bookplate. Click on the image to see a larger version.

 

 

 

Remember, this is not a competition. If your art makes you feel even a bit better at the end, you’ve won.

 

Until next week, enjoy each and every moment.

 

 

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I wish I could paint like the impressionists.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/abbylanes/2811387657/in/set-72157607130025890/

Comment by Abby Lanes

Love the art shown this week!!

Comment by jes

I wish I could combine the arts and do it all! Here’s mine:

http://artiphytheheart.typepad.com/artiphytheheart/2008/09/catalyst-26.html

Comment by Barbara Hagerty

The ability I wish I had is to be confident. I’m very shy, introverted, & so not confident and I really wish I was the opposite. Thanks so much for the inspiration to make a page about it.

http://heatherhatanpa.blogspot.com/2008/09/im-proud-of-this-one.html

Comment by Heather H.

I love Christine’s work! Here’s my entry.

Comment by Alberta

Beautiful layouts and another great topic! Here’s my layout for this week, called ‘Small talk etc.':

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1392139

Thanks so much for the challenge!

Anna-Karin

Comment by Anna-Karin

There is some awesome stuff here. Christine your work is great. I love your stamps…I have several. DT you did a wonderful job. I have to get mine in early because I’m heading out of town and will be gone for a week. You can find my answer at

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?cmd=display&layout_id=1392212

Comment by Debby

Oh dear.. absent have I been!! I love this weeks catalyst…and all the others.. so here is my catch up!!! Thank you so much for the inspiration!!!!MMWWAA!

Comment by Deb Godley

Here’s my creation.

http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp?set=recent&gallery=1&cmd=display&layout_id=1392779

TFL.

Comment by Melissa in Louisiana

all for Love, catalyst #21

Tx so much ladies…

Comment by caro

Just in under the wire! Which further explains my wish for the talent of better time management!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/24259156@N05/2858459164/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/24259156@N05/2858459180/in/photostream/

Comment by Tara Van Moorsel

I seem to be having a hard time getting my comment to post … I’ll try one more time …

http://www.flickr.com/photos/24259156@N05/2858459164/in/photostream/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/24259156@N05/2858459180/in/photostream/

Thanks!

Comment by Tara Van Moorsel

Oh jeez! Now I see them all posting! I’m so sorry! LOL!

Comment by Tara Van Moorsel

Oh, oh, oh, how I wish…

http://motherhenna.blogspot.com/2008/09/creative-therapy-catalyst-26.html

Miracles,
k-

Comment by Mother Henna

[...] Wishing for a Talent [...]

Pingback by Art Therapy and Creative Healing Projects 7 « Kate1975's Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

